We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Providence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Providence to your Saves list
Hotel Providence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Orlando
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Nice Little Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

It's in a good location. We enjoyed walking around the area. Rooms are spacious and quiet. Restaurant and bar are quite good as well. The valet parking is expensive at $28 per day. I don't think there is any option but to valet park. Free wifi is a nice touch. If you want a touch of boutique and not a big box brand hotel, this is a good choice.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review and for your compliments about your room and the restaurant and bar. As you so well point out, the Hotel Providence is not a "big box brand" hotel, but an intimate boutique, independent hotel where the staff very much care about the comfort of our guests. We do try to keep our valet parking rates the lowest they can be, but having our valets take care of your car is the best option in this locale. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    184
    62
    41
    26
See reviews for
116
229
53
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The rooms were very comfortable and very new, with tasteful decoration, a roomy, spotless, and well-provisioned bathroom, and just generally everything needed for a very pleasant stay. Location was convenient, and the surrounding area was quite charming. Only minus points were that the (free) in-room wireless coverage was a bit spotty and the front desk staff were a bit brusque. But the hotel offered tremendous value overall--you can hardly get a room of this quality for this price anywhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side will be significantly quieter on the weekends (the al fresco dining area oft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Your Trip Advisor review is so appreciated, and as you noted, Trip Advisor has rated the hotel #1 "Best Value" in Providence. Thank you for your very nice comments about your accommodations, and the location of the hotel, being close to all of the attractions, entertainment venues and restaurants in Providence. We are working on improving WiFi connectivity, to bring the last 8% of the hotel up to par. Looking forward to your return.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

What a lovely property right in the center of Providence! The staff was very friendly and helpful, the restaurant and it's green outdoor patio was relaxing and delicious and the room was very chic and comfortable. Really a great overall weekend get-a-way with the kids. Bravo!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review. We are so pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were able to enjoy our outdoor restaurant in our lush garden. Your kind compliments about the staff are very much appreciated and will be shared with them.
KInd regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I so enjoyed my stay in this historic, intimate hotel. My room was the Hawthorne Suite and it was furnished like a cozy home, complete with some old books by the author. The bath was newly renovated and included a nice robe. The bedding was scrumptious. The staff couldn't have been nicer nor more accommodating. They even brought me a small fridge and microwave. The food at the restaurant was very good and had a nice ambience, especially with live jazz. You can walk to restaurants and the theater. I will be back!

Room Tip: They don't have a pool or spa but I was unable to leave the above rating blank...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Francine,
Thank you for your gracious review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed the Hawtrhorne Suite, one of our 15 author suites, a comfortable bed and you had an opportunity to savor our cuisine and hear our talented Jazz band. I will pass on your very nice compliments to the staff.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I spent five nights at the Hotel Providence. I was staying there to participate in the Certified Zentangle Teacher workshop. I was very impressed with the hotel, the amenities, and the staff. They did everything possible to make my stay the best!

The front desk staff were especially friendly, helpful, and interested in what we were doing. The restaurant supervisor did what she could to accommodate my food allergies. I requested a room in the quieter part of the hotel and the room I was in was very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We appreciate your kind review on Trip Advisor, pleased that you enjoyed your room and the staff and found your restaurant experience enjoyable. The staff takes pride in ensuring that each guest has a positive stay with us and addresses individual needs to make sure our guests are comfortable. Hopefully, we will see you again attending another Zentangle event.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just to pass on to travelers to Providence, R.I. I stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Providence and the experience was warm, comforting with great, clean beds along with the meals and staff being superb.

The hotel has a history since the 1880's but all the amenities are there, top notch!

I highly recommend anyone anticipating a trip to the city. It is downtown, close to shops and the airport.

KCT

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your gracious Trip Advisor review. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and found your accommodations comfortable and the restaurant to your liking. We hope to see you again, when next in Providence.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We ended up here by happy accident and nada very nice stay. It is very conveniently located. You can walk to the Convention Center and to lots of restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful. And the outdoor restaurant/bar had a jazz group playing on weekend nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor, and pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and had the opportunity to listen to Joe Potenza, our creative jazz leader and his band. Looking forward to your return.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Providence

Address: 139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Providence is nestled in the heart of downtown Providence's Arts and Theatre district. Located mere blocks from boutique shopping, galleries and perfect little cafes/restaurants, Hotel Providence is itself a place where the arts are celebrated and where finding new passions (or reviving sleeping ones) are celebrated! We all have a passion...discover yours at Hotel Providence! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Providence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.