We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rocky Mountain Park Inn to your Saves list
Rocky Mountain Park Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South Saint Vrain Ave, PO Box 1468, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for families, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is dated and not luxurious, but because of the large pool area it is hard to beat in Estes if you have kids -- particularly in the off season because the pool is indoor. The pool is open 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m., which is also a plus. Our room was in the most remote corner of the hotel, which was fine. All hallways are indoors and the outdoor entrances are locked 24/7 (room key required for entrance). The room was simple. Although it was not a dump, it hadn't been vacuumed and there was visible dirt and gravel in places. Also, the tub needed a new caulk job, and there appeared to be a leak in the ceiling over the tub that had been recently patched. After a few showers, this patch became detached (see photo). Despite these flaws, though, we had a nice stay. It was quiet, and our kids (7 and 4) wore themselves out in the pool each night. We didn't eat at the restaurant based on reviews. There is no complimentary breakfast. The next time we visit Estes w/the kids, I'll certainly consider staying here again for the right price. If it is just my wife and me, we will look elsewhere.

Room Tip: There are several rooms with balconies overlooking the indoor pool. You may want to ask for one; I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. We do have Estes Park's best pool and hot tub. We also have a terrific bar & grill, room service, and fitness center. Hotel-direct web bookings include $20 daily breakfast credit, 1pm checkout, and free afternoon wine and beer reception-for everyone. My apologies for the celing and caulk (all rooms just recaulked this week). Our roofer has a had a difficult time pinning down the leak source in that room which have required weekly patch jobs with recent (and welcome) welcome rains.

Thank you and please watch our website for specials throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    110
    106
    25
    24
See reviews for
98
116
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked online directly with the Rocky Mountain Park Inn website and received a great rate, a later check-out time, as well as daily breakfast vouchers for the on site restaurant. Check-in/check-out was friendly and easy. Our room was clean, comfortable, and certainly met our needs for two nights. It is an older hotel and it shows at times (hallways), however room furnishings, linens, and common areas all seem to be updated. The large shower head was great after long days of hiking! Our only concern was our air conditioning unit had a hard time keeping up; we could not get the room as cool as we prefer. The restaurant also offers boxed lunches for $8, which we ordered to take on our day at Rocky Mountain National Park. They were convenient and filling. Overall, this is not a shiny, new hotel if that is your expectation. However, it is a GREAT value in a tourist town, with many added conveniences for the guests.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I couldn't have said it better myself! There are two other hotels in town with similar amenities, but "shinier", at $100 more per night. It's just a matter of what one's wallet can afford in an Estes Park summer.

Thank you and be sure to visit our website for specials throughout the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just got back from Estes Park Co. This hotel is not what you expect because it is just that a hotel not an Inn. Should have known better when they only show one picture of the outside of the hotel on there website. It doesn't tell you that it is a facility with 4 floors and interior hallways which AAA describes as a hotel. It is also the convention center for Estes Park. The exterior doors and area which you use to enter is dirty and needs updating. The hallway carpeting is wrinkled and need updating. the rooms surprisingly clean. Did not expect that after our first impressions upon entering the actual hotel. you get fooled by the lobby. we were going to cancel our stay but every other place was booked up.

Room Tip: go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. We have many more than one photo on our website showing our hotel including one on the landing page showing the tower, and Google searches show lots more. Our carpeting is only two years old and after walking the halls couldn't find any wrinkled areas. We have materials on order to address the elevator area. I hope you enjoyed your $20 breakfast credit, 1pm check out, and free wine and beer reception.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

One of the worst hotels I have stayed in. No closet. Could hardly get our three suitcases in the room. $168 plus lots of taxes July 3rd, $269 incl. taxes July 4th. Did not clean the coffee pot from the day before, left old coffee in the pot and the coffee and filter in the coffee maker. There has to be better places to stay in Estes Park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. Every one of our rooms comes with a closet and our rooms are each 300 sq feet or larger - very average. We can't do much about the 7.5% sales tax, but I hope housekeeping adressed your missed coffee when you brought it to our attention. Happy hour is FREE every afternoon and breakfast is discounted by $20 with hotel-direct web bookings. Visit us again in January for only $69!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Good location but accomodation and facility were really dated. Breakfast food was good and liked having a coffee pot in the room. There were odors of mildew in all of the hallways and the pool was filled with kids so it was not accessible for swimming laps. It is probably a better facility for families. The staff was pleasant and helpful . I don't think the price is fair for the accomodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved that concept of recycling and environmental consideration
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. We have a terrific location, the best pool in Estes, and a great restaurant. Breakfast is discounted by $20 with hotel-direct web bookings and happy hour is FREE every afternoon. There are a couple more updated hotels in town for only $100 more per night for the same amenities. Come back in January for only $69!

