We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turn the entire park into the zoo.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Roger Williams Park

Roger Williams Park
Elmwood Avenue, Providence, RI
401 785 9450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 136 things to do in Providence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
“Turn the entire park into the zoo.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This park is not mantained up to the standards of parks in other cities, it is the border of Cranston and a blighted neighborhood in Providence. We have not been there except to go to the zoo on free days.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    43
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
W. Greenwich
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“WARNING! Lock up your stuff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I've been to the Zoo several times but recently went to the park for a walk while my daughter was visiting the park planetarium with a friend. Within 10 minutes of walking, my driver's side window was smashed and belongings stolen. I was notified by museum staff and an officer met me at my car. 2pm in the afternoon and there was a witness who gave the plate number of the car to the officer, but it did not match the description of the car. I was told by the cop that "That's what they "thieves" do as they scope out the park. Apparently it happens often. Yes, stupid of me to think that hiding stuff under my seat would be enough of a deterent but I was most put off by the fact that this seems like "just another day' in the park for the very sympathetic officer. Just be careful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west warwick, ri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The whole park is great but the zoo is fabulous. My children and their children as my wife andme totally enjoy the zoo

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small scenic park off river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Offers shady respite in the summer, free concerts, maps and wonderful rangers to help you plan your visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“great park and zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I have visited this park and zoo numerous times and have always found it a great place to go. The park is beautiful to walk around, have a picnic, go on the carousel. The zoo is great for everyone. It is a really nice zoo. The pumpkin exhibit in October is one of the best I have ever seen-professionally carved pumpkins with amazing portraits and scenes. Overall a great place to visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roger Williams Park also viewed

 

Been to Roger Williams Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roger Williams Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.