We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay in Providence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Providence Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Providence Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Orms Street, Providence, RI 02904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Boston Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Stay in Providence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We received a pleasant welcome at reception. The room was attractive and comfortable and included access to the concierge lounge with drinks and snacks in the evening and an excellent buffet breakfast in the morning. We definitly would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear ParkerBradford,
What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be back soon! PS: Our breakfast buffet in the Bluefin Grille is awesome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    207
    104
    34
    12
See reviews for
187
148
34
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The second Marriott in as many months proves one point. The brand is not what it used to be. The near-luxury and high style have turned into more of an overpriced utility brand with tired hotels, small rooms and amenities that leave a lot to be desired.

This hotel is a good example.
Rooms are clean, the heated indoor pool is great with kids and the free wifi is decent. Free parking is also a nice touch.

But the rooms are small, especially the claustrophobic bathroom. There is no safe in the room, so leaving your laptop or smartphone behind leave you uneasy (especially with the prevalent signs that thefts happened to guests, which the hotel is not responsible for). The final strike against this hotel is the location. It's literally off the freeway with a scenic view of a car wash. Downtown, while close, is not where this hotel is; not waking distance for sure.

For $200 a night, I would rather stay downtown at a Hampton Inn or a Courtyard. The Marriott brand is certainly no longer above those in its offerings.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear pace_ripley,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our pool, complimentary WI FI and free parking. We are sorry that you were not happy with the size of your room and in particular the bathroom. Our safes are located behind the front desk rather than in our rooms. We feel responsible to warn our guests about leaving valuable items in plain view in their cars (especially GPS) - this is the signage to which you were referring. We do this upon recommendation of the city as every area in Providence has experienced GPS theft. We do provide easy access to I-95. However, our hotel has many stunning views of the city. I'm sorry you did not have a chance to experience that. We thank you for your loyalty to Marriott in the past and hope that you continue to stay at Marriott properties in the future. When you are planning your next trip to Providence, please feel free to contact me jdahler@marriottprovidence.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. It is within walking distance to the downtown area (about 1/2 mile) and they do offer a shuttle. The lobby and the room is nice and typical of a full service Marriott. The only downside is it is a little noisy. We had an awful night's sleep because the heating/cooling system in the room constantly adjusted with a loud blower. We finally decided to shut off the heat and then all we heard was street traffic all night because the hotel is located near a hospital and highways.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear kris91,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I sincerely apologize that your heating unit was noisy. We are in the process of completing an overhaul to all HVAC units in the hotel. I am delighted to hear that our location and hotel overall were pleasing to you. I appreciate that you took the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. It helps us get better at delivering first-rate guest experiences. We hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Marriott Downtown Providence put on a fabulous and fun New Years Eve package! the staff was welcoming and awesome. the rooms great- the bands set up in two ballrooms were terrific. They provide free shuttles to the downtown area-so our whole group of five couples could ride together. The Roomful of Blues and Brass Attack were so good. The Hotel really did a great job making sure this was a fun and memorable evening!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear maureen c,
Happy New Year! What an excellent review! Thank you so much for sharing it with us. We're so pleased that you and your friends had such a great time. Hope to see you again soon for another one of our amazing special events! Thanks again! ~Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I am a huge fan of the Marriott Chain this Marriott in Providence is awesome the customer service was excellent the rooms were very cozy,not to far from the Providence Mall and many great restaurants would highly recommend this Marriott to anyone staying in the Providence area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear OLDIESGUY,
Thank you for your awesome review! We appreciate when our guests take the time to share their experiences with us. It helps us continue to improve in creating exceptional guest experiences. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We and another couple chose this hotel because of its New Year package featuring a heavy appetizers buffet, music by the Providence band "Room Full of Blues," and overnight accommodations. We had a wonderful stay. The reception was welcoming, the band was superb, and the food exceeded our expectations. We arrived at the buffet a little late and were only able to find a stand-up table in the ballroom. One of the managers on duty, Jack Coppolino, came to our rescue and brought in a regular height table for our party. As we are all in our sixties that made all the difference to our enjoyment of the festivities.

It made for a very nice New Year's celebration.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Thomas D,
Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are delighted to know that you and your friends had such a good time at our New Year's Eve Celebration. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our Trip Advisor readers. Please be on the look out for future events that we will have in 2013. Hope to see you soon! PS: We're glad Jack was able to assist you and help make your evening more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I chose this Marriott because of the easy access to the highway and closeness to family in the area. The primary reason for this trip was business and I found the hotel very comfortable. The front desk staff was very friendly and courteous. I had breakfast in the hotel dining room. The dining room staff were great. The food was hot and fresh. Best of all, the coffee was very good, always hot and fresh. The only downside to this stay was that I was not able to control the room temperature to my satisfaction. The hotel system was on " winter" mode and could not be cooled below 68 degrees. the windows did open though to get some cooler and fresh air in the room. I will definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear djefla,
We were so pleased to hear that your first visit with us was so wonderful. We certainly would like to see you again soon the next time you visit Providence for business or otherwise. I hope you have a Happy New Year and please feel free to contact me directly if you plan on visiting Providence often for business. You may contact me at jdahler@marriottprovidence.com
Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Address: 1 Orms Street, Providence, RI 02904
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#6 Family Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located in downtown Providence. Situated near the state capital, I-95 and historic East Side. Free parking, connected indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive overnight packages available - Twin River Casino Package, Ultimate Dining Escape, Family Splash Package, Romance packages, Martinis & Manicures spa package, Golf Challenge , etc Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. Completely renovated lobby - New Marriott Greatroom - and all new meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Providence Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.