We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grande Dame of Estes Park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Excelsior, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Grande Dame of Estes Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

From the outside as you drive up, amazing. I could not help but get excited envisioning a glamorous overnight stay at this historical landmark. The lobby and the welcoming front desk did not disappoint. Before going up to our room we attempted to make dinner reservations to no avail. Once arriving to our room I must confess to a bit of disappointment. The room was spacious and comfortably appointed, if somewhat "tired" feeling. The bathroom was small and dated and its usage was a bit awkward for 2 people. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Try and get a spot on the front porch for cocktails, the view is spectacular!!!
Please sign up and take the tour, super interesting and fun!

Room Tip: shoot for a room on the second floor centrally located over the lobby, they are cooler and have an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, I am very happy that our staff provided exceptional service. You are correct, our tour department does a fantastic job. We appreciate your feedback, thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    426
    315
    164
    84
    39
See reviews for
252
497
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully restored. Unfortuneately very noisy. During our stay maintenance was spray washing the building at 10:30 pm right outside our window. And construction noise at 7:30 am. But breakfast was super yummy - fresh & delightfully simple.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for visiting us this summer, we appreciate your business very much. We look forward for the opportunity to host you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is interesting because of the whole Stephen King thing, although they play so much on that. It is a really nice historic building that has some interesting history. The tours were fun and entertaining. Now for the negative...No air conditioning! We stayed there in aug. and it wasn't terrible but I would have definitely used it had it been available. The really negative thing was their dinner service. Their dining room filled up pretty quickly and they stopped serving dinner outside at 7:00!!! They were turning several people away, including us at 7:03! It was beautiful under their canvas covered seating and yet they wouldn't let people eat there. What was really frustrating was we stood at the place where the hostess stands and several of the waiters and waitresses walked right past us and never acknowledged us. The bar tender working outside at the bar tried not to look at us! It would have been nice had they told us they were closed outside.
Then we were told we could get a pub menu if we ate in the bar at their tables, but there were very few tables. They told us that we could get a full menu if we ate AT the bar but not at the tables right behind us IN the bar area!?! We were tempted to order our food at the bar and take it to a table behind us, but decided we'd be good.
Another negative was how busy it is. When we checked in the man helping us was stressed and didn't give us all the information the other people checking around us did.
They have a beautiful porch but in my opinion they don't utilize it well. They should have waitresses walking around taking drink orders, especially since their bar fills up quickly with people trying to get a full menu for dinner.
For what we spent on our room we felt they lacked some of the perks that are usually standard at other hotels of this stature.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, I have shared your comments with our food and beverage team so that we may provide better service and support for our guests. We absolutely appreciate your business and are happy that you shared your vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

From the outside, the Grande Dame of Estes still looks glorious. Beautifully manicured grounds, stunning views, crisp paint jobs, the Stanley is as beautiful as ever. The lobby is lovely, the restaurant was great, and the food and service we received during a wedding reception there was amazing!

We were there during the first weekend of August, and it was very warm outside. The lobby felt refreshingly cool as did the restaurant.

We rented a suite, room #402, for four of us (2 adults, 2 teen girls). It had one double bed in the bedroom, and a pull-out couch in the living area. The room, according to the thermostat, was hovering in the low to mid 80's the whole time we were there, despite having an oscillating fan and two overhead fans blowing, plus both sets of windows open. It was miserable.

Add to that the bathroom experience, and it became nearly unbearable. The sink was just a pedestal, so there is no place to put toiletries. There's no exhaust fan, so upon showering the steam and aforementioned heat turned the entire unit into a Brazillian rainforest. The floor tiles were broken in spots, and the grout was crumbling around the floor and sticking to our feet. The tub faucet had a steady stream leaking from it.

None of the doors in the unit closed / latched properly, so they would blow open at inopportune times, and the door handle to the bathroom was loose. You can tell that they've tried to patch up the neglected areas of the room, but have not done a complete overhaul in a long time.

My girls complained that the sofa bed was very uncomfortable, but, although tiny, our bed in the master was very comfy.

It's just too bad that the rooms don't keep up with the rest of the hotel. This could have really be an amazing experience then.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, and am happy that you had an enjoyable time at your wedding. Thank you for providing your room number as we have fixed the minor issues; we are in the process of updating our bathrooms, albeit a slow process. I am happy to see that our staff was accommodating during your visit; thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuero, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I will not say that I did not enjoy this hotel because I did. Certainly not for the sleep quality but for the historic significance it has in the area. The porch was the best thing about it..if you could get a seat to enjoy the view. The room we had a King was very large ..the bed linens were top notch, the bed was not.....Old hotels have had much done to them to keep up with safety and building codes..I do realize the effort that it must take to keep these old structures in use. What I don"t understand is that why simple things that could make the place much better are not done. Such as:
Putting an escutcheon on the WC water supply line, fixing the grout in the tile, matching the faucets (at least in finishes) perhaps oiling the old furniture so the dust does not settle in the cracks. These are little inexpensive cosmetic things that would make the "Old girl" look a little more elegant.
The staff was nice and they did give me a complementary upgrade on my room and I do very much appreciate the effort. We were there during a rainy time and we were not hot.
Skip the Cascades Restaurant....Our food was not good.

