We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun but expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dave & Buster's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dave & Buster's
40 Providence Pl, Providence, RI 02903-1747 (Downtown Providence)
401-270-4555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 734 Restaurants in Providence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Providence
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“fun but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a fun time, but be ready to spend some cash. Drinks are overpriced, the restaurant isn't anything special and you could spend a paycheck on the games, but its a fun time once in a while.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good all around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Several of us went to eat and had a fabulous meal, then walked over and checked out the game room. Two played air hockey and had a blast and then we left and had a great conversation with the door person.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
1,275 reviews 1,275 reviews
866 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 248 cities Reviews in 248 cities
445 helpful votes 445 helpful votes
“With not much to do in RI when the weather is cold..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

RI has very little to do when the weather turns and my son has his birthday in January..so it's either bowling, movies or food..but thankfully there is D&B's for something to do..if you can put up with the parking, punks and crowds then its a good time for your kids...they have food, pool, tons of video games ,etc. all stuff my son and most kids love. It is very costly if you can expect to stay for a few hours.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic Arcade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My first trip w/ my teens and we played in the arcade for hours.
Arriving on a Saturday at 1 PM, the place seemed packed, but based on the size of the restaurant and arcade there was no problem.

The girl at the front counter was real helpful in assisting with figuring out the right amount / best value to put onto the playing card.

The arcade far exceeded our expectations; it was huge, 99% of the games were in working order, it was clean (including the rest rooms) and based on size and variety, the wait for any particular was never more than a few minutes.
This is not your 'typical' arcade. There was a ton of variety, a lot of games that were a challenge, and even the redemption prizes were of decent quality and variety.

While we did not eat here, the set up was real cool with huge projection screens showing the game.

Can't wait to go back.

Recommendation is to sign up their website for a "free-Play" coupon. I got a $10 free play.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Be a kid again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We went late night around midnight. Its in the middle of a huge mall. when we arrived we pirchased 2 cards with 375 point packs to play games with. Had a really fun time. They had a pretty good selection of arcade games from skee ball to shooting games, basketball, games where you just get tickets for prizes etc... The sodas were $3 bucks a pop. Guess they gotta get you somewhere. Oh well... Entertainment was worth it considering the other option for the night was the casinos. Overall, a fun place to hang out. Do be careful with how they keep track of your points on your card for prizes. They shorted me over 1000 points cause the machine didn't register the points. Apparently "it happens". Manager fixed it no prob. But keep an eye out. The prize selection was cool. Made out with a hello kitty stuff animal/pillow, plus a bunch of other cool prizes. Parking was cheap. Careful on your way out of the lot!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dave & Buster's also viewed

 

Been to Dave & Buster's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dave & Buster's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.