We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway from Denver” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Stanley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway from Denver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you like a B&B experience, try the Lodge at the Stanley Hotel. It's a perfect overnight getaway - the Lodge is the old manor house for the hotel, newly restored. Beautiful, comfortable, quiet, with incredible homemade goodies from the innkeeper for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for spending the weekend with us! Our Lodge does have great ambience, and Midge, our innkeeper does a fabulous job! She provides a healthy, yet tasty spread! We certainly appreciate your business, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    356
    193
    102
    45
See reviews for
286
570
41
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Well I must start by saying the Stanley Hotel is a must even though I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. The Hotel grounds are so beautiful and the step back in time to a luxury hotel of the early 1900's is fun. The scary edge that it has about being possibly haunted is fun as well. The rooms on the other hand are not up to modern 5 Star quality but the Beds are Great, they do have flat screen T.v.s and the bathrooms though small are done to look old but are new, clean and quite modern. We still loved are stay but the rooms are pricey for what you get but as I said this Hotel is not just a place to lay your head but to have an experience. The Haunted/History Tour of the Hotel is great but wish the paying/staying guests got it for free. They have starbucks coffee served down by the tour office which is also a plus. The onsite eatery CASPIANS is quite good. Stay atleast a couple nights and have fun.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 4th floor, the tours are on it all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and great feedback! I am thrilled that you had a memorable experience and that our staff was able to provide great service. We do have very comfotable beds! (I lived in the hotel for 30 days when I moved here!) We have changed our tour structure to minimalize noise on the guest floors, so we are excited for this change. Thank you so much for your business, we hope to be able to play your host in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Really fun hotel. Great atmosphere, especially if you are interesting in the ghostly tales of the hotel. Creates a great vibe of comraderie among the guests. And there are few places as pretty as Estes Park.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room then book a room in the Lodge instead of the main building. I didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words! We do have a one of a kind property with great ambiance! Hopefully we will be fortunate enough to play your host again in the future! Thank you very much for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

When making reservations ask for Janette Aragon. Janette helped us arrange reservations for a large party and simply did a super job! In arranging this event, I had to deal with several people at the Stanley, Janette was simply the best of all the individuals and most professional. She simply shined!

Room Tip: When making a reservation, ask for Janette Aragon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Janette is a great pleasure to work with and goes above and beyond when it comes to guest service! She actually won our internal Cirque du Soleil contest for delivering exceptional guest service! I have shared your very kind words with her! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We paid over $300 for a deluxe king room on the second floor at the main hotel and while the hotel is beautiful from the outside, the room was disappointing. We booked a room with a "jacuzzi" for an extra $80 only to find out that it was a regular tub with jacuzzi jets. (When I complained the woman at the desk was very accommodating and showed us another room, so that was nice). For such a high price I assumed there would be some amenities in the room such as a coffee maker or mini-fridge or a sink and tub that actually drain but got none of those things. Also, for most of the day there were loud tours going on right outside our door!

Room Tip: If you want to see the hotel I suggest taking a guided tour (which is pricey) and staying at a cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback; although disappointed that the room was not up to your standard, your response helps us to make our product better. We have changed the format for our tours to maximize the hotel guest experience, as well as our tour guest experience, and i think our new Stanley Tour accomplishes this. I was pleased to hear that our staff was efficient and accomodating towards your needs. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in a classic queen room on the 4th floor of the main hotel, room was quite small with no coffee making facilities or fridge but did have a nice outlook to the side. Parking is either at the front or back of the hotel and can be a bit of a trudge if you have a lot of luggage.
We checked in just after 4pm, we were advised to book a table in the restaurant which we attempted before locating our room, this aspect was our biggest letdown.
After a long day's drive to the Stanley we were disppointed as guests to only be offered 2 times to dine, 5:30 or 8:30, having been on the go since breakfast without refreshment we were looking forward to having time to unpack, relax a little whilst getting ready for our meal, explore the hotel and perhaps enjoy a pre meal drink. The later time slot was just too late for us to eat, the early time meant we had to rush to get our luggage out of the car, find our room, negotiate past ghost tourists, shower, dress and make it down to the restaurant all in about 1 hour.
When we arrived at the restaurant we tried to book a more preferred time for the following evening but had the same difficulty. We expressed our dissatisfaction to the maitre d and hotel management whilst staying there and a resolution was offered and accepted by us. We strongly recommend anyone going to stay to call ahead and reserve a table in the restaurant at their preferred time to avoid potentially similar disappointment.
The menu and service in the restaurant are wonderful, fine selection of wines to choose from and compliment the food.You can also eat in the bar but the ghost tours tend to invade this area and it doesn't have quite the same ambience.
The interior of the hotel is wonderful, lots of history & artefacts to see, however the hotel seems to have its main focus on the ghost tours and could benefit from paying a bit more attention to the comfort of staying guests.

Room Tip: 4th floor is interesting to stay if absorbing the ghost elements
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your trip across the pond to our hotel! We are fortunate to have a busy restaurant, and I realize that this was not well for your visit, but i am pleased that you did enjoy your meals whilst there. Our property does have a lot of fantastic history and charm, I appreciate you taking time to provide your feedback- it certainly helps us as strive towards an unrivaled presence. Thank you again for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Lodge at the Stanley hotel is the place to stay if you are planning a trip to Estes Park. It has been completely redone. Midge Knerr who oversees the Lodge has done an amazing job with all the details. Right down to the fresh baked goodies that they serve every morning in the dining room. Even the jams and the granola was homemade and there were fresh baked cookies and tea in the afternoon. There is a beautiful front porch with comfy seating to read, relax or just enjoy the mountain views. The rooms have been redone too. This was my first visit and hopefully not my last. Thank you Midge!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have windows on two sides of the building. It helped with the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
You said it best- Midge does an amazing job! It is definitely a more relaxed and quiet environment at the Lodge, which does have very comfy seating on the veranda! We hope to see you again in the near future as well! Thank you so much for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.