We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, all the basics, excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Providence Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Providence Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Providence Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Exchange Terrace at Memorial Blvd, Providence, RI 02903 (Downtown Providence)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No frills, all the basics, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Excellent location one block from the convention center and Dunkin Donuts arena, surrounded by restaurants. No problem finding places to eat. I would stay here again.

Good, forceful shower; very comfortable, clean bed, good pillows; very quiet room.

Good TV with reasonable HD channel selections (including ESPN, ESPN2, HBO, and some family channels). Electrical sockets (2 on desk, 2 on lamps near bed) are very loose connections; both my three prong and two prong devices had trouble maintaining contact in any of them.

There is no room service although local restaurants will deliver (didn't test this). Bath room sink is a little cramped with poor lighting and little counter space, thin bath towels. The room layout is versatile for a business traveler, with a fixed desk/bureau, and a roll out table/chair combination that is a good height for working. There is a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker; the coffee is not very good, I did not test the other equipment. Similar quality complimentary coffee available in the lounge.

Free USA today in lobby. Basic bar in the lounge area.

Free internet but wireless (2.4 GHz, 802.11g) very slow in the evenings. (Stayed here the week of hurricane Sandy so it may not be typical, although I was getting much higher speeds at the Convention Center). At 11:00 pm I was getting ping intervals to Boston between 400-1050 ms, 0.07-0.71 Mbps down, and 0.16-0.36 Mbps up on my iPhone. At 7:00 am the next morning I was getting 128 ms ping, 3.32 Mbps down, and 1.81 Mbps up on my laptop.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    152
    64
    10
    8
See reviews for
76
66
19
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boylston, MA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed at the Courtyard 5 times in the last 5 years and always come away impressed. The location is fantastic as you are right near the Dunkin Donuts Center and mall, roughly a 15 minute walk to Brown U. Yes, parking is expensive and there are urban noises, but this is the cost of doing business if you want to stay in a convenient location in the middle of a city. What impresses me is that despite being in a great location, the staff remains very nice and eager to please. Sometimes hotel staffs in good locations simply coast on that. However, everyone at the Marriott Courtyard Providence is friendly and helpful. Plus, the rooms are updated, everything is super clean, and you have free Wifi, free coffee, free cookies, free newspapers. One day there was a jug of free lemonade out front. My trip to Providence is for business and many colleagues who stay at other hotels do not have as good an experience. I would highly recommend the Marriott Courtyard if you are in Providence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Nyack, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel recently because our daughter goes to college in the Providence, RI area! We have stayed in other hotels in the area - all were fine but Courtyard Marriott was right in the downtown area close to nice restaurants and shops! Didn't have to get into car too much because everything was in walking distance! Very nice time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The rooms are nice, clean and large. It is easily accessed. The breakfast is reasonably priced (bowl of cereal, tea and oj for $4, full buffet for $13). But the parking is too expensive ($26). I would look for some other parking. I got a reasonable price ($129 - $156 before taxes and parking) but when I looked at other days it got a bit expensive (>$200). It helped to be facing away from Memorial drive in terms of quiet.

Room Tip: Find cheaper parking. Ask for a room facing away from Memorial drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were in town for Brown Parents' Weekend and although we booked months ago - options were limited.

It was OK - great location (to Mall, most sites, and Brown) and large rooms. Clean and recently(?) updated.

Price was about typical for Providence ($200/night w/ taxes, etc.).

However, parking was $26/night; the "free" breakfast costs $18/head if you do the buffet; and most unhappy was the noise. We were on the second floor facing a very busy street - noise through the night - traffic, police sirens, etc.

We would not stay here again - IF we have other options.

Room Tip: Higher than the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Did a trade show at RI Convention Center which is just across the street. The location is fantastic for it. You can leave your car over at the convention center parking lot and just walk across the street, so when you are done, your car is ready to go.

The hotel is like most other Courtyards, clean and comfy. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance, but the Union Brewery is right next door.

The staff at this Courtyard are top notch. Friendly and very helpful! This is the place to stay down town and its a must if you are working a trade show at the RI Convention Center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
435 reviews 435 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Beautiful location that is within walking distance to the waterfront, state capitol, shopping center, and multiple restaurants. The service is wonderful. Room (two queen beds) was spacious, clean, and very very quiet.

Free cookies in the evening. Advance pay rate was $189 for October, plus $26 for parking. This is par with a lot of the downtown hotels across the USA.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Providence Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Providence Downtown

Address: 32 Exchange Terrace at Memorial Blvd, Providence, RI 02903
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Providence
#8 Family Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Providence Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Providence Courtyard by Marriott is a cutting edge hotel located in the heart of downtown. With our new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for guests with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in and free Wi-Fi. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. - which provides guests with healthy offerings for breakfast and dinner plus evening cocktail service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Otel, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Providence Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Providence Downtown Hotel Providence
Providence Courtyard
Providence Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Providence Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.