We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Providence Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Providence Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Providence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903 (Downtown Providence)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Selected this hotel for my first visit to Providence and could not have made a better choice. Located right across the street from the State House, beautifully appointed, comfortable rooms,lovely little bar and restaurant, wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank-you for selecting us and your wonderful comments about our location, our hotel, staff restaurant and bar. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    279
    53
    25
    11
See reviews for
225
256
49
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincroft, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We usually stay at another hotel in Providence when we go there but they were all booked. Thankfully this hotel had rooms available. My whole family was very pleased with the hotel including my 2 teenagers. The rooms were very clean and large and the beds were comfortable. The staff was more than accommodating, very friendly and knowledgable. We will be staying here from now on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank-you for discovering us! It is fabulous that we will be your hotel of choice in the future. We look forward to your next visit to Providence to help you explore more of what makes our hotel and our city so special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Convenient location, helpful attentive staff and a spacious, well appointed room. Reasonable and fast Internet, an excellent breakfast and good tips from the chap on reception about what to see and do in Providence.

Only slight negatives were we couldn't work the TV (entirely our fault I'm sure) and they could have done a better job pointing out where their bar was.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank-you for discovering our hotel and for your valuable feedback. Fabulous that you found our location convenient, our staff helpful and attentive and that our amenities exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit to Providence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a great stay here last night. We came down for Waterfire and a photography seminar this weekend. It is conveniently located to downtown locations. The service and facility are first rate. The amenities are of the utmost quality. They even allowed us a late checkout so my wife could stay in our room while I finished the seminar. We would definitely stay here again...and again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank-you for your wonderful comments about our service and facility being first rate. We appreciate that you discovered our hotel while in Providence and we look forward to being of service in the near future again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We based our search on proximity to downtown Water Fire, restaurants and it was indeed walking distance to all. The hotel was very nice, clean and staff very helpful. Great view of Capitol. Only complaint no coffee in room and no pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank-you for discovering our hotel and your wonderful comments about our hotel and our staff. We do have a fabulous location relative to our State Capitol and Waterplace Park the site of annual Waterfire Events. We do have in room coffee makers in all of our rooms and I apologize if we did not bring this to your attention. We look forward to your next visit to Providence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

But for the icebox conference rooms, the hotel was good. The food was better than most conferences, the location was great,the staff accomodating, the building historical. Weaknesses were the hotel bar--virutally non-existent, the freezing meeting rooms--they just could not get them fixed, and the beds were not as good as most.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank-you for your observations and feedback. Wonderful that you found our staff and culinary experience exceeded your expectations. We did have a challenge with our temperature control on the day you were here and unfortunately we could not get the part to remedy this until 4:30 pm when we had a technician come in to service it, this was rectified that day and is functioning perfectly at this point. Public Kitchen and Bar was closed for one of the evenings you were here for a private function celebrating the renovation and roll out of Public's new concept. It is currently operating with this new concept, revised menu and wonderful craft made cocktails and local draft beers. We look forward to your next visit to enjoy this new experience in Public.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel--from the valet (Nick) to the front desk staff. They are helpful, know their city well, and on top of any request you make. Rooms are spacious and well appointed, although ours didn't have an in-room safe. Bathrooms are roomy and clean. Great location right by the State Capitol and Amtrak. Would go back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank-you for discovering our hotel and your recognition of Nick and our front desk staff. Wonderful that you found our team helpful, knew the city well, and on top of any request you made. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Providence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Hotel

Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#1 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Providence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Providence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.