We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maine Lobster” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemenway's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar

Hemenway's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar
121 South Main St, Providence, RI 02903
401 351-8570
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hemenway's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 734 Restaurants in Providence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Located on the River in downtown Providence, Hemenway’s is Rhode Island’s premiere seafood address. Aspiring to bring you the freshest and highest quality fin-fish, shellfish and mollusks in the United States while delivering genuine hospitality in a relaxed, social atmosphere. Hemenway’s offers an award-winning wine list, customized private dining for up to 45 guests, seasonal al fresco dining and full menu service in the bar area.
Carson City, Nevada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Maine Lobster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was in Providence, RI, for a genetic disorder medical conference and had heard some great reviews from Omni Hotel staff and taxi drivers; while in Providence go to Hemenway's for dinner.
The meal of Main Lobster and lobster bisque that I had was heavenly. The Pouilly Fuisse Chardonnay that I ordered to have with my feast was excellent. What a food/wine pairing!!!
Cody was my wait person and provided friendly conversation, info on the area, and photo ops for me around the restaurant.
The Providence Tourist Bureau should put Hemenway's on the Must Do list for the area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    131
    34
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Came here for my birthday dinner during July. Food was fresh, tasty and service was fine. Would come here again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We've eaten at several of the Newport Restaurant Group properties and while they are by no means stellar eateries, the food is almost always good, the service friendly and the views nice (as in on the water).

Hemenway's is no exception. And when it comes to seafood they do know their stuff -- I was curious that the squid did NOT come from Point Judith although they tout themselves as suypporting local vendors, which I'm sure they do. Anyway, the calamari, fixed in Rhode Island style with banana peppers, was in word, superb. Tender to a fault, even the tentacles.

I had the seafood casserole with fingerling potatoes and my wife had the halibut -- both were wonderful.

The wine list lacks creativity and breadth, especially for a seafood restaurant but we each had a glass of the Sancerre and our cocktail, an Aperol grapefruit juice concoction was perfectly created and refreshing.

Although we were there on a Tuesday night it was quite busy and a bit ont he loud side -- but everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. Very casual place, too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Did not live up to the reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I Hate not giving positive reviews, but this restaurant did not live up to expectations. The chef special that my wife ordered was fresh and very good. Everything else seemed like it was previously frozen, especially the vegetables. I had ordered the stuff lobster, the stuffing was luke warm, some parts cold and some hot, the lobster itself was cold and probably previously cooked and fridged. The guest at the table next to us had order steak and had it sent back twice once it was over cooked and the second time it was completely raw. The staff was nice but that is not enough reason to go eat at a restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good but Very Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a nice dinner here. I had the scallops with bacon which were delicious! They also accommodate for children even though it is not on the menu. They also have a lot of other seafood and raw bar options are also very good. However for a dinner of 5 it was over $200 which is very expensive. If you are willing to spend some big bucks this is the place to go. The waiter could have visited our table more often. If we needed something we would have to track them down.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemenway's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Providence, RI
 

Been to Hemenway's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemenway's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.