We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We went for one night to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. For the bucket list, this is a good place to stay but for comfort and relaxation choose another place to stay. The first room we were given was okay but way over priced. It is billed as mountain views but the windows were dirty and you can not sit by the window and enjoy the view. There was only one comfortable chair to relax in. We opted to go down in scale and it was a nice room but not great. Someone else staying at the hotel banged on our door at 1:30 in the morning. We had our window open to get fresh air and other guests were loud until 3 am.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for staying with The Stanley on your special day!
We are proud to announce our new room furnishings arrive this week. We understand the importance of comfort, so we are excited about our new room enhancements. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    327
    175
    93
    40
See reviews for
263
521
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

My son and daughter-in-law and I just returned from 3 days at the Stanley. We had all been intrigued by what we had seen on various ghost shows and by the location, so we came for a short break.
The hotel is beautiful and the staff super helpful and friendly. The whole place is beautifully maintained. The restaurant and bar were excellent with very friendly staff. The ghost tour was a hoot; our guide Kevin made it highly entertaining - historical with just enough about the ghost stories to make it fun, not terrifying :-)

We might have even experienced a little ghostly activity ourselves, but very subtle...

The views are stunning. It was off season but felt so cozy. We will always associate our stay with coinciding with the Royal Wedding of Will & Kate, which we watched bits of while there. A magical place with a big flavor of history and mystery.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
We were delighted to have you stay three days with us here at the Stanley Hotel, the pleasure was all ours! We appreciate you taking time to share your experience at The Stanley- please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

My sister and I stayed there becuase Hollywood effect the hotel has. We went on the Tour and found it very interesting! The guide was new but did a great job. Had she not mentioned to me that she was new I would not have known. The front desk was professional and gave us an upgrade. The room was small but the bathroom was very nice. The showerhead was large and the tub had jets. The night auditor, Kristen, was AMAZING! She answered all our questions and helped us with everything. Great employee!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us at the Historic Stanley Hotel. We areglad you enjoyed your hotel tour and found it interesting- we are proud of our 102 years of history and love to share our story! I am happy that Kristen provided amazing service and made your stay more enjoyable, we love having have her as part of our team.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

we actually stayed in october of 2009,but the date wouldn't go back that far!

we stayed in the same room jason hawes on ghost hunters stayed in,rm #401,and had a lot of activity from the playful spirits there. the closet door opened and closed several times,the t.v. turned itself off and on,the covers were pulled off of us in the night and there was audible whispering in the room.

so if you are looking for a good paranormal experience,the stanlty is the way to go!

Room Tip: request rm#217 or 401 well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Dear Ghost Hunter,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Our happy haunts tend to make the Stanley Hotel a great place for a paranormal investigation. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We loved our stay at The Stanley. it is steeped in history and has such elegant charm. We had a suite room which was huge. The rooms and hotel are very old fashioned but that's part of the point of going there, in my opinion. The Cascades restaurant makes great drinks (with throwbacks to the Shining like "red rum punch") and the food is pretty good too. It was snowing when we went which was a nice touch to the weekend, and the views of the mountains are spectacular.
We also took the ghost tour and it was fascinating to me, as I have always been a huge Stephen King fan. We will definitely be back and do recommend it.

Room Tip: The hotel is creaky-maybe a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
We are happy to hear you loved your recent stay with us and invite you to come back again soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

My husband and I booked our rooms at a substantial discount during the free National Park Week promotion. We were upgraded to a nicer suite and the service we received was amazing. To stay at the Stanley was on my bucket list and it was well worth the dream I had.The ghost tour was a hoot. Those who fail to enjoy it just need to do it again with a new perspective and enjoy it for what it is....a RIOT! We had a great time. Loved Rocky Mountain National Park, the beautiful city, the elk roaming around everywhere. I'd go again tomorrow....and yes, during the middle of the night my husband's computer bag went flying across the room. Haunted? Maybe!

Room Tip: Go during a special event time in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Happy Anniversary!
Thank you for choosing the Stanley Hotel to celebrate your special day! We are so happy to hear this was your BEST anniversary ever and that you enjoyed amazing service- makes us all smile from ear to ear here at the Stanley. We hope to see you again next year!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

My girlfriend and I had a delightful "girls" retreat while our respective husbands were out of state. I had always wanted to stay at The Stanley and it was NOT a disappointment! Would do it again in a heartbeat and have already told my husband we need to go there for our anniversary. The historic charm and ambience create a fabulously relaxing atmosphere and we particularly enjoyed lounging in the oversize chairs that evening by one of the fireplaces in the lobby. I highly recommend the ghost tour as well. That was very informative and fun. If possible, request "Scary Mary" for your tour guide. Nothing scary about her. She is lovely, knowledgeable and has a great sense of humor!

Room Tip: Request a corner suite on fourth floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Thank you for sharing your "wonderful experience" with us! What a great idea for girls night out, we are so happy you had a great time! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.