We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the "grand old hotel" I was expecting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not the "grand old hotel" I was expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

If you are visiting The Stanley for the ghosts our paranormal experiences you may be satisfied. It is old and a bit spooky looking. If you are expecting a grand old hotel in the tradition of The Grove Park Inn, Hotel del Coronado, or The Sagamore, you may be disappointed. I thought that's what I was paying for.

Our room was on the 4th floor in a dormer and was tiny. The bed was under the eaves and the person on that side of the bed had to be careful of the sloped ceiling. The bathroom was tiny as well. I once toured an old school where cloistered nuns had lived and the rooms reminded me of the sisters'rooms. Plus we sort of had to find our way from the parking lot across a ramp to a second floor door, then the elevator to the forth floor to our room. I did not figure out until the last day that there was a spa on site. I think they need a good marketing/customer service person. There also seems to be a lot of underutilized space, perhaps a hotel consultant could be of use.

The weather was unseasonably warm for October and our room was very warm even with no heat on. We kept our window open all day and night even when the evening temps dropped into the 30s. We were in the main building and I understand that the Lodge has been renovated. I did not go in there, maybe I should have. The main house seems to need a lot of renovation but perhaps that
would spoil the "spooky-ness". On the positive side, the rooms and hotel seemed clean and coffee in the basement shop was good.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay! These comments help us a lot with improving our product here and we are glad you shared with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    302
    155
    81
    36
See reviews for
239
478
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The best time in a quality hotel! The bar was so fun and the energy was great- the ghost hunting added so much to the visit.The room was nice and slept very well, the staff was helpful and Estes Park shops were nice. In addition the elk were in the front yard as well as the RMNP!

Room Tip: The fourth floor was alot of fun with lots of ghost energy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay! Glad to hear you had fun at the Cascades Whiskey Bar, ghost hunting and seeing the elk come up to the hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Gorgeous historical hotel. Absolute gem and they offer tours, so a day trip is a great idea. The hotel is also very popular and active for ghost hunting. They offer ghost hunting tours and Lisa Nyhart, the ghost tour director, is amazing. Definitely recommend this location for a tour - day or night.

Downside: overpriced, underwhelming rooms. Ok amenities. Terrible service, bar and food.

Had to call three times when booking the room because they never sent me a confirmation email. First two times they had lost my reservation.

We stayed five days for a paranormal/ghost hunting event. Bar tender (woman with black spiky hair) was rude & unhelpful. When I ordered chicken fingers, she couldn't comprehend what chicken fingers were, then tried to tell me they didn't have any. I asked the other bartender who said, "Of course we have those." Came back 20 minutes later to pickup the order and the first bartender had never placed the order. Later that night she made our drink with call whiskey after we had requested Jack, and tried to charge us for the Jack. Multiple event attendees also mentioned to us that they had overheard her making fun of the event and attendees with other patrons.

Food is overpriced and tries to be gourmet, but is just overdone. Nothing normal on the menu at all. Cafe downstairs is absolutely atrocious. They were trying to pass off a slab of packaged flatbread bought at the Safeway and some lunchmeat thrown in the microwave as a gourmet sandwich. I've attached a picture of the sandwich to this review. Really embarrassing.

There was ice on the back patio for two days and it was never marked or salted. It looked like a puddle. I fell, and saw three other people fall on it as well.

Overall touring experience was absolutely amazing. Just don't recommend staying or eating here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay. I am glad to hear you had fun doing the paranormal investigation with Lisa! She is a great part of the team here. I was disappointed that the Cascades restaurant and the rest of your stay did not go as expected. Please feel free to email me directly at jfreitas@stanleyhotel.com to discuss further.

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

From the moment we checked in we received excellent guest service. It was a family trip and we made sure to see as much of the property as well as the town as possible. The tour guides we had made the history of come to life and we decided Hannah is now part of our family. Every member of the staff went out their way to make us comfortable. This is definitely a trip our family will be taking again.

Room Tip: Come ready for good times and explore the town of Estes, you will find great people and even better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay! Glad to hear you had fun on your tour and Hannah is a party of our family, so you can all be part of the Stanley family, now. We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Ohio, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Well I must admit we went at a bad time. Right after the flooding and when the gov shutdown, so the park was closed. Most shops and restaurants were closed. So we expected to feel welcomed at least in the hotel. Service was poor, we had to manage our own suitcases up four flights of stairs. Our bathroom was dirty and we were ignored when we asked for it to be cleaned. The menu served in the dining room was limited and when we asked the hostess what they were serving she shrugged and said take a seat and ask somebody else. The waiter seemed harried and forgetful. Brought us the wrong dessert after a very long time. On the third night we stayed in a haunted room. I must say, Andre at the front desk was very helpful in our moving rooms. He was very polished and gracious in an way we would expect from a fine hotel. Also the girls at the cafe were helpful and nice. Lord Dunraven did appear in our room and made the third night stay enjoyable. Upon checkout I was over charged by $750! The girl at the desk would not listen to my protest, it took the manager on staff to undo the several mistakes on my bill.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. This is definitely an experience that should not happen when inquiring about tour bookings or staying at our hotel. Please contact me directly at jfreitas@stanleyhotel.com. My name is Jesse Freitas, Guest Services Manager and I would be happy to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Having stayed at The Stanley a couple of times with good results I encouraged my sister, who was coming in from out of state, to stay there. It was her birthday and I was sure it would be a delightful time. In spite of the fact that we had to take an extra hour to get there from Colorado Springs, I was still positive. Then when we got ready to check her and her husband in, the fun began. First of all, there were three front desk clerks and a couple of them (one in particular) seemed as if he weren't having the best day at work. We got lucky and got the friendlier of the three. Unfortunately, he also seems to have turned out to be the least competent. He checked her in and gave her the room key. We went up to the room, she opened the door, and found someone else's possessions on the bed. Nice to know that when you check into a hotel your possessions are secure behind closed doors - at least until the front desk gives someone else a key to your room! So we went back down and they got another room. Then we asked about booking a tour for the next morning, as there was one scheduled at 11 a.m. which is is checkout time. We were told that there were plenty of spots so she should wait until the next morning to book the tour. When she went the next day to book the tour she found out there was only one spot left for the two of them, so my sister and brother-in-law didn't get to go on the tour thanks to the front desk clerk. There was a wedding party at the time and we got the royal brush off and I completely believe that he just didn't want to take the time to book the tour for us because he was too busy. I'm extremely disgusted and disappointed with this behavior. While I may not have been bringing a whole wedding party to the hotel, I am a local and have been there multiple times and have intended to return again, but now I'm not so sure.

Room Tip: They don't give you a choice of rooms but all I can say is you may want to think twice about tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay! I am very disappointed to hear about the chain of events that occurred during your stay. Please email me directly at jfreitas@stanleyhotel.com to discuss further.

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had booked our 1st anniversary weeks before the Colorado floods. We were a little hesitant, but decided to spend it in Estes anyways. Amazing - the staff, the hotel, the food. You would have never known what that little town had gone through. Hotel was gorgeous and do not miss out on The Cascades restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay! So glad you still decided to come and had a good time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.