We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Providence

Save Saved
You added Hotel Providence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Providence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn double STASH REWARDS
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Providence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Was very impressed. Well-appointed, boutique feel but not too small. Lovely, and beautifully furnished rooms. Spacious bathrooms with nice marble floors. Staff not overly friendly but perfectly polite. Would stay again. Great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    163
    58
    38
    23
See reviews for
104
200
42
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weehawken, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I didn't spend a ton of time in the hotel. It has nice decor. The walls were thin. I was traveling for business and was next to a room with kids and could hear everything. There are only about 20 channels, no showtime. The deadbolt on my door didn't seem to be working and although I reported it, they didn't fix it. The bathroom was nice. I stopped by the coffee bar in the morning and asked for cocoa or teaand was told they had neither, it is really just coffee.The bed was so high that I had to work to climb in (I'm 5'3") and the mattress was a little hard. Overall, serviceable but not luxurious.

Room Tip: try not to be near the elevator. views are limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was such a pleasant surprise.
When we got there - without a reservation - the hotel was fully booked, except for one small room which is cheaper than the rest of the rooms.
At first, I was afraid of how small the room was, but I must say that this was one of my best stays this year. The room was small, but cozy (and better than in most hotels). And, the best part is the bathroom: it is huge, super clean, and full of amenities (must say: best bathroom in my life!)
Staff is great also!

Room Tip: Room 500 is the one that I stayed. Small but cozy and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel was charming, quiet, and clean. It was the most beautiful hotel I have ever been. The staff was wonderful. However, I slept about 2 hours only on the night I stayed. There is a crazy noisy dance club or cafe or something across the street from the hotel, from which constant boom and thud noises spilled out. People were yelling and screaming right outside of that place as well. It continued until 2:30 AM. I was nearly sick with tiredness. I will never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

A really good intimate feeling hotel in a great location downtown. It was made though, by a great set of very friendly and helpful staff, especially the lovely Vanessa who brightened up a long and taxing day of travelling! The only downsides were the church bells which kick in every morning and not being able to get a coffee in the bar area mid morning....

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, clean, comfortable,easy access to city. Restaurant evening meal here was lovely, reception area good. Providence an easy place to get about, visit Benefit St. Old houses here are lovely. Prob. One night ok for a visit though, and make it Monday.... See room review!

Room Tip: All rooms wherever you are in hotel are noisy, most front ones are because of huge AC units outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose to stay here for the first night of our week-long anniversary trip to New England. We booked our trip 5 months in advance and picked Hotel Providence because it had good reviews and was within walking distance of Waterfire. We arrived at 5pm (not late) and were told that the king bed we had booked through Expedia was no longer available and our only option was a full-size bed. When we insisted on a king bed, the they informed us that there actually were king size rooms still available, but they were being held for VIP guests who were more important than us, and that we were getting bumped because we booked through Expedia. So...just a warning to anyone looking at this hotel - you will be treated as a second class citizen if you book through Expedia. To add a couple of cherries on top - our room was the size of a shoebox and was right next door to the elevator, so we had a drunk person beating on our door 2 am. Also, the next moning the front desk attendant asked for our phone number so that the manager could call us to apologize for the reservation inconvenience and we never received a call (not surprising). We did receive complimentary valet parking for our trouble, but we would have preferred a good night's sleep. The rest of our trip was absolutely fabulous - It is a pity that it started off in such a disappointing way at the Hotel Providence.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Providence

Address: 139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Providence is nestled in the heart of downtown Providence's Arts and Theatre district. Located mere blocks from boutique shopping, galleries and perfect little cafes/restaurants, Hotel Providence is itself a place where the arts are celebrated and where finding new passions (or reviving sleeping ones) are celebrated! We all have a passion...discover yours at Hotel Providence! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Providence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.