We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lincoln Would Have Slept Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Hay Library

John Hay Library
20 Prospect Street, Brown University, Providence, RI 02912 (College Hill)
401-863-3723
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 67 attractions in Providence
Type: Libraries
Attraction Details
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lincoln Would Have Slept Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Nice place to visit if you're doing research on American history.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“The toy soldier collection was fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We dropped into the Hay Library while visiting Brown University. The staff at the desk was so friendly and helpful! We went up to the top floor to see the toy soldier collection. I've never been interested in toy soldiers before, but this collection was large and extraordinary. I was quite caught up in the lovely little display of WWII anti-aircraft equipment. The soldiers representing medieval Franks, Huns, and soldiers from many other countries and times were surprisingly interesting. There were some other miniatures of British royalty, as well. Stamps, too. Well worth a half hour of your time. Free and open to the public. There were other exhibitions in the building, so plan to spend a little extra time.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Superb building but limited schedule”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I love the marble building of this library as well as the comfortable interior. It is not crowded so it is a great place to study when they are open. I find their schedule to be quite limited.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I stopped in to study, the lady at the desk was very welcoming and even let me borrow a quarter so I could put my things in a locker. The windows are large and let a ton of sunlight into the reading room.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“One of my favorite libraries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

If you love history and books and old manuscripts, you'll love this library! This is a research library so stacks are closed but but there's plenty to see. This library is Brown University's Special Collections library. Contrary to what the previous reviewer said, it's easy to get in. There are two exhibit rooms inside the front entrance and more exhibits in the lobby. Just register at the front desk (show ID), and tell them what you want to look at. You can browse the catalog online and request items ahead of time. They page each item on a schedule so timing your visit can be tough. Requesting items ahead of time makes the trip faster and easier. I come here often, sometimes just to browse on my own but other times to volunteer or do some school work. It's one of my favorite places in the whole city.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Hay Library also viewed

 

Been to John Hay Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Hay Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added John Hay Library to your Saves list