We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising collection of old homes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benefit Street

Benefit Street
Providence, RI (College Hill)
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 136 things to do in Providence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A mile of history is packed onto this cobblestone street lined with historic buildings. The Nightingale-Brown House, built in 1792, home to five generations of the Nicholas Brown Family (of Brown University) is a "must see" on the block.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprising collection of old homes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

For a pleasant and relaxing day, walk this street full of houses from the 1750's on. Views over the city can also be enjoyed. An easy and interesting place to wander.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    36
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“I liked it !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We walked only about for 20 minutes down the Benefit St and it was peaceful and quiet area. Narrow street with beautiful small houses and historical buildings. You will find restaurants and lounges along Benefit street but they don't open until 5pm. That part was really weird cause I don't understand how come people don't eat breakfast nor lunch?:))) anyway it's was well worth strolling down the street.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“This is a Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We only had a short time to quickly absorb some of the history and culture of Providence. We decided to do the Rhode Island Historical Society's walking tour of Benefit Street.

We met at the Brown House, where we signed up and paid the small fee. There was one other couple on the tour with us.

The tour guide was extremely pleasant and happy to answer any questions. She gave us a lot of information about Benefit Street and the history of Providence, from the original founding of the city.

The highlight for us was the Athanaeum library.

We would strongly recommend this to any new visitors to Providence.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Houses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you like Colonial architecture, you should see Benefit Street. House after charming house, each with its own unique features. While other cities have some colonial houses, this neighborhood gives you an idea of what those others once were. A bpnus if you are a reader of American Literature: Sarah Helen Whitman's house and H.P. Lovecraft's shunner house. Too bad neither of them are open to visitors -- but on the other hand it is wonderful that it is still an actual neighborhood.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Historic Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Parked here for a two hour visit of Providence...I thought I was going to roll back down the very steep hill in my automatic car but once we parked on Benefit we enjoyed our short walk of the area between here and the State Capitol Building. Quiet area in August...wonder what the streets are like in the winter!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Benefit Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benefit Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.