We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and a friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Grande

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Rancho Grande
311 Plainfield St, Providence, RI 02909
401-275-0808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 734 Restaurants in Providence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Managua, Nicaragua
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Delicious food and a friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I had dinner at Rancho Grande while visiting friends in Providence who raved about this place. Now I know why. We had the chips with everything (todo) as a starter and guacamole. The beans were amazing and the guacamole and cheese on top were fresh and delicious. I had the mole which was excellent accompanied by some cold maragaritas. We left very stuffed and happy. It has a friendly vibe and clearly a family-run establishment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, Rhode Island, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Mexican Food At It's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Visited for the first time and have nothing but good things to say about this restaurant. Food was prepared to order and delivered to our table steaming hot. Service was awesome and everyone was very attentive. The place is not very big but quaint so it makes you feel like you are eating in someone's home. Top off your meal with one of the best margaritas you will have anywhere. Better yet at 6.00 EACH you can have a couple. If you are looking for genuine home cooked Mexican Food At good prices look no further this is the place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service for authentic Mexican cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Their menu is extensive, our table had many questions and our waitress was extremely patient and friendly and made recommendations to help us narrow down our choices. I'd go back just based on the friendly service we received. The place is tiny, we didn't wait too long for our table, but it's standing room only when the tables are full. The food is very fresh with lots of spice (if you don't like spicy food, it will be hard to find something here to eat). Even the "plain" guac has a kick. If you like authentic Mexican (NO TexMex here) then this is definitely a place to check out.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“That moment where you realize you know nothing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Like many Gringos,I have had my share of Americanized Mexican Food.As a fairly accomplished home cook,I have mastered all the typical taco and enchilada recipes and techniques,but in the last year I have dabbled in more authentic Mexican cuisine and discovered that even on the most common level of Mexican street food,I am a novice.This fact was made even more clear when I visited El Rancho Grande on a whim for lunch on a recent weekday.The restaurant opened a little later than was stated on the website,but we were so captivated by the menu that we waited patiently outside until they were ready to seat us.Cut to 40 minutes later as we were finishing the last bites of our extraordinary meal,and I looked at the waitress and stated with all sincerity that the food we had just experienced was the absolute best Mexican meal either of us had ever devoured.She replied, in a matter of fact way "We hear that all the time."
Try the huarache,try the fried quesadilla frita,try the divine plum and chicken stuffed Tamales Oaxaquenos and the spicy Tamales Verdes,try anything you have ever or never heard of.
Know that everything is made from scratch from a family that has learned and passed on recipes from generation to generation.If you don't want to wait in a line at dinner,go early.If you are afraid of the neighborhood,get a life! Support this community and make it better by embracing the cultural diversity of Providence at its best by eating here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food and great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

What a little gem in Providence! The food is delicious, the prices can't be beat, the service was good and friendly. The décor was upbeat. My first visit was a delightful surprise!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rancho Grande also viewed

 

Been to El Rancho Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.