We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just satisfactory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Providence Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Providence Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Orms Street, Providence, RI 02904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Boston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just satisfactory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

The room was pleasant enough and the bed was comfortable, but this is a hotel that gets A LOT of use. The night we were there they were hosting a weekend youth hockey tourney and the place was crawling with Hockey families. It was pretty loud.

The best things to say about the hotel are:
a. The location, it's close to Brown and close to downtown, so you're right there, though it is sort of on the northern edge of things
b. The king size bed, it was nice, with excellent sheets and pillows.

The windows need to be replaced. Ours was clouded over.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Dear msg82256,
We appreciate when our guests take the time to share their comments about their experience at our hotel. The weekend you stayed with us there was a Citywide Youth Sports program in Providence. We do our very best to accommodate the needs of the group (and our guests who are not part of the group) by offering a special hockey game room. Our hope is that this give the kids additional activities during their stay.
I also appreciate your feedback about what was best about your stay. Our location is awesome. Being so close to the East Side is a great benefit for our guests. Also, our REVIVE beds by Marriott are super comfortable. We get a lot of positve feedback about them.
Thank you for choosing the Providence Marriott Downtown. Hope you will visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    190
    95
    28
    12
See reviews for
168
133
31
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

we stay at this hotel often as our daughter moved to the area. The staff is very friendly accomidating the free parking, free shuttle to downtown .The rooms are spacious clean and quiet.Id rec. to anyone needing to stay in providence, good location to major highways. Coffee shop restaurant and bar all good quality food and beverages.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Dubrule,
We are so happy to know you have found a home away from home when you visit your daughter. That's the best news we've heard today! We look forward to seeing you often. I have shared your comments with our hotel team. Thanks for the praises! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We chose this hotel because it had some of the highest ratings...what are people's standards, these days? When we arrived at 4:30pm, one and a half hours AFTER the check-in time, we were told one of our two rooms was not ready. I asked what time check in was and I was told, "3pm but there's a Hockey Tournament group staying here as well." I'm sorry, but what does that have to do with your housekeeping department not having my room ready? We were given a $20 discount on the room, which we paid $189 a night for to begin with. When we pulled up to the hotel after driving through the ghetto for what seemed to be 30 minutes, I was shocked to see the location of the hotel. We were about a 10 minute drive from downtown Providence, not within walking distance of anything at all besides maybe a KFC. When we got into our rooms (adjoining), the bathroom is outdated, looks like housekeeping does not pay attention to detail when cleaning, and is the size of a small closet, literally. The sink drain had something crusted into it, the paint near the bottom of the door frame was old and peeling, and the shower had mold and mildew grown into the tile grout. It was disgusting. The bed was large but felt like sleeping on a piece of plywood. The comforter cover feels like it is made of some kind of water resistant plastic, and the pillows are huge and impossible for anyone to lay their head down on. I have been in many hotels before and I would even rate the Quality Inn in Great Lakes, Chicago, as being cleaner than this room. I have stayed at Courtyard by Marriott in Orlando, Florida and that hotel outdid this one by many, many miles. The adjoining room was the same story, so this tells me we didn't just have an isolated bad experience. We didn't use the pools or any other amenities, we only stayed for one night but when I visit a hotel, cleanliness and comfort are priority over the amenities.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear houdelin,
I do apologize for your experience. It's not a good way to start off your stay and intensifies everything else along the way. If you would like to contact me directly, I would like to speak with you about your experience. You can email me at jdahler@marriottprovidence.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Free parking! hard to find in Providence. Staff very friendly to kids, one of ours mentioned she likes the receptionists New Years hat...and they gave her one!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Babyruth16,
Happy New Year! Thank you for your excellent feedback about your stay. We are the only hotel in Providence that offers free parking - so yes, it is hard to find unless you stay with us! Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We strive to create exceptional guest experiences for the folks that stay with us and your comments just prove that we are reaching that goal. Hope to see you soon! PS: Glad you liked the hat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

As a Platinum member we got a concierge room. Since it was Brown's family weekend, the hotel opened up the concierge for breakfast. While it was crowded, we were able to sleep well. My only complaint was that we inquired about the shuttle going to downtown Providence and never received a call back. I understand the circumstances of a busy weekend, but that is poor customer service especially from a full service Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Dnumgis02,
I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over Brown University Family Weekend. That is a busy weekend in Providence and it's good to know that you had a restful experience at our hotel. I'm not sure what the disconnect was with our communication about our complimentary shuttle but I do apologize if you felt that we were not responsive. Next time you are visiting Brown/Providence, please be sure to let us know when you need the shuttle (reservations required) and we will be happy to get you to where you need to go. We hope to see you soon and you'll be excited to hear about our new City Advantage program (discounts and guest benefits throughout the city) when you check in. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed here in Sept. for a conference, and was not overly impressed. I tend to seek out Marriott because they do not usually disappoint me, but this one was just blah! Staff were not overly friendly, decor is drab. Room is clean and bed nice, but overall smaller than what I am used to from Marriott. Seems like this place is an afterthought! It is not downtown either! You have to risk your life crossing major roads filled with crazy Rhode Island drivers to get to downtown where there are great shops and restaurants. You need a cab to safely get there from here. Felt like I overpaid to be underwhelmed....

Room Tip: Ask for one at the opposite end of the hall as the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Mary H
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at our hotel. I apologize that your stay was not up to your expectations. I like to think of Providence as rather pedestrian friendly. Next time, you certainly should utilize our complimentary shuttle service to avoid any pedestrian situations like you experienced. We are happy to take you where you need to go - anywhere within a 1.5 mile radius of the hotel. Hope you have a very Happy New Year and hope you will give us another try soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We drove some friends from Cape Cod to the Green airport in RI and we decided to stay over night and watch the Patriots down town Providence. We chose the Marriott for a couple of reasons, it was downtown and it was part of our Marriott Rewards. And one more reason, there was free parking. And one more thing, they drove us to our destination to watch the Pats Game and most important, they picked us up. Noooooo Driving. Awsome!

From the time we walked thru the front doors till we checked out, well, the service was outstanding. Our fist encounter was with Roland on the front desk a recent graduate from Johnston and Wales. We knew after just meeting him for the first time how much he enjoyed working for Marriott and he so was a people person. But he was just the first in a long line of Marriott family we met. Rachael, Estelle and the manager of the courtesy van, (sorry his name slips my memory), all of them showed from their smiles and help that they so enjoyed working at the Down Town Marriott. We both were so impressed with their help and suggestions that we have now booked our New Years Celebration at the Marriott.

The Marriott should be extremely happy being represented by these employees.

We could not recommend more highly the Marriott in Downtown on Orms Street.

Tom and Kathy

Room Tip: Choose a room away from train tracks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear CapeCod080,
Happy New Year! Thank you for your fabulous comments. I have made sure all associates that you mentioned have been told about this review. WE also feel that the art of good, no...excellent service has not been lost. We strive to achieve this every day. We are extremely happy to be represented by the associates you mentioned. They are awesome role models to our team!
Hope to see you again very soon and hope you enjoyed your New Year's Eve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Address: 1 Orms Street, Providence, RI 02904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#6 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#6 Family Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located in downtown Providence. Situated near the state capital and I-95. Free parking, connected indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal), voted best outdoor lounge in Rhode Island - see web site. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive overnight packages available - Twin River Casino Package, Ultimate Dining Escape, Family Splash Package, Romance packages, Martinis & Manicures spa package, Golf Challenge , etc Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. Completely renovated lobby - New Marriott Greatroom - and all new meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Providence Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.