We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Christopher Dodge House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Christopher Dodge House to your Saves list
Christopher Dodge House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11 West Park Street, Providence, RI 02908 (Smith Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% Off Weekday Rates
Ranked #1 of 6 Providence B&B and Inns
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here for one night only. Our GPS could not find West Park St until we put in W Park Street. We booked here because of Trip advisor reviews. The room was large and nicely furnished with bathroom. There are a lot of stairs in the bulding so this needs to be taken into consideration when booking. There is a pleasant reading /computer room. The breakfast room was bright and friendly with a good selection for continental breakfast. The cooked breakfast was only average. the muffin was cold and chewy underneath the egg. The B&B seems to be run by a manager as there are quite a lot of rooms. We like the personal touch and prefer a B&B run by owners. There is on site parking which was welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for not so many stairs to your room and overlooking street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    39
    18
    8
    1
See reviews for
40
98
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Christopher Dodge House was a lovely B&B, full of old-fashioned charm. Our room was large and bright with a colonial charm. The bed is quite high with a little step stool, but quite comfortable. The staff is warm and helpful and the breakfast is especially wonderful. There is a variety of offerings plus a daily special. It is quite gourmet.

We would recommend this place to anyone and return again.

Room Tip: We had the largest room on the second floor. It was very gracious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We spent two nights in this charming inn. The facility is very clean and well maintained, the rooms spacious and the breakfasts were surprisingly good. The hot breakfast, included in the price, was crafted individually for each guest and in addition to the self service continental breakfast offering. The friendly and helpful staff made our stay a highlight of this visit to Providence. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

What a beautiful room! One of the best beds I've ever slept in. Antique room with updated air conditioner and bathroom with excellent shower. Excellent breakfast. Friendly and extremely helpful staff. Same price as the generic hotels in Providence -- I'll take this place every time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Christopher Dodge House. Our room was clean, quiet and cozy. Breakfast was outstanding and prepared by a master chef who was warm and engaging in conversation. We highly recommend this Inn and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and cozy (the bed was wonderful!) and the breakfasts were delicious. All around it was a great experience. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Really confortable place to stay, cousy atmosphere and nice deco, great location, nice and spacy rooms, with a lot of little details.
the breakfast is a lilltle bit basic, but good enough.

Room Tip: Rooms in the second floor have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christopher Dodge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Dodge House

Address: 11 West Park Street, Providence, RI 02908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Smith Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christopher Dodge House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Providence, the Christopher Dodge House Rhode Island Bed and Breakfast was renovated to its original stately grandeur, a stunning 3-story brick Italianate mansion. Enjoy the convenience the Inn offers to attractions such as, Providence Place Mall, Convention Center, RI School of Design, Brown University and world famous "Water Fire". Rooms are spacious and offer comfortable accommodations with many amenities such as fireplaces, hand-crafted furniture, WIFI, and a delightful, home cooked breakfast. Special packages include historic tours of Providence, fabulous restaurants, and romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, T4B, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Christopher Dodge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Dodge House Hotel Providence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christopher Dodge House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.