We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kissing Cowboy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Stanley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Kissing Cowboy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed at the Stanley hotel in February of 2013 for one night, opting to do the ghost package which included a mug, ghost doll, meter and a guaranteed haunted room. My husband and I were given the “Kissing Cowboy” room.- It’s said that a cowboy resides in this room and loves his women. Often kissing them goodnight- and when heard, he sounds like a cowboy. Stayed up until 4 am walking around the hotel, doing EVP’s in our room- hanging out in the hallway where little kids are said to be heard running up and down the halls. While awake, we didn't experience much- was able to get a few orbs in some photos and some sounds but I will tell you because the building is old, you hear EVERYTHING! In the winter time, you hear the pipes popping throughout the night and I’m not sure about the other rooms but we had a corner room on the 4th floor so the wind was super loud. All normal sounds you can expect in an old building. While sleeping, I decided to leave my cell phone on to record any sounds- later sound two very interesting things. 1. This loud whoosh sound appeared and then I said- someone just touched my leg. 2. Got a male voice saying “Hey, come on”- which it turns out was the same EVP that Aaron from the Ghost Adventures captured.
Besides the above, the hotel is simply beautiful! It’s kept very nice and clean- the lobby is very relaxing at night when the fireplaces are going. If you have a chance talk a walk/hike on the boulders to the left of the building. Such beautiful views!
Only downside that I had on this hotel was the cost. For one night plus the ghost package cost us over $400. This included, one room, mug, ghost doll and meter. That’s it. No breakfast the next morning or anything. The experience was nice but not worth what we paid. I’ll definitely visit again but one stay is good for me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your visit, we certainly appreciate your business. Your evening sounds quite creepy! I am happy that you had an enjoyable visit and accomplished what you were looking for! We would love the opportunity to host you again, we do run some great specials during our winter months, so be sure to check those out. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    365
    196
    104
    45
See reviews for
293
583
43
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were lucky enough to make a last minute reservation for one night because we were unsatisfied with our room at another hotel. The staff was so very helpful and let us check in early. Amazing views, fun place to stay. I will definitely be staying there again. Our room needed a little maintenance, but it wasn't too bad for a 100 year old Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, and we were pleased to be able to accomodate you in the final hour! We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had stayed at the Stanley before for a wedding, but this time we were just "regular" guests--and it was still amazing. The hotel is stately, historic, and stunning with unusual features, fun nooks-and-crannies, and views that fill every room. The rooms each have a distinct personality and I have yet to see two that are the same. Vintage photos of the grounds (and guests) are beautifully presented in each room and the old-school windows open wide to let the fresh mountain air in. Comfy beds and cushy chairs are in each room and we even had a big, jetted bathtub in our bathroom! Gorgeous staircases, a brass elevator, and a tin-ceiling-and-agate whisky bar make this a place you will remember visiting. Oh, and then there is the mystique and charm of "The Shining" <grin> and the rumor that the hotel is haunted. Even more charming! Yes, it is an old hotel (and could maaaaybe use a tiny bit of scrubbing around the edges), but this is where you want to stay when visiting Estes Park and the Rockies... You really do.
But wait, there is even MORE... The meticulously maintained Manor House Lodge (adjacent to the main building) is now home to a very special chef-inspired dinner service! (Summer months on Friday and Saturday evenings) It is NOT to be missed and, if I lived closer, I would book regularly--it was spectacular in every detail. For $65 we had an impeccable farm-to-table dinner that included made-to-order cocktails, a fabulous amuse (house made corn tortellini, I had ~4 and had to stop myself), a gorgeous pickled striped bass and kim-chi appetizer, two well-composed main dishes (a tomato course that was outer-limits delicious and a meaty trio of local beef), and a scrumptious lemon-blueberry dessert. The wine pairings were carefully chosen and, while at an extra (quite reasonable) cost, were perfect accompaniments to the meal. So, would you rather go into town and have a slice of pizza or have a memorable feast at the Stanley Hotel? Trust me, you should go with the latter. Here is the website: http://www.stanleyhotel.com/dining/lodge-table-restaurant (Oh, and you may also want to consider staying in the boutique-y Lodge rather than the main hotel--it is right next door and *gorgeous* for only a few dollars more and you get breakfast!) Don't worry about the lack of AC, you won't need it with the cool mountain breezes.
The entire trip was a delight and I can't wait to go back again. What a charming place!

