We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building, knowledgable guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State House

State House
82 Smith Street, Providence, RI 02903
401-222-2357
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 136 things to do in Providence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This imposing marble building houses King Charles' 1663 charter of the Rhode Island colony.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
1,129 reviews 1,129 reviews
601 attraction reviews
Reviews in 335 cities Reviews in 335 cities
582 helpful votes 582 helpful votes
“Beautiful building, knowledgable guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Tagged along on a school group tour. Guide was funny, knowledgable and kept kids' interest. We were able to visit both chambers and even sit at the desks of House members. Gorgeous building and furnishings. Library is superb. Everyone was really friendly. Put this on your to to list in Providence!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    43
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Smallest State with Stateliest State Huse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This impressive marble building with the 4th largest self-supporting dome is an incredible school field trip experience. My students loved the rotunda with the chandelier and state seal. Seeing the portrait of Washington by Gilbert Stewart, whose foot faces you no matter where you stand, wowed them. The guilded library, with spiral staircases leading to tiers of books upon books awed them. A civic experience by a State Rep. inspired them. She allowed them to sit in the congressional seats and do a mock vote on a bill she proposed, School uniforms. They will never forget that opportunity.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrissur, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It is a very historic building with a lot to see in and around. Very close to downtown Providence, the train station and the bus station and the mall. It's a nice place to walk around and learn a bit about the history of the place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting learning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was an interesting learning experience. The building has a lot of history! The architecture is beautiful! I would definitely recommend requesting a guided tour which is available Monday through Friday except holidays year around. There is no cost to tour the building, with or without the guided tour.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We are doing a tour across the states, visiting state houses of the states we visit. This state house is among my favorites. I got a real sense of the Rhode Island's importance in bringing religious freedom/freedom of thought to this country. I also learned that Rhode Island did not agree to sign the constitution because its citizens had more rights than afforded by the constitution. Among the interesting aspects of the state house: beautiful legislative library ceiling. Incredible sub-basement foundation that is built as a pyramid, unsupported dome, original founding charter with King Charles I's portrait.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State House also viewed

 

Been to State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.