We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fun having dinner at the bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ten Prime Steak and Sushi

Ten Prime Steak and Sushi
55 Pine St, Providence, RI 02903-2841 (Downtown Providence)
401-453-2333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ten Prime Steak and Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #94 of 732 Restaurants in Providence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Providence
Cross street: Peck Street
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great fun having dinner at the bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I sat at the bar for dinner before a show last week. Great service, the steak melted in your mouth. also everyone should try the wagyu steak appetizer which you sear yourself on a heated lava rock. Sushi is top grade also. Even the valet was great and let us keep our car there while we went to the show down the street. I know people are gonna say it is expensive. Yes it is but not compared to any other top steak restaurants in the area. Definitely worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great desserts, steak ok, sushi not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Overall, the best thing about Ten is the ambience and their desserts (soufflé and wedding cake). The steak is good, the sushi is really average and not their forte. It's a little off the beaten path, especially not on a work night, so the area is relatively dead on a weekend night (easy parking, but eerily quiet).

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but not quite as good as in the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Went with friends and did have a great dinner but it was not without it's glitches... so it gets 4 stars instead of 5. We did place our orders in stages as some of us were ready to order a beverage right away while others wanted to look at the menu first. The majority of them them were service/server related (forgot to bring one of the cocktail's ordered, forgot to put in one of the appetizers ordered). As far as the food goes, it was almost all great with two exceptions... when choosing between the bone in filet mignon and the regular cut, the bone in was recommended by the server but frankly it seemed a little less buttery and had a little more sinew than the regular cut. Speaking of the regular cut, one of the diner's steak was a little lopsided in how it was cooked. One side was rare as ordered but the other half was easily medium rare to medium.

A couple standout dishes though... the beet carpaccio salad was wonderful. The sushi (spider roll) was excellent as usual - great wasabi here! and the Wagyu appetizer which they serve by bringing raw pieces which you sear at the table on a hot rock is really a standout.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Chocolate souffle to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I went with a group of friends. The food was good and the place has a cool ambiance. Get the chocolate souffle for dessert. Sooo yummy!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
providence, ri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Didn;t get what I ordered!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

ordered meat well done and it was served rare. By the time I received it the second time, my husband was through with his meal. Haven't been back since. Steak houses should know how to cook meat to please the customer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ten Prime Steak and Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ten Prime Steak and Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.