We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand dame of Estes Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 hotels in Estes Park
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Grand dame of Estes Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed at the Stanley for our anniversary. Upgraded room to second floor with mountain view and (non-functional) balcony. Room was quite nice, very large king with upgraded bathroom. Spectacular view. A few creaks and squeaks during the night as you would expect from a 100 year old hotel. The restaurant Cascades has a very complete line of Scotch Whisky selections (I heartily approve) but falls a little short on the food side. They are trying to get to an upper level fine dining experience, not quite there yet. Would recommend the spooky hotel tour, have taken it in the past. Coffee shop in the basement for early morning risers. Sitting out on the veranda enjoying the view with your morning paper and coffee....hard to beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. I fully agree with you, sitting on the veranda in the summer is absolutely incredible. We are now doing a Whiskey U, starting this month which I highly encourage you to look at if you are a lover of scotch whiskey. Hopefully, you will have a chance to make it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    426
    315
    165
    84
    39
See reviews for
253
497
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

On business in old Stapleton area, me and my crew took advantage of a break and drove up to Estes Park for an overnighter. Off season (to our surprise they ARE open in winter), we got a great deal on a room, thanks to a "US Gov" discount. Showed up around 5, went right to their great cozy bar prior to dinner in the adjacent dining room... great local beer selection & specialty drinks (redrum). Sat right down to dinner (again, off-season) and got a great waiter... young kid... who warmly humored all of our first-timer queries on the spooky stuff. He played along with us just great and, as it was very quiet, had the very few other guests in the room intrigued with his elaborations. Every time he came back from the kitchen to charge our glasses, he accompanied it with a short vignette on a tale from long ago. Thanks to him, the whole dining room (all five occupied tables) was engrossed with his dramatic recounts of past history & spooky encounters. Some spooky, most corny, but what a gas for us all! By the way, I had the "wild game meat loaf" and my crew had the "buffalo prime rib"... both were simply delicious, in heavy gravy and mashed potatoes... recommended... Blue Cheese on the salads put it over the top. Hearty food.

Side bar: Following a great dinner, we headed off to explore the property. To keep this review short, it was simply a treat! Accompanied with pints charged of the best local brews, we were permitted (or permitted ourselves) to access the entire place. Again, as it was in the "off season", that contributed to the creepiness of the ol' place. In the right mood, there's lots to see... the old billiards room, the ballroom, the third floor (with candy placed along the corridors??)

Hotel: Creaky? Yes. Drafty? A little bit. Dated? Thank Goodness. Worth the stay? Absolutely, go there.

Room Tip: Just gotta call ahead for room "217"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your last minute trip to Estes Park! We certainly appreciate your business, and am happy to hear that our wait staff provided your evening entertainment! They have a lot of personality! We are open all year long, and welcome all guests during the winter season! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had always wanted to stay at the Stanley and decided it would be a great way to ring in the new year. The room was great, but we were a little disappointed that the room did not have a coffee maker. The noise level from other rooms made it difficult to sleep. (Especially the yelling at 2 in the morning!) The "hotel" staff were all friendly. We were not pleased with the prices as it related to the New Year's Eve Gala. For the price we paid, we should not have been hungry after our meal. We were served very small, and very few, appetizers, the steak was served rare without an apparent option for it being prepared otherwise, the amount of vegetables served was quite small, the salad contained was extremely bitter, coffee was not served with desert, it was set up afterwards for people to get themselves. Water glasses were taken away with out offers for refills. Champaign was served for toasting. Unfortunately it was served 30 min. before midnight and it was only enough for a few sips. My boyfriend was so glad to go into town and get a full-sized meal for breakfast! We were quite disappointed with the price we paid for the gala and the amount of food we received. (The band was good!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your visit for our New Year's Eve gala. We certainly appreciate your business, although am disappointed to hear that you did not feel value for the price paid. I have shared your comments with each respective department as we use these for improvements with both our product and service. We would love to play your host again in the future, and I would ask that you reach out to me directly so that I may personally take care of your reservation. Thank you and Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from our Christmas stay here! Our first room was ok but faced the courtyard and my husband wanted to have a view of the mountains. I went to the front desk and they moved us right away - even went up with us to show us the room that was available. Awesome!
We went in to town several times and up to Rocky Mountain National Park once - beautiful!
Also ate several times at Cascade's, which was very good and the staff was very attentive (thank you Scotty and Brigit!).
We took two ghost tours, the first one at night and the second during the day - I highly recommend Scary Mary's tour. She is fun and you can tell she really loves this place!
If you get a chance to visit this charming place, you are a very lucky soul!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Wow! I am so pleased that you had an amazing time at our property! Each one of our staff members has a great personality and does their best to ensure a fabulous stay! Scary Mary is fantastic and definitely a true asset to our team. Scotty and Brigit have great chemistry with all of the guests! Thank you so much for your feedback and wish you a happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Beautiful. What an experience to go back in time.

I loved the copper tables and tin/copper ceiling in the bar area. For 'dinner' we'd order a large appetizer of Nachos for $12 which fed the 4 of us and soaked in the ambiance of the room.

Instead of a ghost tour I asked a member of the cleaning crew about their run-ins with ghosts. Hearing his stories of seeing children playing in turn of the century clothing at 2 a.m. was more than enough for me.

Our room was on the third floor with a newly tiled shower and a copper sink. The hotel does seem to come alive at night. Squeaky floor boards. Bring earplugs-seriously! I may have had a ghost gently stroke my hair and scalp while I slept, startling me awake-or it could have a been a dream born from hearing to many ghost stories during the day.

I would stay again. If you do visit the Stanley expect to enjoy your stay-but don't expect to sleep!

Room Tip: The third floor is suppose to be the least haunted. Child ghosts on the second. And spirit nannies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to our property, and we certainly appreciate your feedback. There are many different "elements" that add to the character and history of our hotel. I am happy that our housekeeping staff shared their personal stories, hopefully that did not keep you awake! We hope to see you again in the future, and thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is old and drafty. We were freezing in the rooms most of the time. Please seal the cracks around the windows! The food is insanely priced. We didnt have any decent food at the Steamer's Cafe. The coffee was decent but nobody wants to pay 5$ for a bland croissant. The Cascade was a rip off. Just because the chef is supposedly gourmet doesn't mean you have to charge 15$ for 2 meatballs. The hotel is gorgeous but not worth the price. They screwed up our reservations, we asked for two double beds and they offered us a pull away twin sized mat on rusty springs. We finally complained enough so they put us in a room with a pull out couch. My back is still killing me. I have never been so disappointed with a hotel room that pretty before. Oh well. Go at your own risk.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and candid feedback. This certainly allows us to improve our product and service. I am disappointed to hear that you did not find value in your stay, however, based on your scores, it looks like our staff did their best to be accomodating. I'd ask that you reach out to me directly should you like to further discuss your issues. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We try to make it out to Estes Park a couple times a year only once did we stay somewhere else and since then we only stay at the Stanley. The staff is always great the rooms are always clean and the food is always good. I highly recommend the Bananas Foster French Toast!!! The history and character of the hotel are definitely a reason we continue to go. We always enjoy a drink next to the fireplace in the lobby or on the porch if it's not too cold. We will definitely continue our trips to the Stanley!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Nothing makes me happier than to hear a repeat guest comment about our staff. They all certainly go out of their way to make each person's stay memorable and accomodating. We appreciate your time in filling out a review, and look forward to your visit in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.