We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great turnaround!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Providence

Save Saved
You added Hotel Providence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Providence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn double STASH REWARDS
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Providence
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    163
    58
    38
    23
See reviews for
104
200
42
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2006

classy hotel run by classy people. period.
from the minute you check in, everyone knows your name.
the rooms are gorgeous, the bed is heavenly, and the bathroom is emmaculate with first class soaps and shampoos amply stocked....i even asked my maid for more and she gave me 2 bottles to take home.
this was my 2nd stay....i wouldnt stay anywhere else in providence. ever. whether you're there for business or a romantic getaway. i've also stayed at the biltmore which was a dump...and i had a suite there too.
oh, the only negative is the WAY overpriced restaurant in the lobby. the food is only ok, and dont even DARE do the breakfast buffet......RIP OFF!

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2006

This was a nice hotel. Everything is pretty much brand new. Our room was enormous and luxurious. Great beds, attentive staff. Quick walk to the mall. The restaurant L'Epicureo was just so-so. I haven't stayed at the Westin in Providence, but this hotel does beat the Biltmore by a mile.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2006

First, let me tell you I am a very picky person when it comes to hotels. I do not stay at any hotel under 4 stars and sometimes that's pushing it. From check in to check out it was fabulous. The rooms have Molten Brown products, marble floors and a nice rain shower with a separate tub. The art work is a very nice touch that makes the hotel feel warm and elegant. The beds are amazing with wonderful high thread count linens, duvets- which are a must since they can clean them a lot easier than those
'beds in a bag". The window treatments are even custom- and extrmely tasteful. Please do not listen to anyone who tries to put this hotel down, as they probably had a hair across their you know what. I highly recommend this hotel, as this was my second stay here in Providence and it was as good as the last. My opinion, by far the best hotel in providence.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2006

It was with some trepidation that we booked this hotel after reading some of the reviews. The room was huge. We had 2 queen beds. The view from the room was of not very scenic rooftops, but we did not stare out the window. Yes , there are church bells, but not at 6:30 AM. The staff was helpful and prompt in delivering extra towels and bathrobes. The bathroom was a nice marble one with a shower. I thought a rainhead showerhead would be wonderful, but with a flow restrictor all we got was a gentle rain. Took forever to get the shampoo out.The dreaded buffet of past postings is gone. The a la carte breakfast was downright cheap by city standards.The service at breakfast was prompt and the selections abundant. Parking was a hefty $24, though not far off Cambridge's and Philadelphia's $20. There is a lot of construction at the Westin which is the only other luxury hotel in Providence.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Providence

Address: 139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Providence is nestled in the heart of downtown Providence's Arts and Theatre district. Located mere blocks from boutique shopping, galleries and perfect little cafes/restaurants, Hotel Providence is itself a place where the arts are celebrated and where finding new passions (or reviving sleeping ones) are celebrated! We all have a passion...discover yours at Hotel Providence! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Providence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.