Room Tip: Don't forget to explore around--it is a neat place! See what you can find! Both sides of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting from the east, it was a pleasure dining with you! We appreciate your great feedback and kind words; I hope to see you for another tasty dinner soon! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kreamer
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here two nights in two separate buildings - both were outstanding! The history and ghost stories are intriguing and the views are amazing. The accomodations were exceptional. Overall, an excellent experience here.

Room Tip: Main hotel for history, Presidential suite for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, it sounds like you know how to travel in style! Our presidential cottage is great for privacy; thank you again for your business and we look forward to hosting you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to the Stanley Hotel over the 4th of July weekend. We stayed in Estes Park for the week and decided to end our last day in Estes Park at the Stanley. We loved the whole experience. We initially went up early and explored the hotel on the 4th to watch the fireworks over Lake Estes. The carnival was fun and fireworks were wonderful!

We stayed on a Sunday night and booked two rooms. We traveled with my mother-in-law, 4 kids, my husband and myself. We did book a history tour for the younger kids and a ghost tour for the teens. It was fun, but we did not experience anything paranormal. In regards to the rooms, no air, but we lucked out and it was a beautiful night out, so was not a big deal. We were on the second floor and did not experience anything, but we did get a chance to explore and we loved it there. I actually have to say I found the hotel very beautiful, peaceful and the staff was great.

If you get a chance, the bar in the hotel has an AWESOME bacon bloody mary drink.. must have!! And Jimmy, the mix-master, was awesome! The mom-in-law and I snuck away while my husband took the kids exploring, so we got a chance to have a few drinks in the evening and then were able to enjoy breakfast on the porch.

One last thing, no pool, so that was kind of a bummer. Hopefully it will re-open next time, but I thought I heard it was being filled in. Great hotel, lots of history and would definitely go again. Yes, it is a little pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your great review and kind words. The town put on a fantastic firework display, and our team had a great time hosting the July 4th carnival. You are correct, Jimmy is a gem! Next time, you will have to have him teach you about our 579 whiskeys! Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel was beautiful, definately old but kept up very well. The restaurant/bar in the main building was very lively the night we stayed, so it was a nice place to hang out instead of having to go into town. Walking down the halls totally reminded me of the movie "The Shining", probably because it was based off the hotel, but it was very creapy walking down the long hallways alone at night. We did not stay in one of the haunted rooms, but we definately felt and heard things throughout the night, very creepy. I love old scary hotels, so this one fit that to a T. I try and stay here everytime I make it to Estes Park just for the haunting experience alone.

Room Tip: Try and reserve a month or more early and try to get one of the haunted rooms. There are only 5 I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, we absolutely appreciate your return business! Our lounge is a great place to relax! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wonderful Old Hotel, with a great history and wonderful views. Just a few minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park. Great Beds and pretty good pillows for a hotel. It does not have a hot tub but if you go to the Stanley it is more for a step into the past. Beautiful part of the area, Has a wonderful tea time with snacks and such along with a very nice breakfast. A Bit Pricey but if you can afford a night well worth It! Just sitting on the porch and enjoying the mountains or the perfect breakfast with a view!!
P.S. The Shinning is always playing!!

Room Tip: The room did not have A/C but when we where there we did not need any, very comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting our property! You are absolutely correct that sitting on the front veranda is very relaxing, and great views! I am thrilled you had a great experience, and we would love to host you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.