We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-do with children in RI!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Natural History and Planetarium

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Museum of Natural History and Planetarium
1000 Elmwood Avenue, Providence, RI 02907
(401) 785-9457
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 63 Attractions in Providence
Type: Museums
Attraction details
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must-do with children in RI!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I live about 10 minutes from here and have taken my children (6&8) many times. They absolutely love it. My daughter even had her birthday party here a few years ago. The museum is small, but that gives it a unique intimacy that is rare to find in other museums. The room near the planetarium, with all of the birds, animals, shells....and the bees (!!!) is my absolute favorite. My daughter always says she wants a room like that in our house, and I can't say that I disagree!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north providence
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great family fun, small price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

things for the younger kids to see and do there is an age restriction for the Planetarium. I have never been disappointed at then different sites in here. This place is so much fun for all ages but it is geared toward children , I would say, 8 and up. Though there are lots of things to interest all ages. Ihis attraction is on Roger Wms. Park land. This is something to do either in cool weather or rainy/snowy weather because it is indoors.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great place to learn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

what a great place for an hour visit. they have a great collection of africa and luved the music they have setup. birds of rhode island and victorian parlor collection. we enjoyed masks and tools in pacific collection. dynamic galaxies exhibition was very informative. we learnt alot of mars rover. they have a fun scavenger hunt and planetarium show only on weekends at 2 pm. we saw journey to stars it was fantastic. they dont take bills more than 20 dollars. so bring money, checks. kids under r not allowed in planetarium. great staff. must visit so reasonable 4 dollars each!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CONNECTICUT
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Terrible signage, but pleasant visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you are going here, be prepared to pass the entrance by, maybe circle around a couple times, then give up an ask a groundskeeper or anyone ele you may see. The signage is TERRIBLE !! Like none, until you finally get to the place itself. Tip: It is ON the grounds of the Roger Williams Park Zoo. That being said, go in the park entrance, keep to the left, as you go around a small rotary bear right. By then you should see a building . WHEN you get to it , it will say that its the Museum. The Museum itself is small but still has many very interesting exhibits. We went to the planetarium show which was very interesting, informative and we enjoyed. The cost is very reasonable.3.00 for both the show and museum together.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHODE ISLAND
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A hidden gem for Adults and Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This museum is so outstanding it is hard to describe. It is a shame more people do not know about it. Take the kids or just go yourself.They have things even large Museums do not have.Set up in a very nice way. I think it is just a donation to get in.
The Planetarium is also outstanding and small and intimate an a learning experience wher you can just relax and learn a lot of neat things about the sky above. Do not miss this great place and there is plenty of parking and a great park to enjoy as well.
Go to the lake and take a ride on the swan boats and go if you have kids to the rides over on the side of the lake.What a really nice place to just relax. Take a picnic lunch if you want and then also do not forget the great Zoo they have on the grounds as well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Natural History and Planetarium also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Natural History and Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Natural History and Planetarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.