We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Amenities Lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Stanley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Room Amenities Lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This isn't my first stay in a historic hotel so I know to expect amenities consistent with the time the hotel was built. The smallish double queen room would have been fine if they had provided adequate space for suitcases. The updated bathroom was a nice surprise but I also felt that not providing a hair dryer at this caliber of a hotel is unheard of.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and feedback, I am pleased that you had an overall enjoyable time. We do provide hairdryers in all of our rooms, and I apologize for this oversight. Thank you again, we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    365
    196
    103
    45
See reviews for
292
583
42
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We are Colorado Natives and have always wanted to stay at the Stanley. We were very impressed with the hotel. Enjoyed the ghost tours and stories. A great experience. We also booked months in advance so we didn't have to pay the summer rates.

Room Tip: Book ahead to avoid the summer rates. If you go in the summer a little fan would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for spending your special day with us! I am happy you had a great time, and hopefully we will see you for your 40th! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Travelling with my 2 young adult daughters, wanted to stay for the experience. Nice quaint older buildings w/ character but not luxury service

Booked queen room in main building with additional roll-away bed. Hotel called day before: would I mind complimentary upgrade to king room but in Lodge building but with complimentary breakfast- no problem- I accepted. Arrived to find nice room but bed so big there was no place to open roll-away bed. Called front desk they sent bell boy: he looked and said "Nope, won't fit" and that I could try moving the furniture (Sorry I'm on vacation, no furniture moving for me1)Then he told me to call the desk again (not sure why he couldn't call and take care of this)

Called the front desk, They said they would take care of it. When we returned to room, desk was moved to side of room blocking one window (no a/c in hotel so windows are important) and blocking one side of bed and nearly blocking bathroom door and then the rollaway just fit.

Went to patio for snack and drinks. Staff very frenetic and a bit overwhelmed. We didn't mind the rather long wait for a cheese plate and a beer but clearly things not running smoothly.

Sat on front porch- beautiful view but no table service- had to go into hotel bar to get your own drinks

Morning buffet in Lodge- very nice

Check out- as I expected they tried to charge me for the "complimentary upgrade" Good thing I checked the charges. They did happily adjust it

Overall nice overnight stay, liked the hotel itself but luxury and high end service it is not.

As prior reviewer stated " Go once for the experience"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit with your family. I appreciate your time providing your feedback, and am happy you did as this allows us to improve our service. I have shared your comments with our entire team as I felt they were very beneficial. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This place is a joke when it comes to being haunted. What a sales gimmick. I paid $370 to stay ONE night in a supposedly haunted room. The most activity came from the fans because the room is blazing hot due to a 95 degree day and NO A/C in the room. That price didn't include breakfast, and the whole ghost tour was extra $ too.. IT is a nice hotel and historically interesting, BUT my son and I stayed because we wanted to be spooked.. IT JUST DIDNT HAPPEN. I asked for a partial refund which was refused with the desk clerk saying" WE CAN'T GUARANTEE ANY GHOSTLY ACTIVITY." YEAH, well then they shouldn't be charging customers some outrageous price for a load of crap.

Room Tip: don't stay. too hot, not haunted. too expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed two nights at the Stanley, and took advantage of their Ghost Tour and their History of the Stanley Tour. We really enjoyed the tours and the knowledgeable and entertaining guides. Their restaurant, Cascades, was very nice, and the food and service were excellent. The hotel staff were very professional and pleasant. The one down side for us was that the rooms are not air-conditioned, although fans are provided in the rooms. Our room was on the back side of the hotel overlooking a lovely courtyard, however there was no breeze at all. Thank goodness we bring a box fan when we travel, so we were able to put that into the window and get a little bit of cooling through the two warm nights. We loved the hotel, nevertheless, and loved Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park. We will go back, but might stay at the condo the next time.

Room Tip: I understand from a friend that corner rooms are best. They would also more likely get a cross bree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, and thank you for staying with us. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable visit, and importantly that our staff was accomodating. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We are happy that we stayed at the Stanley. It is an "experience" hotel vs. a luxury hotel. Now that we have had that experience, we will stay elsewhere next time.
We made a phone reservation since it was just a few days prior to our stay though we checked the website for availability and rates/packages, By making a phone reservation vs. online, we had a difference in our rate and breakfast expectation. When making your reservation, just be sure of the details. Without any written details, we have no proof that rates and details were different than our memory.
Upon arrival, there is a security gate, though there is no guard at night. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and the grounds were well manicured. Our room was in the Lodge though check-in was in the Hotel. Check-in was easy. I wouldn't say that the front desk staff was friendly but they were efficient. Be prepared to schlep your own luggage - no valet even offered. First thing we noticed was swarms of tourists on history and haunted tours. Having tours in the hotel removes any possibility of the Stanley being a luxury hotel. When we inquired about certain furnishings in the Lodge, the clerk told us that there were really from Restoration Hardware! So much for the historic hotel.
Our room was extremely small and overlooked the courtyard between the hotel and lodge. Though there is no AC, there was a ceiling fan and windows opened. Bathroom was small too but had a cute oval window that opened. Pillows were hard as rocks so don't wait till the end of the night before checking your preference. We informed front desk and fresh pillows were in our room later. Bed/sheets were oh-kay, not terrible and not fabulous either. Thankfully we brought a noise machine to drown out the continuous rattling doorknob and loud voices from a late night party on the adjacent hotel porch. The "ghostly" rattling doorknob was created from the vaccuum of hallway door opening/closings though it provided a few laughs before we really got annoyed with it.
We did not eat in the dining room because it was booked. Instead we went into town to Twin Owls Steakhouse, which I would highly recommend. Breakfast was delicious pastries, juice and coffee served in the Lodge. Perhaps the main dining room had a different breakfast. Again from our phone conversation, we thought we were getting full breakfast but when we inquired were told that the Lodge breakfast was correct. We shopped in the Hotel gift shop and the ladies were quite helpful. We had late coffee from the downstairs cafe and sat on the porch to enjoy the view and what a view!
The Stanley seems overwhelmed with the tourists and possibly the sheer number of guests. Front desk staff needs to fnd their "welcome" faces. I would definitely stay at The Stanley if we had to do it all over again, but for the experience aspect. We're glad we went and can now check that off of our list.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and constructive feedback. I am happy that you had an enjoyable time during your stay. I have shared your comments with our entire team, as this helps us improve both our product and service. We absolutely appreciate your business, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The accommodations were excellent! We enjoyed our private condo with hot tub at the back of the hotel. It was a quick and easy walk to the bar and restaurant. The condo has numerous amenities and was very clean. The beds were very comfortable and the view was absolutely fantastic. The hotel interior was beautiful and next time we most certainly will stay longer.

The bar and restaurant service were top notch. The food was excellent and had some unexpected dishes that tasted fantastic. As a desert, we did two flights of scotch tasting and our server, Bishwa, is a very knowledgeable source. He provided us many options and gave us a great mix to taste. He was very courteous and we had a fantastic time. Jimmy, the manager at the bar was also great to talk to and very knowledgeable in scotch and other distilled drinks. We had a wonderful time hanging out after dinner discussing the various types of scotches including regions and characteristics of the drinks. Both deserve praise and recognition for their knowledge and attention to customer service. We know we will return again in the future for a much longer stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is pretty neat, but the condo's in the back are fantastic! Great space and lots of nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, Jimmy and Bishwa do a fantastic job, and our 579 flavors are all unique! We look forward to playing your host again, thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.