We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Stanley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Bar Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The accommodations were excellent! We enjoyed our private condo with hot tub at the back of the hotel. It was a quick and easy walk to the bar and restaurant. The condo has numerous amenities and was very clean. The beds were very comfortable and the view was absolutely fantastic. The hotel interior was beautiful and next time we most certainly will stay longer.

The bar and restaurant service were top notch. The food was excellent and had some unexpected dishes that tasted fantastic. As a desert, we did two flights of scotch tasting and our server, Bishwa, is a very knowledgeable source. He provided us many options and gave us a great mix to taste. He was very courteous and we had a fantastic time. Jimmy, the manager at the bar was also great to talk to and very knowledgeable in scotch and other distilled drinks. We had a wonderful time hanging out after dinner discussing the various types of scotches including regions and characteristics of the drinks. Both deserve praise and recognition for their knowledge and attention to customer service. We know we will return again in the future for a much longer stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is pretty neat, but the condo's in the back are fantastic! Great space and lots of nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, Jimmy and Bishwa do a fantastic job, and our 579 flavors are all unique! We look forward to playing your host again, thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    342
    185
    100
    42
See reviews for
278
545
40
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, NE
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

$233 a night for a HORRIBLE bed (supposedly queen - seemed like double to me and mushy like with was made of cotton balls) and NO A/C! If you are really into the haunted thing, have fun! You will see plenty of obsessed visitors filming and photographing throughout the day and night. It is a busy place. Our room was 84 degrees at night with one tiny window and a ceiling fan and portable fan blowing all night, we were miserable. If it is hot, try to get a lower flow and save the misery (we were on the 4th floor - an upgrade -ha ha!). The rooms are dirty and dingy. The only appealing parts of the hotel are the fabulous scotch selection in the bar, the facinating stories and the exterior. The rest is a dump. stay someplace else and stop by for a visit, like most people seem to do. I didn't use the spa, but I stopped by and had no desire to try it, based on its appearance. We were supposed to stay 3 nights but left after 2 and went back to Denver to cool off at the Brown Palace. Now that is a beautiful Historical Hotel that is well maintained and clean for about the same price!

Room Tip: Get a low floor in the summer when it is hot and there is no A/C. Or better yet, stay someplace else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I got to stay here for my birthday! My husband and I had the best time. We snuck around to do some ghost hunting and yes, watched the Shinning! Breakfast was so unbelievable, of course the morning cocktails were the best! We had the best service and were treated as royalty. Although I live in CO, I cannot wait to come back to the Stanley Hotel!

Room Tip: We got a view of the lake, it was romantic, but we heard banging all night long. Ghosts? We think so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for spending your special evening with us! I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful evening, we look forward to your return! The bacon bloody mary's are terrific!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Indiana
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had some difficulty with our reservations here (they had overbooked and not appropriately planned for the 4 rooms our extended family had requested). We had requested rooms in the main building but ended up with rooms in the lodge. The manager did address this for us and we all ended up with a room for the night and overall it was addressed well.

The lodge is a smaller replica of the main building and still a great place to stay. The night we were there it was very hot as it was unseasonably warm in Colorado (near 90). Be warned that there is no air conditioning if coming from places that typically always have it and pack appropriately.

The main hotel is gorgeous and full of history. History buffs will love it. We took the history tour and really enjoyed it. At first we were sad to miss the ghost tour (as it is famously haunted) but the history tour has a sprinkling of those stories as well. (one note if you want the ghost tour, book more than 2 months in advance as they sell out). We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and the food and service were quite good. The pool was not open in mid June and did not look a lot like it was often opened. Our kids (7-10) liked the fire station/Estes park tour they did as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit with your family, I am happy to hear that everyone enjoyed their time and all the different tours. The Lodge is a 1/3 replica, and was used to house the batchelors in the old days. Our Night Tours are quite popular, so yes, early reservations are recommended. Thank you again for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed on the 4th floor, West side and baked. If you only want to get a couple hours sleep when it finally cools of to 80 degrees at about 4 in the morning, then this is the place for you. The 4th floor is built into the roof with little insulation and the sun literally bakes the West side of the building. There was a glass panel out in the ceiling, and one could see that the hotel had very little insulation. Also, because the panel was out, it let the heat right into the hallway outside our room.
In a classic hotel like this, one has to assume that the building might not have A/C, but such little effort to control the heat is unacceptable. When I inquired at the front desk about a cooler room either on a lower floor or on the east side, I got a rather cold reply that that was just the way it was. I wish I could have taken some of the cool of that reply to my room. By the way, the locals said the weather had not turned hot yet.
The positive about our stay was the Cascades Restaurant. We had afternoon snacks outside by the waterfall and dinner inside too. The food was excellent every time, and the wait staff very friendly. We would go back for the food, but the Hotel needs to fix putting people in an oven and fix the politeness of the front desk before we would pay the premium prices to ever stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and feedback. I am happy to hear your experience in our restaurant was enjoyable; I have shared your comments with our reception staff, as this helps us improve. We certainly appreciate your business, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Stanley Hotel is a portal to the finest accommodations of a century ago. In 1910 it offered all the luxury money could provide and it still does amazingly well today. It cannot and does not try to compete with amenities found at modern resorts. Visitors expecting room air conditioning will be unfulfilled. A/C at 7500 feet?? C'mon! The Stanley Hotel appeals to a different customer base by offering spectacular views of the Rocky Mountains, fine dining on site, excellent service, and classic décor with historic furnishings. The main floor lobby has two huge fireplaces and a beautifully restored Stanley Steamer. The grand staircase from the second floor to the main lobby is so impressive that nobody with a sense of drama would consider taking the vintage Otis elevator.

