We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great service from Ryan Houlihan"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Providence Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Providence Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Orms Street, Providence, RI 02904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Lincoln, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Great service from Ryan Houlihan"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We recently attended an event at the hotel and Ryan Houlihan was responsible for our table. He was courteous, kind, and prompt the entire evening. I have never had such a wonder server! Everyone at our table was bragging about him. He is an asset to the Marriott chain.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear CL,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate the kudos you had for Ryan Houlihan. I will be sure to share your review with my whole hotel team. Thanks again!
Sincerely,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    207
    104
    35
    12
See reviews for
189
148
34
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Webster, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I decided to do a package deal and it was 160 for the hotel, breakfast, and a 75$ gift certificate for the bluefin grille. I can't say enough good about our stay! The beds were so comfortable. Dinner was good. Breakfast was delicious! The man on the omlet station obviously loved his job and it showed. He knew so many people by first name. He was singing and just enjoying his shift. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Beckyandjosh,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am delighted that you booked our Ultimate Dining Package - it is a great deal. The Bluefin Grille is award-winning and has a culinary team like no other in Providence. I am so thrilled you had an awesome breakfast experience. Our omelette chefs know their stuff! Hope to see you poolside this summer!
Sincerely,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Nice hotel with plenty of amenities, including a nice pool and concierge lounge; the rooms are nicely appointed with nice beds, however, small and in need of a major overhaul. Still, not a bad place to stay for a few nights. The gym is small, but they have professional fitness trainers that really know what they are doing. The front desk staff are uber friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear GR,
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Thank you for letting us know how great you think our associates are - especially the front desk - they are uber friendly and helpful. We hope to see you poolside this summer!
Sincerely,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have been traveling for a project for the past month in RI and stayed in Lincoln courtyard, but this week I decided to stay in Marriott downtown and did not enjoy my stay. I requested for a bigger room as this is the first time I brought my kids with me. There was nothing they could do for me. I asked several times. The bathroom is so tiny with rust on the shower faucet. I suggested to the front desk that I will change my reservations to just one night from 4 nights and they were like you are more than welcome to. Which I will as I did not feel welcome in this place. My colleague had warned me and I still came here! never again

Room Tip: The double bed room is not suitable for a family of four - unless you want to be cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear KC,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and to share your experience with us. I am so disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I apologize that your stay was not what you expected. I have my Operations teams looking into why we could not accommodate your requests and why your room was in the condition you described. I appreciate that you gave us a try since you typically stay in Lincoln. I hope you will reconsider and when you visit the Providence area again, you choose to stay with us. Your kids will sure enjoy our indoor and outdoor connecting pools. Please feel free to contact me personally to discuss you stay.
Sincerely,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The staff at the hotel was terrific. I was there for an event and if you needed something the staff would take care of it and they were pleasant to work with. The food that was severed was good and again the kitchen staff kept refilling empty platters. The rooms we used for the event were spacious and tables and chairs set up as specified.

My guest room was neat and clean. My only complaint, which cannot be helped, poor design when the hotel was built, is the huge bathroom door, it gets in the way.

I was entirely happy with our choice at the Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear funtimefamily12,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I was so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also glad you enjoyed the event you attend so much. I hope you can visit us again soon. Our outdoor pool (connected to our indoor pool) opens very soon. Hope to see you poolside this summer!
Sincerely,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We did not stay at the hotel but we visited there for a fashion show that was put on by Lincoln High School fundraiser. There was a full course dinner and the staff was excellent, our waiter Ryan Houlihan went above and beyond. Our table asked him for a bunch of stuff, extra bread, butter, coffee etc. and he always remembered to come back with it and was on top of filling our water. Excellent service and great atmosphere!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear MM,
Thank you for taking the time to share your event experience with us. I am thrilled that your event was such a great success. It's a true indication that we not only know how to care for our in-house guests but our guests who attend our events as well. Thank you for pointing out which of our associates made an impression on you. Ryan is great! I will share this review with the entire hotel.
Thank you again,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Spent 3 nights every week at this hotel for 7 months. Great place for business travel. Although this is an older property, the hotel is kept up well - rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. They have a gift shop that sells starbucks coffee and restaurant has a very nice although not a huge menu, quality of food is very high. The hotel is close to downtown, walkable to the mall, train station and many good restaurants and they have a shuttle to take you to federal hill or wherever. The staff at this hotel is truly great and do everything to make you feel comfortable and at home. If I travel to Providenc for fun, I will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear TM,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am so pleased to know that it feels like home when you stay with us. I do hope that when you visit Providence for fun you will choose to stay here!
Sincerely,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Address: 1 Orms Street, Providence, RI 02904
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#6 Family Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located in downtown Providence. Situated near the state capital, I-95 and historic East Side. Free parking, connected indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive overnight packages available - Twin River Casino Package, Ultimate Dining Escape, Family Splash Package, Romance packages, Martinis & Manicures spa package, Golf Challenge , etc Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. Completely renovated lobby - New Marriott Greatroom - and all new meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Providence Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.