We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Paragon

Cafe Paragon
234 Thayer St, Providence, RI 02906-1216 (College Hill)
(401) 331-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Paragon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #176 of 734 Restaurants in Providence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: College Hill
Description: Café Paragon in Providence was first to open it’s doors in 1994. We started serving our valued guests in a friendly European Bistro/Café style atmosphere with a comfortable 32 seats, full bar, and a limited menu. In 1997 we expanded to create Viva offering a more sophisticated dining experience including Mediterranean Mezes, specialized martinis, and extended bar selections in our comfortable lounge. On weekend nights the restaurant transforms with club music. Over the years we have won several awards in RI Monthly and the Providence Pheonix, among them for Best Burgers, Best Salad and Best Octopus and in addition we have been written up in several publications such as Yankee Magazine Travel, Providence Journal, and Vanity Fair.
Wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good basic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Good place to go for a good, basic, reasonably priced burger meal - service was excellent although the surrounding were a bit of a turn off - with the large TV screen showing trashy telly over the bar

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    32
    20
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“consistently disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I hate this place but keep returning because it maintains a good reputation especially with students and staff of nearby Brown University. Every salad I have ordered here is full of wilted lettuce and uninspired toppings. Don't bother.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine neighborhood dining.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is one of my favorites. It is conveniently located within walking distance from my house. The restaurant is always bustling. The food and service are top notch and the kitchen readily makes any changes you need are want. Make a reservation if going on a weekend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A good burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Food was always good, although tables are pretty close together. In the warm months, they set up tables and you can sit outside, and watch the pedestrian (and car) traffic on Thayer Street. At night they have tapas and an interesting decor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Forgettable experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stopped for a quick bite mid afternoon and was satisfied with the portions and cleanliness, but the place itself and the service were nothing out of the ordinary. Servers, included the girl at the bar, appeared to be either sad, unhappy to be there, or both. My server was in a great mood but you could tell she was not very pleased either. That is a big no in my book. Appetizers were good but I agree with a previous reviewer, they were something you could get at any chain restaurant. For the price I would suggest other options, as there are several small restaurants in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Paragon also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Paragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Paragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.