We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Providence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Providence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Providence to your Saves list
Hotel Providence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Branford, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hotel Providence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2006

We spent a rainy weekend in Providence but although WaterFire was cancelled, all was not lost. The staff of the Hotel Providence was warm and welcoming on arrival and throughout our stay. Room service was prompt and the concierge very helpful. Our room was small but clean and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable. Because of the weather, we ended up searching for indoor activities and saw a fantastic presentation of a safari in Africa at the IMAX theater in the Mall. We dined on Federal Hill, the Little Italy section of Providence. Had a fantastic dinner at Siena. Before we left the next day,we made another trip to Federal Hill where we loaded up on delicious baked goods from Scialo Brothers bakery and all kinds of incredible Italian sauces,breads,cheeses and meats from Costantino's Venda Ravioli, both on Atwells St.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    183
    62
    41
    26
See reviews for
116
228
53
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, RI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

My friend and I stayed at the Hotel Providence for an evening. They are attentive to your needs from the moment you step out of your vehicle. The staff at check in was exeptionally professional. You don't get the feeling that you are being serviced because the staff is waiting for a gratuity. They are helpful and friendly because it is their job to be.

When returning to our room after shopping we discovered that the rug in one portion of our room was soaking wet. A quick call to the front desk prompted an engineer to come to evaluate the situation and the front desk supervisor Erika to come up and introduce herself. She then escorted us to the beautiful bar in the hotel resturant and told us drinks and appetizers were complimentary while they assessed the situation. We were informed of what was going on several times while we enjoyed some wine and we then opted to stay in the room once they dried the rug rather than a complimentary upgrade to a suite because there was only a king bed in the suite.

Upon our return to our room which was beautiful to begin with, we were pleased to find turndown service, robes, slippers laid out and a gift bag awaiting each of us. They also reduced our rate due to the inconvenience. (without being asked)

Erika learned we had resturant reservations near the waterfire event that evening. She contacted the restuarant and we ended up getting a front row seat to waterfire.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2006

classy hotel run by classy people. period.
from the minute you check in, everyone knows your name.
the rooms are gorgeous, the bed is heavenly, and the bathroom is emmaculate with first class soaps and shampoos amply stocked....i even asked my maid for more and she gave me 2 bottles to take home.
this was my 2nd stay....i wouldnt stay anywhere else in providence. ever. whether you're there for business or a romantic getaway. i've also stayed at the biltmore which was a dump...and i had a suite there too.
oh, the only negative is the WAY overpriced restaurant in the lobby. the food is only ok, and dont even DARE do the breakfast buffet......RIP OFF!

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2006

This was a nice hotel. Everything is pretty much brand new. Our room was enormous and luxurious. Great beds, attentive staff. Quick walk to the mall. The restaurant L'Epicureo was just so-so. I haven't stayed at the Westin in Providence, but this hotel does beat the Biltmore by a mile.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2006

First, let me tell you I am a very picky person when it comes to hotels. I do not stay at any hotel under 4 stars and sometimes that's pushing it. From check in to check out it was fabulous. The rooms have Molten Brown products, marble floors and a nice rain shower with a separate tub. The art work is a very nice touch that makes the hotel feel warm and elegant. The beds are amazing with wonderful high thread count linens, duvets- which are a must since they can clean them a lot easier than those
'beds in a bag". The window treatments are even custom- and extrmely tasteful. Please do not listen to anyone who tries to put this hotel down, as they probably had a hair across their you know what. I highly recommend this hotel, as this was my second stay here in Providence and it was as good as the last. My opinion, by far the best hotel in providence.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Providence

Address: 139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Providence is nestled in the heart of downtown Providence's Arts and Theatre district. Located mere blocks from boutique shopping, galleries and perfect little cafes/restaurants, Hotel Providence is itself a place where the arts are celebrated and where finding new passions (or reviving sleeping ones) are celebrated! We all have a passion...discover yours at Hotel Providence! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Providence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.