We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HISTORIC CHARM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“HISTORIC CHARM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have been to the Stanley many times for ghost tours...etc. But this was our first time staying there. It was amazing. We booked a double queen room and when we arrived they upgraded us to a two room suite. There were two queen beds in one room and a sofa and chairs in the other room. The view was of the courtyard and the mountains. The room was gorgeous. There were nice ceiling fans. The bathroom was large...but did lack counter space.
All of the staff was amazing. Breakfast was great. We also went on another ghost tour.
The only negative was the heat. But I knew the Stanley was not air conditioned..and we picked a night when there was an unusual heat wave. SO we were really hot... There were also a few bugs...but I attribute that to having the windows open and the screens not totally fitting. There was a fan in the closet...but we did not see it until morning.
We had room 301. IT was right under 401...which is one of the supposedly more haunted rooms. At around 1:30a.m. we heard what sounded like a basketball being bounced. My daughter asked me...what was that? I said...oh...just some kid playing basketball. Then in the morning I thought about it....who was playing basketball at that time? AND oh....there also is no basketball court there. SO that was really weird. Plus we came back to the room one time and my daughter's phone had been moved.
LOVED staying here and hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite. It had lots of room and gorgeous furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback, it is always nice to hear how helpful our staff was during your visit. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you and your family again in the future. Thank you again for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    292
    150
    76
    35
See reviews for
230
468
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Beautiful historic hotel with a vintage charm and some amazing views set amongst the backdrop of the Rocky Mountain National Park. This hotel is full of history and the inspiration behind Stephen King's "The Shining". We had a very large room on the 3rd floor elegantly decorated with period antiques. The bathroom was modernized with a big Jacuzzi tub. Although said to be haunted, we enjoyed a nice relaxing weekend with an attentive staff and a relaxing feel. There is no air-conditioning in the rooms and can get a bit hot on higher temperature days but was very pleasant at night when the temp dropped into the lower 60's.

Room Tip: We had room 334 which is an extremely large corner room with a great cross breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit! You are correct that 334 is a great room, with stunning views. I am happy to hear you had an enjoyable visit and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

we visited the hotel because we were in RMNP and the draw of it being in the Shining... sad to say that I didnt know that the lounge in the movie wasnt even FROM this hotel...because that's what I was really looking forward to seeing..That would have cinched it for me... instead it was the "look" of the hotel ...even the grounds did not hold the mystery of the topiary maze... it wasnt there... So I delved into the historical qualities of the place.. the stanley steamer.. the amazing architecture. the history of movies that have had shots of the hotel and the famous that have stayed there.. Im not into Ghosts so I didnt do a tour..I was in search of something that did not get satisfied..I was just a tourist with an idea... .. Glad they had delicious ice cream in the cafe... Now THAT was worth the little excursion off the main rd..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great hotel, great history, great bar and restaurant, first class front desk staff. We stayed in the condos rather than the hotel itself (condos are on hotel grounds, marketed by the hotel as being part of the hotel, but owned, apparently, by private condo owners). We were dissappointed. they were Not super duper clean (black hair on the floor by the toilet -- Yuch), and maintenance problems/ crappy construction. When we arrived the refrigerator didn't work and there was a pool of water but at the foot of the refrigerator. We called maintenance and apparently the circuit breaker had tripped. Question: why did the maids not recognize this problem and fix it? More importantly, there was a malfunction in the hot water heater which was located in the closet in the common area that was poorly insulated. Throughout our second night in the condo, the hot water heater would go off every 10 or 15 minutes and make an incredible racket and then turn off after five to ten minutes. It turned into non-sleep all night and sleep deprivation torture for all of us. When we complained at the front desk it appeared as if this is a problem they had heard before they quickly offered (properly) to give us a partial credit, even though "the condo owner was responsible".
The condos are perfect for families (over a room), and we could have hit a lemon, but I am not so sure of this. Stay in the hotel proper, if it fits your space needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, I am pleased to hear that our staff was accommodating during your visit. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping team as this helps to improve our product and service. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Don't go during hot weather, Open windows and fans(a fan) do nothing for the heat. The Stanley really needs AC and is over priced without it. Full time staff is excellent. The seasonal staff so so.
Pass on the Ghost Tour which is really bogus. Without Steven King this would not be a $300 a night accommodation. Fun to visit but would not go back.
They should focus on History, the Stanley family and the Stanley Steamer not the ghosts. Really! If it is on your bucket list "do it" if not. don't. You may be disappointed! I was!

