We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for convenience and customer service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Weybosset Street, Providence, RI 02903 (Downtown Providence)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points!
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Providence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bear, Delaware
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel for convenience and customer service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed this Hampton Inn. Close enough to walk almost anywhere in the city, including Providence Place. Room and bed both very comfortable and the shower was perfect. We had a corner king room which had a pullout sofa, mini fridge and microwave. Morning breakfasts were nice, and all of the staff was friendly (with special shout out to the fantastic valet guys). Will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPVDWY, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
The Hampton Inn has the "Cloud 9" beds and I'm pleased you loved the comfort of it as much as we do! Thank you so much for your review; come back soon! I know that you have many choices when coming to Providence, and I'm glad that like so many other people that come to Providence, you prefer to stay with us! We look forward to your net stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    139
    33
    2
    3
See reviews for
159
93
27
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was staying in Providence for a week-long conference at the convention centre so chose the Hampton Inn as it had good reviews, while still being only a 5-10 minute walk from the conference and the Amtrak rail station.

My room was a decent size, with a very large and comfortable bed, large bathroom with excellent shower and a fairly decent wifi connection (although it was slow at peak times in the evenings). Breakfast was the standard Hampton-Inn buffet, so I stuck to the Granola and yoghurt to play it safe as the hot food never looks that appetising. It's a shame, as a slightly improved breakfast would really make this hotel a really nice package.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPVDWY, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during the convention! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and I want to let you know that we now offer a few upgraded hot breakfast items as well. We have the "make your own waffles," which are fresh and delicious and we have also added freshly made oatmeal each day. We hope you come back and try these additions, as our guests are very pleased with them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hampton Inn in downtown Providence on October 17th & 18th and were very pleased with the experience. We usually avoid chains, but this Hampton was in a renovated 1920's building in a safe, walkable area of town. We had a corner room with two exposures and windows that opened for fresh air. We overlooked the front of the hotel on Weybosset St. which had an interesting city view with very little street noise. Our room had a king-sized bed, upholstered easy chair and ottoman, a work desk with ergonomic chair and bar area with a mini fridge and sink. The bath was well designed with the necessary amenities and was spotless. Most importantly, there had been zero reports of bed bugs which are still endemic in many places. The room for two nights with tax (very high in Providence) was $524.00 which included $25.00 a night for valet parking. The breakfast area adjacent the the small lobby was a grand, old art deco style room with high ceilings and lovely windows. They offer a self service hot buffet breakfast which was excellent -- bacon or sausages, waffles, fresh fruit, pastries and friendly staff to assist, plus the local papers. Even though the front desk staff were very busy, they were also most helpful to us tourists. In the late afternoons they put out fresh baked cookies which was a nice touch and offer free Wi-fi in the rooms. We walked to a few blocks west to find a hip little neighborhood on Westminster Street with good local restaurants (Tazzo) and interesting shops with a lot of creative energy. Directly across the street from the hotel was a fine little hair salon (Impulse Hair Design) whose staff welcomed me as a walk in and made me quite at home. From A-Z we had a fine stay in this historic old city.
Suzanne McIntosh, Williamsburg, VA