The main building is over 100 years old. It is located at an elevation of about 7500 feet, where it is baked by the sun in summer and blasted annually by Colorado high country winters. Yet it has survived quite well to this day. The floors squeak in places, the doors sometimes don't close smoothly in the doorframes, and the walls are not totally soundproofed. However the Superior King room on the third floor of the main building had a great view, clean linens and keycard access. The bathroom had a beautiful hammered copper sink, a jetted tub, shower and hot water within two seconds. Very nice accommodations.

Any review of the Stanley Hotel has to deal with the hotel's connection to Stephen King and his book The Shining which was inspired by a stay at the Stanley in 1974. The visitor is bombarded by reminders of the Stanley Kubrick movie The Shining, which was not filmed at the Stanley and deviated from the book. There is also a TV miniseries of the same name which did feature shots filmed in and around the Stanley. But this is not a movie review.

The hotel tour guides revel in the stories of haunting and in Stephen King connections and seem able to discuss the themes endlessly. It gets tiring.

It's not for me to say whether the hotel -- or any specific room – is haunted. The only spirits I saw were elegantly displayed behind the bar. I don't hear spooks in a squeaky floor or in a gust of wind or in happy kids being hushed in the hallway outside my room. My deteriorating eyesight doesn't allow me to see things that are there, let alone things that might be only partially there. Consequently I slept well – and undisturbed. YMMV.

This is a hotel to consider for a wedding, for celebrating a major family event, or for a couple celebrating an anniversary. It's not cheap, but it is memorable. And well worth it.

Room Tip: Stay more than one night in the main building and try to get a third floor Superior King.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. We certainly appreciate your business and look forward to your return! We absolutely do our best to maintain the elegance and charm from the past century, and I am very happy that you were delighted with your visit! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked a one night stay at the Stanley Hotel and decided to dine in the Cascades Restaurant for dinner. ( I am reviewing them together since the restaurant is part of the hotel.)

The pros: The grounds of the hotel are beautiful! The historic hotel is beautiful on the inside, also. Parking was free and easy. From the front desk staff to the bar staff to the dining staff, everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful. Other than one issue mentioned below, we really liked our corner room on the second floor (Room 216). We enjoyed sleeping with the window open and we could hear the waterfall in the courtyard area. The "Ghost Tour" @ 9:15 was a lot of fun. If you don't mind a 15(ish) minute walk downhill, you can get to the riverwalk area of Estes Park without taking your car. (Obviously, you are walking uphill coming back, which is more difficult!)

Cons: Our room (#216) was at the end of a hallway next to a door to the outside that the staff uses. The door was slammed multiple times with staff going in and out. The bar staff was a lot of fun but we were overcharged at the bar and had to go back to get it corrected. We had placed an order for an appetizer at the bar and it never arrived, so we had it sent to our dinner table. Our server in the dining room was very nice but completely disappeared at times and forgot to place our soup order and we received our main course prior to the soup arriving. She offered to still bring the soup and not charge us but it took another 30 minutes to arrive.

One more general tip: This may be specific to the room we stayed in but...I didn't find the hairdryer in the room until I had accepted the fact that I had to air dry my hair. It was in a drawer in the TV cabinet.

Would we go back? Absolutely! This is a lovely, historic hotel! Although there were a few errors in the bar/dining area, we want to come back take the "Stanley Tour" to gain additional knowledge of the history of the hotel. We just didn't have time to do it on this little trip.

Room Tip: Our corner room had two windows which would probably help on a warmer evening. However, you may get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback and business! I am extremely happy to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations. We absolutely would love to play host again in the future. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.