We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Company in Prov” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trinity Repertory Company

Trinity Repertory Company
201 Washington Street, Providence, RI 02903 (Downtown Providence)
401-351-4242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 136 things to do in Providence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "American Theater at its best" - Boston Globe. 1964: professional theater is born in Rhode Island. The rest is history: the Tony Award, 54 world premieres, education programs, films and tours. Laughter, insight, magic, tears, and passion, for three generations of audiences. A world of theater experiences waits for you at Trinity Rep. New plays, classics, and musicals spring to life with our resident actors, directors and designers.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great Company in Prov”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I love visiting the Trinity Rep. Almost every show I have seen has been great. It is nice to have a professional theater company just a few miles away from home. If you are visiting Providence, try to see a show! It is a must.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    19
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Off-Broadway Comes to RI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Saw "Cabaret" back in my junior year of high school--amazing! Such a great cast (many of them regulars, performing in several shows a year) and a great production despite the small space. Many of these cast members could be on Broadway or off-Broadway. The voices are clear and strong and the acting very good for "local" theatre. Have also seen "A Christmas Carol" a few times over the years and "Our Town" in middle school. Whether a musical or straight-up play, I can always count on a great performance at Trinity Rep.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We saw a two-woman show called "The How and The Why" and the theater is small enough that we could see the actors' facial expressions even though we were on the side and halfway back. The acting was wonderful; if I lived there I'd get season tickets!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Trinity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Love going to see "A Christmas Carole" but I found the place very old, dusty and dingy. Not a good place to go with allergies..But, as far at the Plays, I enjoyed them, we've seem several there, now.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Local Theater with not-so-local Performances”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have seen "His Girl Friday", "Merchant of Venice", and "King Lear" at Trinity Rep. The performances are great and have their own variations on each story, whether it's in their costumes, actors, or the way the story goes.

There is a core group of actors and actresses that repeat in each performance. I cannot chose which one of them I like the best. They are all great in any role they perform. I highly recommend going to this place, whether you're a local Rhode Islander, or visiting from out of town. It is great entertainment. Tickets are priced reasonably, and they offer senior citizen and student discounts.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trinity Repertory Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trinity Repertory Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.