We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo

Mediterraneo
134 Atwells Ave, Providence, RI 02903 (Federal Hill)
401-331-7760
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 734 Restaurants in Providence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Federal Hill
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Let's face it, any restaurant is really all about the food, and Mediterraneo is no exception. The food is varied and always well prepared. Dining on the patio is also a plus.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    52
    24
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Federal Hill has so many good Italian restaurants - don't sell yourself short by choosing this one!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My first and last time here...Despite the awesome decor and decent service, the food was disappointing and the management was even worse!

The place looks laid back and inviting - indeed, it is. With all of the Italian places on Federal Hill, it can be tough making a decision. I come to Providence every now and then and have a few favorites, but we found this restaurant on Groupon ($30 for $70) and decided to give it a try. I noticed that the prices were higher than many other Hill joints, but we had the Groupon so I didn't care. The salad was straightforward, not bad, but nothing to write home about. The chicken w/ eggplant & prociutto came with "San Marzano plum tomato sauce", but I swear this sauce had to have come from a can. There were no chunks of tomato, no visible seasoning, and the sauce wasn't thick at all. It really didn't taste like sauce is supposed to taste - for a restaurant in the Italian part of town I though this was especially offensive. The rest of the dish was fine, but I really think that the sauce makes the dish.

The worst part was trying to use our Groupon. We were a group of 3, but we neglected to notice that the Groupon was for "Four or more". Okay, our bad. We asked if the manager would let us use it anyway, but since it was our mistake, we offered to buy a fourth entree to go. Well, he said that since we were 3 people, we couldn't use the Groupon, period! No matter that we could buy another entree, as if there were 4 people. They must have this rule to ensure sales of a certain amount of food, so we were willing to order more - thus I don't know why they wouldn't let us use it. Disgusted by this and by the mediocre quality of the food, we just redeemed the face value and vowed never to return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Ok food, expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

In all the times I've dined, mainly for business, this continues to disappoint. Food should be less expensive. Great spot to sit outside

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The place is almost too cute from the outside, with the bold blue and harvest gold colors festooning the outdoor tables. Nevertheless, my companion and I enjoyed a very good meal from the reasonably-priced prix fixe lunch menu: caprese salads for openers, seafood-stuffed mushrooms and clams casino for entrees and gelatos for dessert. Permit me to report this additional objective observation: the waiters, dressed in black, were all gorgeous. In summary, it was an elegant little lunch that was prompt, tasty and good to look at.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A little over priced and to saucy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This restaurant use to be great when it first opened years ago. It is not the same quality and it seems your not getting what you should for the price your paying. The pasta is drenched, the appetizers are mediocre, the restaurant is loud and once again over priced. We went for lunch and we sat near the street and it was so loud on the hill

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo also viewed

 

Been to Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.