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up for a more encompassing city view. This hotel fills ups regularly with event...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPVDWY, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are so pleased that you had such a great time! It's great that you were able to enjoy our central location and the restaurants and hair salon, as many of our guests do daily. We look forward to having you back soon, and if you are in the MA or Newport, RI area, please try our owner's other hotels, The Hampton Inn Raynham, and The Hampton Inn & Suites Middletown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we just got back from a hurricane sandy relief from no power weekend and the Hampton inn was a wonderful place to enjoy providence. The staff is excellent and will do everything to make sure you are comfortable and happy. The location is great for walking to many of the attractions and shopping in providence. The breakfast gives you a good start on your day. The rooms are modern and clean so no worries there. Stay here and you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: corner rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPVDWY, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are thrilled you stayed with us and trusted us to take care of you when you had no power! I am confident in my staff to take care of all our guests under any circumstances, and I am glad you were put at ease during a tough time. Our hotel was extremely prepared for the worst, but luckily, Sandy didn't have much of an affect on our hotel. Thank you kindly for filling out this review and please come back under better circumstances. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel during the time Hurricane Sandy was approaching. This hotel is in a great location to downtown. Walking places is very easy - downtown and up the hill to the Brown University area, etc. It is also in a great location to get onto the highway and travel to other places - Newport, etc. We had one day, when the hurricane approached the area. On this day we spent most of the day and evening holed up in the room. Everything in Providence was closed until the weather passed. During that time, the hotel management was very nice and had hot water for tea/cocoa, and hot coffee available all day. They even provided some fresh baked cookies - which don't last very long. The hotel provides breakfast everyday, but nothing for lunches & dinners. Since everything was closed for the day - shops/restaurants, etc.- the hotel has a refrigerated/freezer area where you can buy a frozen pizza, dinners, ice cream bars and drinks. The staff will heat up the dinner/pizza for you, so if you were hungry that day, you would not go hungry. The day passed by with just high winds and rain, with no flooding in the city. The staff were very professional about everything and tried to make the stay as pleasant as possible. The room was very clean and quiet and if we needed anything, they were happy to get it for us. We have stayed in several Hampton Inns and each one is different. This one was very nice and would stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed higher up in a corner room. They have more windows, which makes things much brighter - es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPVDWY, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for writing this review! We are glad you made it safely through the hurricane with us. We took extra special care of all our guests, as we knew people were uncertain as to the outcome of Sandy to our area. We took all precautions and made sure we were prepared in case of an emergency. Safety and security are top priorities, as well as making our guests comfortable and relaxed! Please come back and stay with us whenever you come to Providence and if you are interesed in other Hampton Hotels that our owner has, please visit Raynham, MA if you are traveling and need to be close to Boston but don't mind staying outside of the city (and not deal with the city prices!!) or you can try our Middletown location, just a stone throw from Newport, RI. Our ownership is meticulous and all of our properties reflect our attention to detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights as part of our tour around New England. Providence itself is a cool town and the hotel is within easy driving distance of Newport and Cape Cod. It's an old bank which gives it a quirky feel. This is the third time I've stayed at a Hampton this year and have to say we are very impressed with the brand. We chose here over the HIlton as it was in a more central location. Our room was great, breakfasts really good and all the staff extremely helpful (Spencer on the front desk is a star). Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPVDWY, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
It's great to hear that you enjoy the Hampton brand and especially our hotel! We are a top choice in Providence over many hotels including the bigger full service hotel, because we offer so much! Our central location seemed to work well for you and I am very glad you enjoyed the hospitality that our staff provides! I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Spencer. We look forward to having you back when you return to Providence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

This is my 2nd time staying at this Hampton Inn and both experiences were great! The rooms are clean, comfortable and large. The breakfast is better than averge and the breakfast attendent is very helpful and friendly. The front desk clerks were courteous, friendly and professional. We really appreciated the complimentary 24 hour coffee and tea in the lobby. But the best thing about this hotel is it's location; a 10 minute walk to Brown University, a 10 minute walk to Providence Place and less than 5 minutes to Water-Fire!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPVDWY, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and the proximity to everywhere you could possibly need to go in downtown Providence! It sounds like you had a great time seeing our beautiful historic city and just in case you did not know, our hotel has won awards for the conversion we did when we opened our hotel, as it was a former bank from the early 1900's. The RI Historic Society protected the building as it is a very historic building in the city of Providence. We preserved the architecture and charm of the original building and combined it with all the comforts our guests love from the Hampton brand. Our Hampton is very unique and not like most others, as we have beautiful cathedral ceilings with crown molding and gold leaf inlay and marble floors. It is worth the trip, as you know, and we look forward to your return when you come back to Providence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown

Address: 58 Weybosset Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Providence
#1 Family Hotel in Providence
#2 Business Hotel in Providence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown is Providence's newest hotel and we are the only hotel in downtown to offer a free hot breakfast buffet. We are located in the heart of the financial district and are in walking distance to Providence Performing Arts Center, Providence Convention Center, Dunkin Donuts Center, Brown University, Johnson & Wales, RI School of Design, Providence Place Mall, Waterfire, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Providence Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown Hotel Providence
Hampton Inn Providence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.