We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern chain hotel in refurbished historic building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Weybosset Street, Providence, RI 02903 (Downtown Providence)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
upstate NY
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice modern chain hotel in refurbished historic building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We found this Hampton Inn by accidentally driving into the parking lot behind it, on the canal side of the building. Happy mistake! The fee for 24 hours of parking in this private lot is $15 instead of the $25 the hotel charges, and it's not valet. We were able to access our car easily for the things we needed for our business meetings.

This hotel is vertical, instead of horizontal like the suburban Hampton Inns, and has a beautiful old stone and brick facade. The public areas also have some remnants of the old building that this hotel is in, and it's very charming. The breakfast area is in the main large space on the first floor, as well as a small comfortable sitting area.

We had a neat small room on a high floor, facing the water, with a king-size bed. Very comfy, too, with smooth clean white sheets and duvet cover. I didn't like the overly stuffed pillows, though, because I can't sleep with my neck so vertical. The rug was clean, there was a desk with chair (unfortunately the height adjustment was stuck in the lowest position), and another armchair in the corner. The heat worked well, and the thermostat was easy to control but the system was very loud at times. Other than that, the room was very quiet.

The bathroom is nicely tiled, with plenty of towels and toiletries. There was a walk-in shower with sliding doors. No complaints here.

There was good and free wifi, a full breakfast with lots of choices was included, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Next time we're in Providence we'll gladly stay here.

Room Tip: High floor for good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    184
    44
    4
    7
See reviews for
217
115
34
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We travel to Providence frequently to see our daughter at Brown University. We have stayed at most of the hotels in this city in the last three years. This one has, by far, the best service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Comfortable, historic, lovely, friendly! We stayed one night and wished we would have booked a longer trip. Providence is a great place with lots to see and do (and many more places that we would have liked to try for food and drinks!) We fell in love with this hotel instantly - it is charming and warm, and we had a great night's sleep. We are planning a return trip soon. We even forgot how aggravated we were with the traffic on I95 for the ride up - now that's a perfect hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, FL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed at this property 4/2-5/2012 on business. The location is within walking distance to many restaurants and coffee shops and it's a pleasant walk because the downtown area is so quaint. It's very safe (as my cab driver told me from the airport). I found out after checking that the hotel offers a very reasonable shuttle service to and from the airport so I took advantage of the $10 shuttle to go to the airport on 4/5.

Room: I had room 701 it is a corner room with a great view of the building used for the "Daily Planet" during filming of the original Superman TV series. The room is large and lighting in the bathroom is great (I like a bright vanity for make up and hair). The downside is that there was just a shower, no tub - but the shower was oversize which was very nice.

Food: The hotel does not have a restaurant, but offers a happy hour (cash bar) and complimentary small plates one night a week. They do have a complimentary continental breakfast each morning and coffee is available 24 hours a day.

Parking: valet

Room Tip: If you want a tub be sure to request one ahead of time - they have a limited number of rooms with ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagoya
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Excellent value & convenient location near transport, universities & shopping made Hampton Inn pretty ideal. No views but quiet, clean room. Also liked the friendly staff, free breakfast, local calls & wi-fi. Would stay here again happily.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

One of the reasons we chose this hotel was for the Serta beds because of our back issues but they were VERY UNCOMFORTABLE. Otherwise, our king suite with mini-fridge and micro was very clean and spacious. Close to Roger Williams Zoo and Federal Hill. Many restaurant's within walking distance but most are pricey.
Would be great place to stay during the summer to see the canal WaterFire bonfires.

Room Tip: ask for quiet room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philly
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Friendly staff and clean room. Close to Avis & Enterprise Rentals. Gourmet Heaven provides healthy food options a couple blocks away. Small amount of second hand smoke from smoking rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown

Address: 58 Weybosset Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Providence
#2 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown is Providence's newest hotel and we are the only hotel in downtown to offer a free hot breakfast buffet. We are located in the heart of the financial district and are in walking distance to Providence Performing Arts Center, Providence Convention Center, Dunkin Donuts Center, Brown University, Johnson & Wales, RI School of Design, Providence Place Mall, Waterfire, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown Hotel Providence
Hampton Inn And Suites Providence Downtown
Hampton Inn Providence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.