We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine old place. Very small room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Stanley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fine old place. Very small room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the Stanley. Typical of these old hotels, the room was very small, the bath room was a tight fit, no TV and no AC. In addition to being very small, our room had dormer windows and an extremely slanted ceiling. Thankfully, my wife is 5'3" tall and I'm only 5'8" tall. Any tall person would have knocked themselves out going to the bathroom at night. The hotel itself is very attractive. The restaurant and bar are very good. The grounds are well kept. Parking is free.

Room Tip: Don't get a facing front, dormer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay- we really appreciate your business. Judging your comments, you were staying on the fourth floor, and due to the construction of the building are a little smaller with slanted ceilings. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable experienc in our restaurant and that our staff was accomodating. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    365
    196
    104
    45
See reviews for
294
583
43
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for five weeknights at the end of September for our honeymoon and were delighted. The check-in process was a little dicey (the time our room was supposed to be ready kept changing) but that was a very minor issue really. We stayed in room 413 (a deluxe king mountain view room) and i can't recommend that room enough if you're considering the same classification. The view was outstanding! It was a corner room facing both the front courtyard and the mountains on the side. The jacuzzi tub was awesome and the room was very large. We did get a glimpse of some of the standard rooms while they were being cleaned and they were very small. I'm now quite glad that we had a deluxe king for such a long stay.

I can see where the place can get unbearable during the summer. Even in the fall with lows at night in the low 40's/upper 30's our room didn't get below 70 degrees. It was just fine for us. They provide a fan and we left the windows open all the time. It stayed comfy both day and night.

The staff was delightful (especially Jimmie in the bar and Sandi on the tour) and prompt. We visited the bar area almost daily and never had to wait too long for service, even while it was quite busy.

Yes there are tours and they're pretty frequent. However having a corner room kept foot traffic down to a point where i rarely noticed someone going by. And the crowds in the lobby weren't too crazy, the people were nice and didn't invade your space.

I think several people who wrote negative reviews perhaps weren't prepared for the truly historic feel of the hotel. There aren't coffee pots or things like that (there was an iron and hair dryer) but we didn't miss the normal convenience items. That being said I wouldn't want to stay here during the warmer months without the AC.

Just two other small things. We did find used tissues stuffed between the mattress and the bedframe. The bar also ran out of the bacon vodka for the bacon bloody mary's (the ONE drink i was dying to try). The bartender said that they never ever run out of it but didn't say when they would be getting more in. They also were still advertising it all over the hotel. Really very minor issues, i wouldn't hesitate to stay here again :)

Room Tip: If you want to stay on the haunted 4th floor but don't want to pay the price consider room 413...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing us for your most memorable vacation! You are correct that 413 is a spectacular room- it is one of my favorites! I am so pleased that our staff was able to exceed all of your expectations- although we did have a couple of mistakes while you were here. Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we wish you all the best and many years of happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountlake Terrace, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We've been to Estes Park several times, as a day trip. For our first stay there, there was no other place to choose but The Stanley. It lived up to every expectation. Such a beautiful property, truly breathtaking. The outside is very well-maintained, with gardens, sculptures and fountains. There is no other word for the views except stunning. Inside is very high-end and lodge-y feeling. Lots of history here. Our room was in the "Lodge" not the main hotel. This was not my understanding when I made the reservation, but no complaints. The bed was very comfortable. There was a walk-in closet, where we could stow our suitcases. Our room was right off a lobby/living room with a fireplace. For folks staying in the Lodge, there was a continental breakfast the likes of which I've never seen. Gorgeous pastries, all made on-site. Granola, also homemade, that was addictive. Also fruit, juice, Greek yogurt, coffee and tea, presented in a beautiful way. It was so nice I made it a point to find out the name of the person in charge, who, I was told, also made all the treats. So, Midge, thank you so much! Your breakfasts were fantastic! The town of Estes Park is touristy, but also gorgeous, very well-laid out. I got home yesterday and want to go again immediately!!! The Stanley is spendy, $300 per night, but worth the experience. Be sure to go on one of the Ghost Tours!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
It's a good thing there are many hiking trails, because, yes, Midge's food is fantastic! We are very fortunate to have a great staff who are all very passionate about their work. We really appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments appropriately. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This isn't one of your brand new hotels so you aren't going to get large rooms with state of the art amenities. This is a place loaded with charm and history, Rooms are clean, bed was comfy & staff was great. We went for our 5 year anniversary and stayed 2 nights. We also did the ghost tour to really get to see the place & hear the stories. So cool! One night the Elk were right up on the front lawn so we ordered a pizza, brought out our own wine, borrowed a blanket (they found for me as long as I brought it back -which I did;) and sat on the veranda enjoying the view. Once it got cold we went inside and hung out at the fireplace and watched people and flipped through their old books. What a great, relaxed night in! Also- the Shining is on 24-7. We can't wait to go back in a few years!

Room Tip: If you are into those ghost hunter programs or at all intrigued see if you can get a haunted room! F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for bringing the blanket back! (it was me you asked!) I am so pleased that you and your husband had a lovely anniversary and we would love to have you again next year! Our tour staff does a wonderful job explaining the history and paranormal. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We drove from Breckenridge to Estes Park to be able to see the elk during rutting season and had lunch at the beautiful Stanley Hotel. If you are ever in Estes Park you should not miss touring the Stanley and if you can time it just right - have lunch. Everything the 4 of us ordered was excellent. As we left the hotel to return to our automobile, there was a small herd of elk resting on the front lawn. Icing in the cake!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for stopping through, and be careful of the elk during the rut! Very majestic animals, but also very wild! We are fortunate to play host to them often as they like our grass! We hope to see you agin for another meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We came across The Stanley in a guide book while visiting Boulder and thought we would give it try before we flew home from Denver.What a Gem it is,set in the mountains with stunning veiws we were lucky enough to have a room in the main hotel on the 4th floor,slightly small but very comfortable.The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We ate in the resturant that night it was lovely would like to have stayed longer.Highly Recomended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 4th floor in the main hotel you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for stopping in on your visit from across the pond! We absolutely would've loved to host you for longer, but am glad that you decided to come up from Boulder! Thank you for your feedback and hopefully we'll see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were delighted (group of four -- two couples) to attend our friends' wedding at the Stanley. After a minor hiccup regarding the check-in time which was *very* professionally handled we walked into the Presidential Cottage to the sound of our jaws hitting the floor :-)

The memories of the veranda, with its views to the mountains, will live long in our memories. We had an enjoyable lunch before the wedding reception and then enjoyed the splendour of the Music Room in the company of a wonderful group of people. The warmth and friendliness of our American friends made the evening truly special, and the hotel staff (barmen, waitresses, reception staff) all helped make the experience five-star.

We enjoyed a good breakfast in the hotel the following morning before listening to Donegal win the All-Ireland final on the radio (via the internet). We left the Presidential Cottage with a tear in our eye, before taking a long, slow drive along Trail Ridge Road.

I can't recommend the Stanley Hotel highly enough -- it provides an unforgettable experience -- visually stunning, with service to match.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
I am so thrilled that our staff was able to exceed all of your expectations and provide you with unforgettable memories! Staying in the presidential cottage provides an unrivaled experience! The peaks are snowcapped now, and the elk are in full rut! We hope to have the pleasure of being your host again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.