We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location makes this quirky hotel a winner.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Stanley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stunning location makes this quirky hotel a winner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I recently broke a month long work visit to Denver by taking a short break at the Stanley. Estes Park is an absolutely beautiful place at the entrance to the Rocky Mountain National Park and the Stanley, high on a hill overlooking the township, is the dominant building in the area. The hotel is quirky with Stephen King's "the Shining" reputedly inspired by the hotel. The furnishings around the hotel are very good. The rooms are not large but are adequate and the bathroom was a good size. Service is efficient but a little abrupt at times. This was particularly the case at the hotel's restaurant, "Cascades", where the service was adequate, if a little patronising. The food was good but probably not what would be expected given the prices.

However, any minor concerns about the hotel become irrelevant as soon as you look out any of the windows and take in the views of the awe-inspiring Rocky Mountains. This is good, rather than great, hotel but I would return tomorrow given half a chance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Glad to hear you were able to get a break from work and come visit us. It is quite the view from the hotel here! Thanks for the feedback on your stay as we are always striving to improve our service.

Thanks for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    344
    187
    102
    42
See reviews for
280
552
40
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

First of all, the scenery is gorgeous. The hotel is very impressive and in a great location. The rooms are quaint and charming. For the most part clean, although my son dropped a toy under the bed and it didn't look like it had been cleaned in years. Most of the employees were incredible warm and helpful even starting with making the reservation. I think the lady who made my reservation on the phone was named Lindsey, and she was SO kind and professional and took her time to help me and my family find the perfect room. She even gave great suggestions of where to go and eat in town (of course we took her suggestions and she was totally right!). The check in went smoothly and Lindsey even came out to greet us personally which was such a joy. She even gave my 4 year old a frisbee! The only complaint I had at all was when we checked out, there was a guest checking out next to us who had an issue with their bill, and the gentleman "helping" her was being very rude. I believe he kept telling her that he was the guest service manager, as it that gave him the right to talk down to a guest! Thank God we were checked out by the lovely red-headed lady who couldn't have been more polite.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am glad to hear you had a good stay and that the staff was able to take good care of you. These comments do go a long way in improving our overall service.

Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at the main building of the Stanley for a friends wedding. The grounds and the hotel are just lovely! The staff was polite but not overly warm (but as long as they aren't rude I'm fine). There are lots of interesting and beautiful pieces around the lobby because they clearly want to play up their role in The Shining (they even play it 24/7 in your room).

My only real gripe is that our room was located right next to a ghost tour stop. It was really awkward to be going in and out of our room for the Rehearsal dinner, ceremony, reception, and so on, and there would be 20 people standing right there. I feel that the staff should have at least mentioned it during check-in. It likely wouldn't have bothered me then (possibly even amused me).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for the comments about your recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and had fun at your friend's wedding. The tours are not suppose to stop on the guest floors for the reason stated, so we will make sure to follow up with all guides about that.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Ok, I admit up front I haven't yet seen "The Shining" (now I need to), but even without that connection, I enjoyed my visit! The hotel was in great shape for being over 100 years old. The room was small (understood for that age of hotel), but the bathroom was decent sized.

We took the ~1.5 hour "Night Ghost Tour"--that was a fun experience, and helped us get a bit of the history of the hotel, too (other types of tours are available, all for a fee)--and I think I see some orbs in my pictures!

The onsite restaurant did not have any open tables, but we went in later for drinks and dessert--they looked to have an impressive selection of alcohol, if that's your thing.

The concert hall was beautiful--plan your trip to include a concert (likely extra fee).

Room Tip: The fourth floor has the most ghostly visitors...room 217 also has more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Glad you were able to take a Night Ghost Tour and get some drinks in the restaurant. We do host Estes Park's Winter Music Festival here that features different classical musicians on Sunday, usually in the concert hall.

Hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at The Stanley for our 15 Year Anniversary, and the hotel & restaurant staff went out of their way to make it extra special. Dinner was excellent, and the Chef even prepared a surprise dessert to add a personal touch. We will definitely return to The Stanley - it is a wonderful hotel, with an amazing group of people who make it very memorable. There are also "resident elk" who walk around the grounds and are very "people-friendly" & photogenic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Congratulations on your 15th Anniversary! We are so glad you came to the Stanley Hotel to celebrate and happy to hear our chef made you a nice treat!

Thanks for the comments and we look forward to having you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Stanley. I have stayed at other historic hotels in the past and the Stanley definitely exceeded my usual historic hotel experience. We stayed Thanksgiving night when there was a lot of foot traffic in the lobby for the buffet. Despite being so busy, we found the staff to be very attentive and accomodating. We were pleasantly surprised to find that our room was large with a videostreaming compatible tv as well as a jacuzzi tub and windows that actually opened. (We stayed in 317 in the main hotel). We enjoyed spending the evening sitting on the large fromt porch watching the elk graze. We will definitely return. My only concern was that we were almost billed for a restaurant charge to our room that was not clearly not something we had purchased. The staff was quick to correct this when we contested it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Glad to hear you were able to enjoy your stay and have a good historic hotel experience. Watching the elk from the hotel is always a fun treat. I am glad to hear they were able to take care of your bill promptly too.

We look forward to having you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Lovely, beautiful, classy, excellent from the start to finish. And Thanksgiving Dinner was fabulous. Would love to do this again next year. So glad that Estes Park is open again after all the floods this Fall. It really is a magical place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for the feedback about Thanksgiving. Glad you enjoyed the Thanksgiving feast and had a good time at our hotel.

We look forward to having you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.