We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch of History and a Wonderful View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Stanley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Advance, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Touch of History and a Wonderful View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wonderful Old Hotel, with a great history and wonderful views. Just a few minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park. Great Beds and pretty good pillows for a hotel. It does not have a hot tub but if you go to the Stanley it is more for a step into the past. Beautiful part of the area, Has a wonderful tea time with snacks and such along with a very nice breakfast. A Bit Pricey but if you can afford a night well worth It! Just sitting on the porch and enjoying the mountains or the perfect breakfast with a view!!
P.S. The Shinning is always playing!!

Room Tip: The room did not have A/C but when we where there we did not need any, very comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting our property! You are absolutely correct that sitting on the front veranda is very relaxing, and great views! I am thrilled you had a great experience, and we would love to host you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    398
    211
    111
    48
See reviews for
310
637
45
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay at the Stanley. The service was exceptional, and the overall experience was fun for our family. We didn't want to see any ghosts and we didn't, but did get a little spooked walking around the hotel. We stayed in the Heritage Suite and the room exceeded our expectations as it was very spacious and comfortable. The night we were there was fairly cool, so with the windows open the temperature was fine. Overall a wonderful experience and wish we could have stayed longer. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We appreciate you allowing us to play your host for your family, we would love to have another opportunity to do so! I am happy that you had a great time, thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We couldn't ask for a better experience in Estes Park. One of our favorite hotels on our 14 day trip. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfy. My husband took the tour and raved about it for hours.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our pet friendly room. You can take your dog to the outdoor eatery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, our pet-friendly Lodge is truly a great experience. Our tour staff does a fantastic job; we have many characters in that department! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very friendly staff. If you wish to sign up for a ghost tour do so ASAP as they are booked out quickly. Interesting museum in the basement. The food served in the garden restaurant is worth checking out, the same goes for the whiskey bar. The room we were assigned to was clean very spacious, maybe due to early booking (6 month in advance).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for visiting us from across the pond! I am very happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience, and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the future! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed for three nights in mid July. First note of a problem is that I had to lug my baggage from my car to my room. Second note was no a/c in the rooms at all. Hot and muggy during the day and it took most of the night to cool down. Third note, ghost tours wandering around the hallways all day and early evening.

Rooms need new carpeting, bathroom fixtures, curtains and bedding.

Food was mediocre.

Overall, this is a place that stays in business simply because Stephen King wrote The Shining (or more accurately part of that book) while staying there. No other reason to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback, we appreciate you and the entire group for choosing to stay with us. I have shared your critique with the entire staff as this helps us improve our product and service, though disappointed that your stay fell below expectations. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We chose to end our trip to Estes Park by staying at the Stanley Hotel. It also happened to be our wedding anniversary so we thought it would be worth spending a little extra to celebrate. The building and grounds are beautiful with great historic charm. The rooms are decorated nicely with modern amenities - except for air conditioning. Although we had a ceiling fan and an oscillating fan on the desk and the window open, it still got very warm during the night. The continental breakfast was good and served beautifully but consisted mainly of pastries, yogurt, fruit and granola. We had our anniversary dinner at Cascades, their formal restaurant. The chicken dish sounded wonderful, but was dry. The ribeye steak was great, but we found everything needed salt, and we are not heavy salt users. The desserts were fabulous and helped to compensate for the less than satisfactory dinner (apple pie and tiramisu!). We paid to take the tour the next morning, but we changed our mind as we had a 12 hour drive ahead of us so decided we would forgo the tour and get on the road. Unfortunately the front desk has nothing to do with the tours and can't assist in making changes to reservations. We had to wait around an hour for the tour office to open to ask for a refund. Thankfully they understood and refunded our tour tickets. But it would sure be helpful if the front desk could assist with these matters. If you stay at the hotel, spend some time sitting on the front porch and taking in the lovely view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for spending your special day with us, we certainly appreciate your business, as well your time providing feedback. I have shared your comments with our entire staff, as we are continuously looking to improve. Should you wish to discuss further, I'd ask that you please contact me directly. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights during the peak season in July. All of the other "higher-end" options in the area had no vacancy so I was glad to find a room at all. The phone reservationist was very friendly and the front desk was pleasant and efficient as well. The only room available (410) was on the 4th floor, which had two desk fans and a ceiling fan running with all of the windows open - and it was still hot inside. I felt like I was sleeping in a noisy wind turbine. The Classic Queen room was small, the bathroom tiny (I am 5'4" and barely fit under the low showerhead) and for some reason a large walk-in closet. No fridge, no slippers, no robe, no air conditioning, no bellhop, this is not a luxury hotel. The hotel restaurant was a disaster when after a long and confusing wait, and multiple waitstaff saying "we need to ask the manager", the blonde hostess refused to seat us for dinner - even though half of the patio was empty and the entire lounge seating was unoccupied. They said the kitchen could not handle the restaurant's capacity. The manager, however, was quick-thinking in seating us and promptly apologizing for the confusion with a comped bottle of wine. We enjoyed our food there.
The property itself is conveniently located in town, impressive in size, and with fascinating history and turn-of-the-century charm. It is worth visiting and taking one of their popular ghost tours (it was sold out during my stay so book early during peak season) but the lack of temperature control and amenities would have me looking into staying at the Della Terra or Tahaara resort next time for a similar rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and your time providing your feedback. I am pleased to hear that our front office staff was accommodating, but disappointed to learn of your experience in our dining room. I am happy to discuss any opportunities further, and would like to thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.