We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Fine Location, Near Mall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Providence Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Providence Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Providence Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Exchange Terrace at Memorial Blvd, Providence, RI 02903 (Downtown Providence)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 1! Book Now
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Teaneck, N.J.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Fine Location, Near Mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Staff was especially helpful...a request for information about the Providence Trolley Tour elicited a brochure, a coupon, and directions. They have a paid car service available for guests, a convenience since cabs are hard to find in this city. Workout rooms and pool were especially good...clean and airy. Towels could have been thicker....but we brought up blue towels from the pool and made do with more towels. Very close to the Mall...not far from some of the other attractions of this city such as the RISD Museum of Art, and Federal Hill. Breakfast was fresh, if pricey...not many options nearby. A Luxe Hamburger place was available with only 10 steps into the rain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    168
    70
    12
    8
See reviews for
80
77
19
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have stayed here a few times on the weekends to go out in the city. I live locally but too far to take a taxi if we are going out for drinks. The location is this property's best feature. You are right by the Providence Place Mall, Kennedy Plaza, Waterplace Park, the State House and Downtown. PPAC and the Civic Center are a few blocks away. Convention Center is across the street. This is a newer hotel, typical of a courtyard. There is a Bistro where you can get a quick bite or beer, but you are better off heading out for better options. Bar Louie, Ri-Ra, Capital Grille, Union Station Brewery and Luxe Burger Bar are right next door. There is no grand lobby here, or historic architecture, just a nice, clean, centrally located hotel. I will be back. Also check out the Renaissance, another Marriott property for a bit more character.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are nice since you have two views. Also check out the rooms with views of the statehou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a very strange stay!

What a very strange stay. Arrived on a Friday for a 4 day stay, check in was fine. The room did seem a bit out dated and there was no docking station or room safe in the room. Just a cheap alarm clock you get at cvs store for $5.00 and the time was 2 hours slow. The room also had a very strange small. I just got of an Amtrak train and I thought it was probable the residue small for the chemical toilet that I had to set by. So took a shower and headed out. When I got back to the room and went to bed the smell was still there and after about 3 minutes of laying on my pillow the smell was unbearable. The smell was a cross of smoke, urine and fiscal matter. So I ended up sleeping on the couch. Next day I asked for the pillows to be changed, which happened and the small did fade somewhat but still lingered. Also the room was very noisy! Right beside a freeway.

The amazing thing after that was my room was never cleaned or bed made up for the rest of my stay! On the last day I asked the front desk on 4 different occasions that I needed my room cleaned and new towels…to no avail! So I called down to the main desk at approx. 6 pm and explained how my trash barrels were over flowing and the bed needed to be changed also I need fresh towels. No apology what’s so ever was given! Next approx. 30 mins later a knock on my door, there was a guy handing me bed sheets! I Took them from him and closed the door.

I stood there for a moment and tried to comprehend what just had happened. Does the Marriott Courtyard Providence Downtown expect there guest to change their own bed linins and clean their own room?

In my entire 40 years on the face of this plant, I have never been expected to change \ clean my own room in a hotel!

In closing I shall probable not stay there again.

Room Tip: very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I am not usually a big fan of Courtyard's, but this one was awesome. Very nice staff, very spacious rooms, nice bistro. I am a fan. Cool looking building from the outside and tucked in nicely off of the main street, I would stay here again in a minute. Great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Pros:
- Across the street from the Providence Place mall which seems to have everything; and very close to the convention center
- Within walking distance to Federal Hill (about 1/2 mile) and Brown (closer to a mile)
- Nice, spacious rooms
- Exercise room had updated machines, although it was a fairly small room
- Large area off the lobby for working or meeting friends

Cons:
- $20-ish charge for parking, but I think all of the hotels downtown charge for parking and this one had in/out privileges
- No free continental breakfast or even coffee (I guess I am used to the Hampton chain)

Providence is a very walkable city and this hotel is well located.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed at this Marriott for college graduation last weekend and it was poor, definitely below my Marriott standards. As a Marriott Rewards Member I expect good customer service and consistent great quality. The hotel was overbooked and was not able to handle the amount of people, especially at breakfast. People were waiting in line for 45 minutes just to order food and then wait another 15 minutes before it came. For the price of the night I expected more. The drain in the shower was partially clogged and would build up during the shower so by the time you were done, you were standing in the tub half full of water. When I told the front desk staff they didn't seem to care. This same situation occurred at another Courtyard Marriott and they emailed me the next day thanking me for informing them and gave me 1,000 bonus points for letting them you, this place, nothing. The hotel is nice, but room is average, clogged shower drain, poor customer service would make me not want to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have stayed in the hotel before. It is the best place to stay in Providence. The hotel is in a great location. The front desk staff is one of the best I have seen. They were so helpful in helping us out. The rooms are great. They are clean and new looking. The pool is great. The new lobby design is very nice.
The only complaint that I have is with the people working the Bistro Coffee Wine Bar. The service is quite poor. It appears they were not equipped to deal with the large crowd of people there for a graduation weekend. This is something management should work on.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms, they have a great view and are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Providence Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Providence Downtown

Address: 32 Exchange Terrace at Memorial Blvd, Providence, RI 02903
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Providence
#8 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Providence Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Providence Courtyard by Marriott is a cutting edge hotel located in the heart of downtown. With our new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for guests with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in and free Wi-Fi. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. - which provides guests with healthy offerings for breakfast and dinner plus evening cocktail service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Providence Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Providence Downtown Hotel Providence
Providence Courtyard
Providence Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Providence Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.