We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent Hilton property, NO free WiFi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Providence

Save Saved
You added Hilton Providence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Providence
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Atwells Avenue, Providence, RI 02903 (Downtown Providence)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Stay
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Providence
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A decent Hilton property, NO free WiFi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a reasonably good Hilton - certainly not the best though. Staff is very helpful and friendly, the hotel is attractive and clean. My bathroom sink was clogged when I arrived and the front desk quickly sent someone to repair it. But the rooms are small and slightly cramped feeling with poor air circulation. They feel very basic without much thought to design. Hilton has an absurd policy of charging for WiFi which is just insulting and ridiculous in this day and age - especially when practically every truck stop motel has free WiFi. It just feels cheap, and someone needs to change this. The parking is $25-28 per day, but there are more reasonable rates at nearby garages. The location is great and walkable to most of downtown as well as Federal Hill restaurants and bars. Overall, it's an OK hotel but there are better choices in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on a high floor facing the city are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about the service and cleanliness of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with our staff.

We do offer complimentary Internet service in the Lobby, Business Center, Shula's Steakhouse, and our Starbucks. HHonors Diamond and Gold members are provided with complimentary High Speed Internet Service in their room as well.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our location. The parking gargage located adjacent to the hotel provides a discounted parking rate for our hotel guests. We are very fortunate to have the garage located next to the hotel with such a reasonable rate for DT Providence. With winter approaching, it is convenient to walk into the hotel directly without having to park off site walking through the snow and cold weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    146
    89
    38
    9
See reviews for
88
119
38
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just got back from a great overnight at the Hilton Providence...My phone rang at home..it was the housekeeping manager at the hotel..Kim, I believe..I had left my cell phone on the bed and they found it..and will be sending it back to me via fedex...I had not even realized that it was gone yet...what service..by the way, the room was immaculate. The front desk was great and checkin and the valets could not have been more helpful. They both offered great tips on restaurants..and also offered a coupon for a free app..So many great restaurants to choose from. We chose Andinos...highly recommend that also...Thank you again for going above and beyond to get my cellphone back to me...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hilton Providence. Kim is one of the many great team members at the Hilton Providence, and it is great to hear that she exceeded your expectations.

In addition to our great steak house, Shula's 347, Providence has many dining options. The majority of the restaurants are all within walking distance of the Hilton. Nice to hear that the staff at the bell stand assisted you as well.

Thanks again, and we hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

From the minute we arrived at the Hilton Providence we knew we were in for a good stay. Kitty, the young lady that checked us in was very professional. She remembered speaking with me from a phone call that I had made earlier and promptly checked us in and even upgraded us to the Hilton Honors Executive Floor which was very nice. Everyone that worked in the lobby area was very friendly, professional and made you immediately feel welcome. Our room was immaculate, bed was very comfortable and towels soft and large. It is so conveniently located to everything downtown. I definitely will stay here again when I'm in Providence.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about your experience at the Hilton Providence. I am pleased to hear that Kitty made a positive impact on your stay, and have shared your comments with her.

We look forward to your return trip to Providence, and having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We enjoyed our 3-night stay here, and would stay again in a heartbeat. First time in Providence, Rhode Island - it's a beautiful place and this hotel does it justice. Our room was very comfortable and clean - even the in-room coffee isn't too bad. Although the hotel was pretty busy, it was nice and quiet. The room service food was great, as was the dinner we had at Shulas (in-hotel restaurant.) Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. One of my favorite things about this hotel? In the morning, on the table in the lobby is a big bowl of fruit there for the taking, then in the afternoon it is replaced by a big glass decanter of infused water - different flavor every day; very refreshing for a weary traveler. If you're a coffee addict, err drinker, you'll love that there's a Starbucks just outside the front door. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am glad that we were able to help you enjoy your first trip to Providence.

Our Chef creates a daily infused water offering for all of our guest to enjoy, and we are pleased that you were able to try it. The fruit in the lobby is something we place out for anyone in a hurry, or if you are just in the mood for a nice piece of fruit!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

During a recent business trip to Providence I had the pleasure of staying at the Hilton Providence hotel, which was right in the heart of the city and boasted a spectacular skyline view from my room on the Hilton Honors executive floor.

In addition the one of the most comfortable mattresses I have slept on in a hotel, the room was kept clean, the onsite Restaurant served an amazing breakfast in the morning (Complimentary if you are Hilton Honors members of a specific level), and it has an attached Starbucks which makes getting your morning caffeine fix oh so convenient.

The staff was exemplary, they greeted me promptly and upon my return to the hotel each night I was welcomed home with what seemed like genuine sincerity.

Take the time to ask the parking desk or the valet staff about local dining establishments if you are unsure as to where to dine, and they just grace your palm with a coupon for a discount or a free appetizer at one of their suggested locales.

Parking comes at a premium in this city. There is valet parking for 28.00 a night or you can self park in their secure onsite garage for 25.00 a night. You pay for the convenience, albeit a bit on the steep side.

There was a manager reception during my visit at which free finger foods, wine, beer, and assorted sodas were served.

During your stay, be sure to try one of the flavored waters by the elevator. They flavor of the week seemed to be cucumber, which sounds odd but it was delicious and refreshing.

Also, when in town and staying at the hotel, it is a must to visit Federal Hill which is the Providence equivalent of Little Italy. Some of the most delicious and authentic Italian cuisine can be found within walking distance of the hotel.

It is the little touches that made this hotel such an enjoyable experience and when the time comes to return to Providence, I will gladly call The Hilton in Providence my home away from home.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Hilton Honors Executive Floors (12 and 14) have incredible views of downtown and the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and were able to take advantage of our "award winning" breakfast buffet.

The 12th and 14th floors have great views of the City, which is one of the reasons we have designated these as HHonor floors. We appreciate your loyalty to Hilton, and for selecting the Hilton Providence when your travel plans bring you back to the Providence area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Hotel in Providence Ri for the weekend. At check-in we were told our room had 2-full size beds. We asked if there was any 1-bed rooms available and we were immediately given the choice of two. The room was clean and quiet at the end of the hall. The staff was polite and more than helpful with directions to the Federal Hill so we could experience the best Italian Food in the world....
The price is right the hotel is close and within walking distance to the mall and other attractions.
i am sure we will return soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of our great location, and the many dining options on Federal Hill. We also have a Shula's 347 Steakhouse located within the hotel. Next time you come to Providence try one of their signature steaks as they are the best in the state!

We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here twice last fall for weekend trips. It's only minutes from the Federal Hill district which includes fantastic Italian fare. Also is located next door to the DD Center for sporting events. Hotel was clean and staff were very helpful! We will definitely be staying there again this fall when we want a great weekend away from home!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. We are thrilled that you are a repeat guest, and look forward to having you stay with us in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Providence

Address: 21 Atwells Avenue, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#7 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Providence 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton hotel is located in downtown Providence, Rhode Island. Enjoy the close proximity to Historic Federal Hill, Rhode Island Convention Center, and Providence Place Mall. Our Rosemoor Ballroom is the perfect setting for your upcoming wedding or event. Enjoy and explore Providence with ease during your stay at our hotel in Providence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Providence Hotel Providence
Hilton Hotel Providence
Providence Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Providence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.