We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh it Shines!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Oh it Shines!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed in room 217 which is where Stephen King got the idea for "The Shining". It is supposed to be haunted but honestly nothing happened to us during our two night stay. However we did go on the history and ghost tour and just had a blast. The haunts there are supposedly friendly so no need to be spooked out. Be warned it is not isolated like it is in the book or in the miniseries (movie was shot at another lodge in Oregon) Estes Park is literally a five minute walk into downtown from the hotel, but it is a grand and beautiful old hotel and yes you will have people roaming the halls at night in search of ghosts, but that is part of the charm! Quiet, clean, lovely, friendly staff! I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: 217 is the largest and has the prettiest views. If you like ghosts ask for a haunted room. You will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thanks very much for your comments regarding your recent visit. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay!

We look forward to your return often in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Carsch
Stanley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    327
    175
    93
    40
See reviews for
264
521
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Stanley is the one and only reason my husband and I got on a plane and flew all the way to Colorado from Chicago. I probably would have never visited Estes Park otherwise. As a person very much interested in the paranormal, I was introduced to the Stanley on Ghost Hunters and Ghost Adventures. This is what originally peaked my interest in The Stanley. This hotel has much more to offer then its ghosts. It is absolutely beautiful and couldn't be in a better location! You have a beautiful view of the mountains as soon as you walk out of the hotel. The cute town of Estes Park (which has a lot of shops and restaurants) is just down the hill. I could have stayed in the hotel the entire time we were there, but the gorgeous weather called me outside for a bit.
Our room was very clean and comfortable and surprisingly quiet considering the hotel was probably completely booked up. Every staff member we encountered were very friendly and helpful and appeared like they genuinely loved their job. I would be happy every day too if I got to work at The Stanley!
My husband and I did the 5 hour ghost hunt on Saturday night as well. A few things happened that left us scratching our heads. I am pretty sure that Mrs. Stanley herself was hanging around us in the lobby when were about to leave as I kept smelling a very strong rose perfume smell. She probably wanted to make sure we had a good stay in her hotel. We had a great stay Mrs. Stanley and we hope to come back and visit your hotel again someday!

Room Tip: If you want a haunted room, then request 401, 412, 428 or 217 (The room Stephen King stayed in while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thanks so very much for your wonderful comments regarding the hotel and your recent visit! I am so pleased ti turned out to be the experience that you had anticipated.

I am certain as well that Mrs. Stanley was pleased with your visit. It seems that the family is always keeping an eye on us and our guests!

Hope you return very soon!

Michael Carsch
Regional General Manager
The Stanley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The recently opened Lodge House (Manor House) was our home for two nights while in Estes. Our room felt more like a suite with two separate rooms, a clean, vintage bathroom, and one enormous, comfortable bed. The views from this hotel are breathtaking--we had mountains and Lake Estes right outside our windows. The Lodge serves the most incredible homemade continental breakfast each morning--so delicious! We strolled the grounds and the hallways to soak in the beauty of the flowers, potted orchids, and waterfall as well as the historic photos throughout the building. There's a well appointed gift shop as well as a snack bar serving daily made gelato. I could have spent many more nights on the large front porch lazily staring at the mountain scenery. Being an historical hotel, the rooms aren't huge, but that didn't matter to us--We'll go back there again!

Room Tip: The Lodge, which is a third scale building of the original Stanley, is quieter, since the hotel offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The Stanley stood up to expectation. Great venue, beautiful hotel. Could sit on the front porch for hours. The room was spacious, clean and cozy w/ great views of the mountains.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thanks so very much for your great comments.

We appreciate hearing from you and look forward to your return often in the future.

Michael Carsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Well first let me tell you the place itself is amazing. So happy we chose to stay here for our vacation. We've always wanted to stay here. Positives: It lived up to our expectations. The ghost tour was great n Dan, our guide was awesome! The 24 hour loop of the shining is wonderful! We only ate breakfast in cascades but the banana fosters French toast was amazing! Drinks a little overpriced but really good especially the red rum punch. The town of estes is wonderful. Porch is the best aspect about the Stanley.
Negatives: Pool was empty. Thought we were going to swim and that did not happen. So do not bring swim trunks. Rooms are very very hot. They do not have air conditioning but we knew this before we arrived. We stayed out of our room during the day but at night it was breezy with windows open and a fan that is provided by front desk. Ruthie the front desk clerk was amazingly rude. She ignored us twice after we checked in. Stood directly in front of her and asked her question about our ghost tour tickets and Rebecca had to answer for her. She definelty was having a bad day or she just hated her job. Requested a fan and Ruthie promised it would be sent to our room. Never received it. Had to call down again. Only after we spoke to Rebecca did we get our fan. The bartenders, male host taking reservations at cascades at night and most of the front desk staff was very unpleasant to deal with. If they do not enjoy working there they should find new employment. I just imagine when you pay a good amount for a historic hotel, service would be excellent. Rebecca and Dan, our tour guide was the only pleasant employees we came across. Thanks Dan and Rebecca for making guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your important comments regarding your recent visit. I am so pleased that you found the location, ghost tours, and breakfast in Cascades to your expectations!

I do apologize that our staff was less than responsive to your needs. Please know that we appreciate hearing from all of our guests and that your comments are acted on and used as training tools to improve the experience of all of our guests.

I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the future!

Michael Carsch
Regional General Manager
The Stanley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I recommend staying here for the historic fun. Take the ghost tour. I think that was our favorite part. We were out in the manor house. The room was old but nice. We sat in the bar for a couple hours, and that was fine. It's not too bad of a walk to the business district. We're planning a trip to go back the Estes Park, and even though we liked the Stanley, it's so expensive during the summer that we're looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Stanley Hotel is simply stunning! The hotel has undergone multi-million dollar renovations this year, and the investment shows. The lobby is beautiful, with comfy seating and two blazing fireplaces. The staff are professional and prompt in their service delivery. The room was very clean and comfortable; we had a very large room due to an upgrade which also offered a jacuzzi tub. The hotel hosts numerous tours throughout the day, but as we stayed on the 3rd floor, we were not affected by this as some have stated in their reviews. (The tours focus mainly on the 2nd and 4th floors, and tours are not permitted on the hotel floors at all after 7 pm.) The hotel also offers a front porch with views that are absolutely breathtaking. I heard several visitors complaining that they thought this was the hotel where The Shining was filmed, so be aware: this hotel inspired Stephen King to write The Shining, and then he rented out the entire hotel in 1997 to film his own version of the story, as he was so unhappy with Stanley Kubrick's version. I only mention this because so many visitors come because of the story. Several of the tours will offer historic information on the hotel, as well as some fun ghost stories.

Room Tip: If you are interested in the supernatural, stay on the 2nd or 4th floors, which are reputed to be ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thanks very much for your comments and the recognition of the investment in the hotel. As you rightly point out we have invested a lot of money in the property and continue to invest to keep it up and offer new experiences for our returning guests.

I very much appreciate your comments and thank you for staying with us.

Michael Carsch
Regional GM
The Stanley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.