We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Providence River

Providence River
Providence, RI (Fox Point)
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 63 Attractions in Providence
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: River running by Providence's popular Waterplace Park and Riverwalk.
Paragould, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The river was lovely. The promenade along the river is a peaceful relaxing walk. We were blessed with excellent weather.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    25
    8
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Seen from car”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Parked near the river (Benefit St.) and drove near the river on our way to Boston. Seems like there has been a lot of clean up and beautifying of this area to make it more pedestrian friendly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice area for a walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

a lot of work has been done to the river area and there is a comprehensive walkway which apart from being scenic is a good shortcut to the state building and mall.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
732 reviews 732 reviews
374 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
“Adds some class and scenery to Providence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

That title isn't meant to be derogatory, since Providence has plenty of class and scenery without the river, but the river still enhances the experience of touring the city and provides a nice place for strolls. I took a walking tour of the city that passed across and around the river quite a bit, and that made the walk all the more pleasant. There really isn't any spot on it that you can point to and say, "That's the place I was looking to see when I came to visit the river!", but walking along its banks is still a nice and memorable experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Uk
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

It was a glorious day - but a freezing cold day when we visited, so didn't hang around long. Having said that, the river is lovely place to walk and I imagine that in the middle of the summer it would be beautiful place to sit and relax and watch time go by.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Providence River also viewed

 

Been to Providence River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Providence River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.