We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in May. During our stay, all the furniture was replaced. We had a huge room in the manor house with brand new furniture at a very reasonable price. My wife's sister, on the other hand, paid twice the price for a room in the main building, only to be upgraded to the Presidential Suite. So she had 5 bedrooms, 4 baths, a full kitchen and living room, laundry and furnished deck overlooking the mountains. The downside was there was nothing historical about it. Our room still had the feel of a 100 year old hotel.

We ate several breakfasts, a lunch and a dinner in the retaurant. Like many Estes Park establishments, they offer game. We tried elk, bison and wild boar meatloaf, buffalo sliders and elk and buffalo sausage. All were excellent, as were the salad, eggs, seafood bisque, etc.

The grounds are magnificent, with a view of the Rockies on a clear day and elk roaming the premises. There is no need to leave the property for a close encounter! We traveled throughout the hotel night and day without problems, posing in front of 217 and getting a shot of Mrs Stanley's ghost at the piano. Part of each evening was spent with a glass of wine in front of one of the 2 large fireplaces in the lobby.

My only small complaint was housekeeping. The same piece of lint sat under the bathroom sink for our entire stay.

This was a great vacation and the Stanley Hotel lived up to its promise for us.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. No 2 rooms are alike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    325
    174
    93
    40
See reviews for
263
518
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We spent my 50th birthday at the Stanley this year, it was quite a treat! The day we got there, they were refurnishing all of the rooms, so we had to wait to register into our room, but the hotel staff made up for it by upgrading us to a King room on the 4th floor. It was very nice, brand new bed, with beautiful furnishings.

The entire experience was excellent. We had dinner in the Steamer's Restaurant - it was good, but a little pricey. Regardless, we went there for the experience, so expected to pay a little exra. The overall hotel is a work of art, nestled in a beautiful setting. We went on the ghost tour, which provided a wonderful history of the hotel and was also lots of fun. I captured a picture of an orb during the tour, and others after the tour in our room later that evening. We stayed in room 428. It was very quiet - I don't think anybody else was on the 4th floor except for us. I was not frightened staying there. If there are ghosts that inhabit this hotel, they are there because they love it so much that they don't want to leave. I can't blame them for that!

Before going to the Stanley, I read other reviews that it was rather loud and creaky. Yes it is an old hotel, and the floors creak, but we had quite the opposite experience. It was extremely quiet and we both slept sound - maybe because we were on the top floor.

This was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend it to other travelers! I only wish that we could have stayed another day or two. It was the highlight of our entire vacation!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We recently stayed at the Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, Colorado. We enjoyed seeing the
hotel and taking the history tour. We stayed in the rooms on both sides of the room that
was the inspiration for the Shining. No Ghosts!! The hotel lacks air conditioning but was
comfortable with the windows open. We woke up in the morning the the sounds of Elk.
I felt like I was in an episode of Northern Exposure with the Elk walking through town and grazing in peoples yards. Definately worth the trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

What a great place to spent the night. The staff treated us exceptionally well, the room was wonderful, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A hearty thanks to the folks at the Stanley for an excellent birthday surprise for my wife!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, UK.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Setting was perfect. Hotel is recently renovated and very comfortable. Atmosphere is relaxed; service excellent. Food was surprisingly good, and service again spot-on. We had a marvelous relaxing couple of days in between busy business trips. I would come back and invite all my friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

My sisters and I stayed at The Stanley for a night this past week. Everything was perfect. Grounds were pristine, staff was perfect in every way, food was great and we came home with a few ghost stories and caught one in a picture. It was everything we expected and we are planning another trip up after Christmas with the rest of the family! Thank you Stanley!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

The staff was incredible, I've never seen that level of hospitality. A big thank you to the front desk team and Maryanne in the dining room.

I come to the Stanley every year with a group of girlfriends and the hotel just keeps getting better and better. All 4 of our rooms had been redone from last year.

I can't wait to come back and bring my Grandchildren as the staff told me that the hotel is starting fire engine rides around town.

Thank you to the entire team for another great visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.