Room Tip: If it is hot go with a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, we appreciate your time providing feedback. You make some great suggestions in your review. I am happy to see that our staff was accommodating and you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I have traveled all over the world, but rarely have we experienced the type of exceptional personal service that we received by so many members of the Stanley Hotel staff.

Here are a few examples:

At our first night's dinner we discussed a hike that we were planning to do the next day with our server, April. The hike (flattop mountain -which I highly recommend) takes about 5-6 hours, so we knew we would need an early start. What we did not know was that the trailhead parking lot (Bear Lake) fills very early and that if we did not arrive at the Park prior to 730/8am we were unlikely to get a parking spot. We also were unaware that the Bear Lake road is closed from 9am - 4pm for construction. April informed us of all of this pertinent information. Had we not known this, our next day would have been a nightmare. Instead, we used her info and had a perfect day.

We had planned to shop for hiking supplies the following morning (it was now 10pm). After speaking with April we realized that we would not have time to shop, buy a Park pass and get to the trailhead prior to the Lots being full/closed. So, we went to the front desk where we met Andras. Andras was able to get us a Park pass (same price as if we had waited on line to buy at the Park) and also informed us that the Safeway supermarket was only a 5 minute walk and was opened until midnight. Armed with this information, we walked to the Safeway and got our supplies.

So, if not for April and Andras, we miss out on the best hike of our vacation.

The dining room was also wonderful. The executive chef is superb and quite creative. Some of the dishes that we loved were the Shishito peppers, Duck sausage and kielbasa/spaetzle appetizers, and the rib eye and lamb entrees. To be fair, I did not love the "famous" meatloaf. To me it felt more like a giant pate than a true meatloaf.

The wine list is also superb in that it is very well balanced with a large number of relatively inexpensive wines of good quality and some higher end wines that were not excessively marked up from cost. We very much enjoyed getting to know John, who handles the wine program. He was extremely personable and very knowledgable about both the menu and the wines. The restaurant definitely deserves its Wine Spectator award of excellence.

Casey, one of the hostesses, also went out of her way to look after us during our stay -even going so far as to arrange the semi-private, wine room for a romantic dinner on our final evening at the Stanley.

I cant remember the last time that I stayed at a hotel and left my visit remembering the first names of so many staff that were SO helpful to us. The list could go on. Jeff at the front desk and Ryan at the outside bar also went way out of their way for us.

In terms of the rooms, we had a Mountain Deluxe King. These rooms are quite spacious with a big bathroom and plenty of drawers and closet space. They also have a nice view of the Park.

The only downside of the room is the lack of Air Conditioning. There were 2 portable fans in the room and a ceiling fan, so I cant fault the hotel. But, there were a few warm nights during our stay and even with the windows open and the fans running, it was a bit warm. But, this is a 100 year old hotel, so no complaints.

The only drawback of the hotel (for those looking for a quiet destination) is that it is extremely popular as a tourist destination for people taking "ghost tours". On our first day we were shocked at the volume of people pouring through the lobby. But, after that we hardly noticed, especially since most of the tourists are gone by 5pm, so if you are in the Park during the day, you don't notice too much. By our 3rd day, we actually found the whole "ghost tour" thing amusing.

In summary, the Stanley way exceeded our expectations and we look forward to our next visit. The management of this hotel deserves the highest marks for putting together, arguably, the best hotel staff I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Wow! This is the kind of review that makes me excited! All of the people you mentioned do a fantastic job, and some have only been in their positions a short while! I am thrilled that your stay was extraordinary, and have certainly shared your kind words with the entire team. Thank you very much, and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Love this classic hotel. When you drive up to the hotel it looks do majestic with the mountain backdrop. Of course everybody loves the fact that this is the hotel that inspire Stephen King to write the "The Shinning". The staff at the bar are super friendly and generous with the drinks. The food at the restaurant is pretty good. You can't beat the location of the hotel. The only thing I did not like is the fact that they have the coffee maker in the bathroom. I don't know how sanitary that is. It grosses me out to have it in the same place that, well you know...!?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, our bar team does a great job and are very accomodating. I am happy to hear that your trip was a success, and would love the opportunity to host you again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.