We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bit of a dissapointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Providence Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Providence Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Providence Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Exchange Terrace at Memorial Blvd, Providence, RI 02903 (Downtown Providence)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 1! Book Now
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“bit of a dissapointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We choose the Courtyard as my husband had.points and recieved a night free. The hotel was situated in a great location, close to everything. The room was average at best. There was no shampoo and no cups or glasses of any kind. It just seemed that the little things were missing. We knew that breakfast wasn't included but to decided to try the restaurant. It was a buffet exactly like the Hampton Inns and so many others offer as complimentary but was $13.95 per person. We also paid $25 plus to park in their parking lot. I can;t imagine if I had to pay $200 for the night and then add the extras. It just fell short of our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    168
    70
    12
    8
See reviews for
80
77
19
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Free wifi, free laundry soap, free fresh-baked cookies in the evenings, free newspaper, free parking right next to WaterFire...so nice! Great location and super friendly staff, big room, and great views. Convenient walking distance to good restaurants and shopping, RISD and Brown, and right in the heart of downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I traveled to Providence with 4 other "girl" friends for a long weekend. Water Fire and the Seafood Fest were two attractions we wanted to experience, as well as travel to Newport for the Mansion tours and the cliff walk. The location was perfect for Water Fire as well as numerous restaurants and the Providence Place Mall. You can also easily walk to Johnson & Wales and the DownCity area, State House, and Financial District. We reserved two rooms, 2 queens in each, and Marriott was able to arrange them next to each other. The rooms were clean and very spacious. The only room request would be an additional garbage can, as one is just not enough for 2/3 women in a room! We didn't eat in the dining room, but chose to walk to the Dunkin Donuts. The front desk staff was helpful in providing directions and suggestions. We did experience problems with the "keys" not working, and the staff had to keep reprogramming them, but it was somewhat frustrating after having to do this several times. Otherwise, we all had a great time, and are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Good for business travel. The breakfast is rather simple, by my taste, but, I guess that's what "continental" means.
The other thing I've missed was the small fridge in the room. It wasn't there. :)

Overall, a good experience. That's all you need on a business trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I went to Providence for our anniversary. We chose this hotel due to it's proximity to WaterFire and it was perfect. The view of WaterFire was breathtaking and there are also a number of great restaurants around. The only down side was the mattress was so uncomfortable and the foam pillows that were requested upon making the reservation were not available. Great hotel overall.

Room Tip: Request a room that overlooks Waterplace Park, even if you are not going for Waterfire, it is a beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I decided to go to Providence for a little getaway considering it was our wedding anniversary. I will say that we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel gave us an upgrade to a room with a jacuzzi because it was our anniversary, which was very kind of them. The room itself was clean and what you would expect of a chain hotel. Now any hotel from a motel to the Four Seasons can have problems. It is how they are handled that distinguishes them. Our main issues was that the shower drain was extremely slow draining and the jacuzzi tub controls were damaged. Upon notifying the front desk, they sent an engineer that was able to fix both the issues. The engineer was prompt, professional and friendly. He graciously handled our issues and left.

The hotel is in a wonderful location with plenty to eat as well as a large mall a block away. Parking I will say is pricey at $26 a night, but you can come and go as you please. There is parking in the front, but if that is full, there is parking in the rear which can be a little walk to the hotel. Providence, much like old New England towns wasn't designed for cars so parking is a challenge, which is why there is such a premium on parking. It is in walking distance to Brown University, RISD, and close enough for a lengthy walk to Federal Hill.

They also have a nice little workout room which my wife and I used. It had a few tread mills, 3 weight machines, a bicycle, elliptical, and dumbells. It was perfect for the road warrior that needs to keep in shape. Also, there is a pool, (Though not big enough to get a real workout) and a hot tub. I didnt use those but it seemed nice and clean enough for a dip. If I was to stay in Providence again, this is where I would stay for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Your usual Courtyard. no surprises. Location is super. One caution in the summer time the odd numbered rooms over look a plaza where entertainment goes on late into the evening. If you want quiet, early try to be on the even side of the hotel. Walking distance to the "Fire Water" show. Walking distance to the convention center. Walking distance to the start and finish of the Rock and Roll 1/2 marathon.

Room Tip: see comments about summer music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Providence Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Providence Downtown

Address: 32 Exchange Terrace at Memorial Blvd, Providence, RI 02903
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Providence
#8 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Providence Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Providence Courtyard by Marriott is a cutting edge hotel located in the heart of downtown. With our new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for guests with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in and free Wi-Fi. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. - which provides guests with healthy offerings for breakfast and dinner plus evening cocktail service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Providence Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Providence Downtown Hotel Providence
Providence Courtyard
Providence Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Providence Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.