We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Brown's two rare book libraries” 2 of 5 stars
Review of John Hay Library

John Hay Library
20 Prospect Street, Brown University, Providence, RI 02912 (College Hill)
401-863-3723
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 63 Attractions in Providence
Type: Libraries, Cultural
Attraction details
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“One of Brown's two rare book libraries”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The John Hay, Library which is named after a friend of Henry James who was the first modern US Secretary of State, is a stately, somewhat boring marble faced edifice that houses the university's main special collections, collections, however, which are far from being in the league of those at Harvard, Yale, Princeton, Texas, and so on. Not much of a tourist destination.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lincoln Would Have Slept Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Nice place to visit if you're doing research on American history.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“The toy soldier collection was fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We dropped into the Hay Library while visiting Brown University. The staff at the desk was so friendly and helpful! We went up to the top floor to see the toy soldier collection. I've never been interested in toy soldiers before, but this collection was large and extraordinary. I was quite caught up in the lovely little display of WWII anti-aircraft equipment. The soldiers representing medieval Franks, Huns, and soldiers from many other countries and times were surprisingly interesting. There were some other miniatures of British royalty, as well. Stamps, too. Well worth a half hour of your time. Free and open to the public. There were other exhibitions in the building, so plan to spend a little extra time.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Superb building but limited schedule”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I love the marble building of this library as well as the comfortable interior. It is not crowded so it is a great place to study when they are open. I find their schedule to be quite limited.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I stopped in to study, the lady at the desk was very welcoming and even let me borrow a quarter so I could put my things in a locker. The windows are large and let a ton of sunlight into the reading room.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Hay Library also viewed

 

Been to John Hay Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Hay Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.