We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay if you are visiting Brown University” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Providence Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Providence Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Providence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903 (Downtown Providence)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great stay if you are visiting Brown University”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Located just 5 min away by car from the University.
Friendly staff. Great accommodations. Lots of good restaurants nearby.Valet service was excellent.Restaurant suggestions for Providence's little Italy not good.Try the one of the many good restaurants around the Hotel instead.
One negative.Charging for WiFi… Come on!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank-you for your fabulous comments about our location, friendly staff and great accommodations. I apologize if you did not enjoy our staff's recommendation for dining on Federal Hill in Providence, there are so many fabulous restaurants there to choose from. Hopefully we will have an opportunity on your next visit to Providence to help you discover more about what makes our hotel and the city such a unique destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    279
    53
    25
    11
See reviews for
225
256
49
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hinsdale, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Booked a King Suite with a parlor for over $400 a month, thinking that it would be a nice place to spend time with our college student. The handicap shower in our room was barely functional. The engineer sent to fix it arrived without tools and agreed it was a problem but that he could not fix it. The room for two adults has one robe, one regular coffee pod for the in-room coffee maker. I would never stay at the Renaissance Providence Hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms with handicap showers unless you actually need one (and this one would not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank-you for your valuable feedback. We consistently strive to exceed our guests expectations and unfortunately we did not meet your or our expectations during your recent stay, I truly apologize for this. Please be assured that we will address your feedback and would love to have the opportunity to regain your confidence when you visit Providence again. Please contact me directly on your next visit and allow me to assist with your next stay and reservation. It is very personal for us when our guests do not have a fabulous stay and we would like the opportunity to regain your loyalty. Once again thank-you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

What an awesome place - beautiful rooms in an interesting, old building. The Temple Bar and Restaurant is a great place to relax and eat. We had huge, delicious breakfasts each morning of our stay and enjoyed cocktails and hockey at the bar at night. After some college-aged guests made a very noisy arrival around 3am one morning, security was at their doorway within only a few minutes. Hurrah Renaissance - great service - thank you!! Best of all is its location. We walked to the RI School of Design's museum and Benefit St quite easily. The river with all its upscale shops and restaurants is just a few blocks away. Providence Place (mall) is right behind the hotel. The stunning state capitol is across the street - as is the Amtrak train station. Oh, and as others have mentioned - there is a performing arts theatre right next door. Only criticism is that their guestroom couches aren't sleeper sofas. We had to change rooms as we are a family of three (teenager) and were initially assigned a king with a "loveseat". Other than that, our stay was lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank-you for your fabulous review and feedback of our property and location. We are centrally located and within walking distance to many of the destinations and amenities that make Providence such a unique place to visit. Likely you did not get a chance to complete everything on your list and we look forward to your next visit when we can help you discover more about what makes our hotel and our city so special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with family to visit our daughter in college -- we had adjoining rooms which were a very nice size, clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast the next morning in hotel restaurant with a pretty view of the Capitol bldg. Bill at the front desk was very professional and helpful. This is definitely our favorite hotel in Providence!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Just a quick note to thank-you for your wonderful review...may all your explorations be as delightful...and may they bring you back to us soon so that we can help you discover more about our fabulous hotel and our city. I will also ensure to pass your comments on to Bill and celebrate his success in exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I can't begin to tell of the great overnight stay recently at this wonderful hotel. Everyone was so accommodating and helpful. I came here to see a show next door at the Veterans Theater and stayed for the convenience. Well, we received a lot more! We ate at Public, the restaurant in the hotel and everything was delicious and not the usual hotel menu. The room was comfortable and cool. Beautiful view, great bathroom and comfortable bed were just some of the benefits that we experienced. Can't say enough of this classy hotel and the good folks that work here!

Room Tip: Request a high floor with a view of the State House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank-you for your fabulous comments about our hotel and our staff. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to help you discover more about what makes our hotel and the city of Providence so unique in the near future.We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kogarah, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

From the moment I pulled into the drive the Valet was there to great me and give directions. The front desk was excellent and check in was quick and informative. The on-site restaurants were excellent. The view from the room could have been better but overall I would stay here again - just be prepared for $28.00 parking fee and $50 incidental charge (returned at check out presuming no extras).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank-you for your wonderful comments about our front desk and valet staff and for discovering our hotel. We eagerly look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Providence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is in an older, renovated building. It has a lot of charm. My room was a little bigger than average, and it was very comfortable. Service was friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant/bar on the lower level that serves decent food if you are there on a cold winter night like I was and you don't feel like venturing out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Just a quick note to thank you for your wonderful review. May all your explorations be as delightful...and may they bring you back to us soon so that we can help you discover more about what makes us so unique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Providence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Hotel

Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#1 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Providence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Providence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.