We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo - CLOSED

Mediterraneo
134 Atwells Ave, Providence, RI 02903 (Federal Hill)
401-331-7760
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Federal Hill
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
334 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Let's face it, any restaurant is really all about the food, and Mediterraneo is no exception. The food is varied and always well prepared. Dining on the patio is also a plus.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hll333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Federal Hill has so many good Italian restaurants - don't sell yourself short by choosing this one!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My first and last time here...Despite the awesome decor and decent service, the food was disappointing and the management was even worse!

The place looks laid back and inviting - indeed, it is. With all of the Italian places on Federal Hill, it can be tough making a decision. I come to Providence every now and then and have a few favorites, but we found this restaurant on Groupon ($30 for $70) and decided to give it a try. I noticed that the prices were higher than many other Hill joints, but we had the Groupon so I didn't care. The salad was straightforward, not bad, but nothing to write home about. The chicken w/ eggplant & prociutto came with "San Marzano plum tomato sauce", but I swear this sauce had to have come from a can. There were no chunks of tomato, no visible seasoning, and the sauce wasn't thick at all. It really didn't taste like sauce is supposed to taste - for a restaurant in the Italian part of town I though this was especially offensive. The rest of the dish was fine, but I really think that the sauce makes the dish.

The worst part was trying to use our Groupon. We were a group of 3, but we neglected to notice that the Groupon was for "Four or more". Okay, our bad. We asked if the manager would let us use it anyway, but since it was our mistake, we offered to buy a fourth entree to go. Well, he said that since we were 3 people, we couldn't use the Groupon, period! No matter that we could buy another entree, as if there were 4 people. They must have this rule to ensure sales of a certain amount of food, so we were willing to order more - thus I don't know why they wouldn't let us use it. Disgusted by this and by the mediocre quality of the food, we just redeemed the face value and vowed never to return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ok food, expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

In all the times I've dined, mainly for business, this continues to disappoint. Food should be less expensive. Great spot to sit outside

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ginsuguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
126 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The place is almost too cute from the outside, with the bold blue and harvest gold colors festooning the outdoor tables. Nevertheless, my companion and I enjoyed a very good meal from the reasonably-priced prix fixe lunch menu: caprese salads for openers, seafood-stuffed mushrooms and clams casino for entrees and gelatos for dessert. Permit me to report this additional objective observation: the waiters, dressed in black, were all gorgeous. In summary, it was an elegant little lunch that was prompt, tasty and good to look at.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kutskurina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A little over priced and to saucy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This restaurant use to be great when it first opened years ago. It is not the same quality and it seems your not getting what you should for the price your paying. The pasta is drenched, the appetizers are mediocre, the restaurant is loud and once again over priced. We went for lunch and we sat near the street and it was so loud on the hill

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank dee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing