We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Stanley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Kreamer
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here two nights in two separate buildings - both were outstanding! The history and ghost stories are intriguing and the views are amazing. The accomodations were exceptional. Overall, an excellent experience here.

Room Tip: Main hotel for history, Presidential suite for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, it sounds like you know how to travel in style! Our presidential cottage is great for privacy; thank you again for your business and we look forward to hosting you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    358
    194
    102
    45
See reviews for
289
570
41
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to the Stanley Hotel over the 4th of July weekend. We stayed in Estes Park for the week and decided to end our last day in Estes Park at the Stanley. We loved the whole experience. We initially went up early and explored the hotel on the 4th to watch the fireworks over Lake Estes. The carnival was fun and fireworks were wonderful!

We stayed on a Sunday night and booked two rooms. We traveled with my mother-in-law, 4 kids, my husband and myself. We did book a history tour for the younger kids and a ghost tour for the teens. It was fun, but we did not experience anything paranormal. In regards to the rooms, no air, but we lucked out and it was a beautiful night out, so was not a big deal. We were on the second floor and did not experience anything, but we did get a chance to explore and we loved it there. I actually have to say I found the hotel very beautiful, peaceful and the staff was great.

If you get a chance, the bar in the hotel has an AWESOME bacon bloody mary drink.. must have!! And Jimmy, the mix-master, was awesome! The mom-in-law and I snuck away while my husband took the kids exploring, so we got a chance to have a few drinks in the evening and then were able to enjoy breakfast on the porch.

One last thing, no pool, so that was kind of a bummer. Hopefully it will re-open next time, but I thought I heard it was being filled in. Great hotel, lots of history and would definitely go again. Yes, it is a little pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your great review and kind words. The town put on a fantastic firework display, and our team had a great time hosting the July 4th carnival. You are correct, Jimmy is a gem! Next time, you will have to have him teach you about our 579 whiskeys! Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel was beautiful, definately old but kept up very well. The restaurant/bar in the main building was very lively the night we stayed, so it was a nice place to hang out instead of having to go into town. Walking down the halls totally reminded me of the movie "The Shining", probably because it was based off the hotel, but it was very creapy walking down the long hallways alone at night. We did not stay in one of the haunted rooms, but we definately felt and heard things throughout the night, very creepy. I love old scary hotels, so this one fit that to a T. I try and stay here everytime I make it to Estes Park just for the haunting experience alone.

Room Tip: Try and reserve a month or more early and try to get one of the haunted rooms. There are only 5 I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, we absolutely appreciate your return business! Our lounge is a great place to relax! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wonderful Old Hotel, with a great history and wonderful views. Just a few minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park. Great Beds and pretty good pillows for a hotel. It does not have a hot tub but if you go to the Stanley it is more for a step into the past. Beautiful part of the area, Has a wonderful tea time with snacks and such along with a very nice breakfast. A Bit Pricey but if you can afford a night well worth It! Just sitting on the porch and enjoying the mountains or the perfect breakfast with a view!!
P.S. The Shinning is always playing!!

Room Tip: The room did not have A/C but when we where there we did not need any, very comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting our property! You are absolutely correct that sitting on the front veranda is very relaxing, and great views! I am thrilled you had a great experience, and we would love to host you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Stanley. The service was exceptional, and the overall experience was fun for our family. We didn't want to see any ghosts and we didn't, but did get a little spooked walking around the hotel. We stayed in the Heritage Suite and the room exceeded our expectations as it was very spacious and comfortable. The night we were there was fairly cool, so with the windows open the temperature was fine. Overall a wonderful experience and wish we could have stayed longer. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We appreciate you allowing us to play your host for your family, we would love to have another opportunity to do so! I am happy that you had a great time, thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We couldn't ask for a better experience in Estes Park. One of our favorite hotels on our 14 day trip. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfy. My husband took the tour and raved about it for hours.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our pet friendly room. You can take your dog to the outdoor eatery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, our pet-friendly Lodge is truly a great experience. Our tour staff does a fantastic job; we have many characters in that department! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very friendly staff. If you wish to sign up for a ghost tour do so ASAP as they are booked out quickly. Interesting museum in the basement. The food served in the garden restaurant is worth checking out, the same goes for the whiskey bar. The room we were assigned to was clean very spacious, maybe due to early booking (6 month in advance).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for visiting us from across the pond! I am very happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience, and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the future! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.