Room Tip: Go in the fall or winter I assume the heater works. Just too hot in the summer with no AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We appreciate your time providing your feedback, and thank you for your business. While understanding that ghosts are not for everyone, we do try to cater our Stanley tour to provide a comprehensive history of Stephen King, the hauntings, and the Stanley family. Although it wasn't available during your stay, we are currently developing a history only tour, which hopefully will further enhance our guest experience. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed there last weekend.
The staff were really great and bent over backwards to make us happy.
However having no AC was a killer and being on the 4th floor made it worse.
The temp at 10 pm with 2 fans going and window open was 82 and by 7am was 77.
Just not good for sleep.
The next day moved us down to 2nd floor but those rooms heated up as well just not as much.
Great old hotel but the lack of AC is a game changer.
Bar is fantastic with over 600 whiskeys!
Have breakfast in town cheaper and better.
Restaurant disappointing especially for price.
Beds were good if you could fall asleep due to the heat.

Room Tip: Below the 4th floor. 2nd best because can roll out bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to our property, I am extremely pleased that our staff was most accommodating. Our great selection of whiskey is a treat, and we do monthly educational tastings as well! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We reserved two nights in a suite category room. The Stanley's website is scant on room photos, room size stats, room descriptions. Now I can see why.

The "suite" was room1303 which was simply an oversized room in the annex building. A suite generally means a separate living room / bedroom. Decor was generic and unimpressive. The hotel exterior is gorgeous. The interior decor fails to match the exterior splendor of this gorgeous historic hotel.

Honestly I've stayed in better motel rooms. The "suite" for $300 + USD per night was a bad joke. No historical ambience, no decent artwork and generic furniture. A real sad disappointment.

Staff were friendly but a bit amateurish; many of them were seasonal workers. Restaurant staff were hopelessly slow and forgetful.

Arrival is a three star experience; a disaster for the prices charged at this property. You arrive and park at the back of the hotel. No bellman nor doorman. For a hotel of this caliber I expect a valet parking attendant, doorman or bellman if not all three. In short, I expect service when I pay a decent price. These are four star basics.

Worst of all was the lack of air-conditioning. This truly made our stay miserable. The room was 80 degrees. We moved to a one bedroom condo. It was also very hot but with all of the windows and doors open as well as a large fan in the door it reached 70 within a couple of hours.

The lack of A/C really is pathetic and indicative of the lack of commitment to guest comfort and service on behalf of the management / ownership of this property. It's 2013 and A/C is a basic for any four star property regardless of whether it is a historic property.

BTW - the condo units are much nicer and a better value than the hotel "suites". Although lacking any historic character, the condos are much more spacious and comfortable.

I found the Stephen King "Shining" movie and ghost connections to be irritating and pathetic. The hotel continues to milk the 1978 movie and theme for every dollar they can get out of it.

This is a beautiful hotel and provides a three star experience minus the A/C which makes it a miserable and overpriced two star experience.

AVOID THIS HOTEL unless you are enamored of the Stephen King "Shining" connection.

Room Tip: Pick a condo. They are modern and lack character but are much more spacious and quiet and cooler th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback; we certainly appreciate your time providing this as well as your business. I am disappointed that your stay fell below your expectations, and certainly your comments provide different perspective for improvement. Should you be traveling to Estes again, I'd ask that you reach out to me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.