We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent school and campus.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown University

Brown University
1 Prospect St, Providence, RI 02912 (College Hill)
401-863-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 63 Attractions in Providence
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: University located in Providence.
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent school and campus.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Nice clean campus, Students are laid back and nice. Plenty of restaurants and stores nearby. Near downtown Providence.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    35
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syosset, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Impressive University”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I visited Brown University with our son for the "Accepted Students Weekend" Of course, I do not have to go into what a great school they are academically! We really loved it alot - the school is a nice mix of a campus feel but within a small city. Area was very clean and seemed very safe. There was definitely a strong police presence which is great. Get ready for alot of walking if your visiting Brown - lots of hills!! It just seemed like a great college campus. State of the art swimming pool and big gym. Dorm rooms were actually a nice size for a "dorm room" the hallways were nice and bright. My son said the showers were very clean. My overall feeling was the students there seem genuinely happy and very relaxed. We spoke to alot of students and it was unanimous, everyone loves it there!! No wonder they are voted the happiest ivy league students!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Campus - Avoid the Dining Commons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were here for a Campus Tour. Our tour guide met us promptly at 3pm. She was energetic and proud of her school. The campus is beautiful and well worth a visit if you are in the area. It was easy to walk to from our hotel in the downtown area. I felt very safe with our group of high school students and loved the sense of history at the university and the surrounding areas.

We had dinner at the dining commons. I wouldn't recommend it. It was sadly in need of an update to the 21st century. I would be surprised if it had been remodeled or changed in 40 to 50 years.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited this campus as the students, pulling their luggage, were returning from Spring Break. A delightful area in which to walk and admire the historic buildings.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“College tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very limited parking! Visitor's parking lot is a few blocks away from visitory's center and costs $3/hour! So if you come from a place where parking is generally plentiful and free, this will be an adjustment. I understand the parking enforcers are quite strict as well. Two hours limit on any one time per block. (i.e.. you cannot just move one spot up. you must actually leave that block after two hours!)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown University also viewed

 

Been to Brown University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.