We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem with Flavorful Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North

North
3 Luongo Memorial Sq, Providence, RI 02909
(401) 421-1100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 734 Restaurants in Providence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem with Flavorful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had an amazing meal last night at this tiny restaurant tucked away behind Broadway, it took me back to another time period. We started with Oysters; raw, clean and fresh with vinegar and a hot sauce. Then we had the Tiny Ham Biscuits, just the right amount of spice and buttery biscuit, next the Hidden Oysters, a bit more complex, not my favorite, but my husband loved it. Then we had the Dan Dan Noodles, just a symphony of flavors, perfectly balanced. I asked for a signature dish and this knocked my socks off. We finished with the Lightly Stewed Strawberries with Hazelnut Sorbet, the crispy ginger was amazing! What I loved about this food was the pure simple flavors of the ingredients, none of it was masked in butter or cream. Great no-nonsense service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go early and often”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Arrived shortly after opening and we just missed the last two seats at the bar. That was a good sign. They sent us across the street to drink at a neighborhood bar while we waited. Anticipating good food, and not wanting to dull the senses, we took it easy on libations, plus we noted that they have a well stocked -if micro sized- bar at north. Wait was worth every minute. Sampled five dishes. All were delicious. Need to go back to take on more of the menu. Dan dan with goat and squid sounded hard to pull off, but it was magical. Like some crazy Asian-Italian fusion wunder dish. Great bar, great service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Hill, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were introduced to this place by a young relative, so went with no particular expectations. The menu is fascinating but hard to describe. Sort of Asian fusion before that term became meaningless. Four of us shared numerous dishes, all unusual, delicious, and hard to describe. Just take our word for it. GO! One interesting aspect is that none of us were sure whether we were full when we finished.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Really liked this place. The ham leg on the counter in a holder with knife near by was like something you see in France or Italy. Biscuits and ham were crazy good, never had such good Monkfish. $3 draft of microbrew. What else do you want???

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unusual Food Adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Luckily, we arrived just after opening and secured a table (no advanced reservations).
NORTH has a fine eclectic menu with interesting juxtapositions of ingredients. We ordered five dishes for three people. The dishes are small, but all the better to try lots of things.
Our favorites included the mushrooms with walnut sauce, Burmese cabbage and sesame noodles.
Though the crispy sweet potatoes were not as spicy as expected, we really loved them, as well.
Opinions varied on the the biscuits. (Maybe expectations were too high after reading previous reviews.) The fish (bass) crudo was fine, but not spectacular.
The ambiance is also eclectic and very neighborhood-y. It's not as refined as the food, which could be misleading. Service was very friendly and low-key. Overall, we would definitely recommend this restaurant-- especially for those who are adventuresome!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North also viewed

 
Providence, RI
Providence, RI
 

Been to North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.