Thank you for your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a mess! Not only did they take advantage of the holiday weekend by hiking the prices up ridiculously high ($270), it only accentuates that this place isn't worth even half of that! For what cost more than a room in Las Vegas, you get a very average out-dated room that I normally wouldn't pay more than $69 for. The front desk staff really tried with the exception of the over-night girl who was extremely rude and unhelpful, but having to pay sooo much for a room raises one's expectations causing them to fall flat on every level...the food was horrible, (how do you ruin scrambled eggs?), the computers are pathetically slow and inefficient timing off every 29 minutes and the hallways stink. Now normally if one would pay even $89 for these rooms, it would be acceptable, but paying a good chunk of your weekly salary for this place, is not only sheer robbery but this price bracket makes it impossible for them to live up to the standards they so desperately want. Instead they will continually disappoint their guests. If they really want some positive marketing, they would be wise to offer lower rates, get the mainstream of people in and get the word out. It is the only place like it in Estes, but soooo not worth the astronomical prices they are asking any time of year!

Room Tip: The beds and pillows are soooooooooooooooo soft, you will wake up with a neck and backache, guarante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. You arrived in a resort town on a holiday weekend without a reservation at 11pm. You had checked numerous other hotels and found no rooms. You arrived at our hotel which had just two rooms available at $179 (not $279). Every one star motel in town was charging $150 that night, and we were just $30 higher for a full service hotel with full amenities. You were on the lobby computers for hours which sign off every thirty minutes so no guest can monopolize the public computers. You asked the overnight person to do something that couldn't be done at 2am so you've labeld her rude. You then received terrific/wonderful/outstanding service in the am (in your words) and comps and then complain about them. I encourage you to plan your next trip accordingly and pick the hotel priced best for your budget. In this case, no lodging in Estes would have fit your budget with any amount of planning. Resort town lodging is priced higher during its peak season, whether its a ski town in winter or Miami during the Superbowl. You may visit us again in January for just $69.

Thank you and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place received 3-stars in AAA but should be a 2. The facility shows its age with interiors that definitely could use updating, especially the carpeting. The registration process was smooth and businesslike if not overly friendly. Breakfast is available in the attached restaurant but not free. The french toast was very good. Dinner there was OK. There are better eateries nearby.
Our room was OK but not well cleaned - there was a small toy left by the last guest, and a pair of jockey briefs greeted us in the hallway. We were in the back facility which is attached by corridors to the front and about 39 steps up from the front desk. ASK FOR A ROOM IN THE FRONT BUILDING IF YOU DON'T WANT TO CLIMB STEPS! There is a large indoor pool area, like a "Holidome", with a jacuzzi and lots of chairs. There is a laundry facility in the main building on the 3rd floor, where there is an elevator. There is no elevator in the back building, but if you are on the second floor there will be no steps to climb from the back entrance. Free coffee is available in the lobby in the morning. They also don't charge for it in the restauant in the morning.
The beds are a little soft and do sag in the middle. They need to get new mattrases.
If you want to stay at this place try to get a discount from the undeserved 3-star rating, but good luck with that. Estes Park is a really nice place with plenty of affluent tourists during the summer.
The restaurant will prepare you a box lunch if you are going to Rocky Mountain National Park for about $9.00 which was good. There are tables to eat on at the park, but not that many. There is a place to get lunch in the park if you don't mind eating at 11,400 feet, right next to the souvenier shop.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front building if you don't like climbing steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. Three stars actually refers to amenities offered. We offer room service, full restaurant and bar, large indoor pool and spa, fitness center, and large conference spaces. Two star and less hotels do not offer these amenities. Four star hotels offer more than these amenites. We have many new updates including new flat screen TV's, mattresses, and carpeting. More are coming this winter. If you're looking for more updates, two other three star hotels are available in town at twice our price, which is why many folks such as yourself choose us. It's unusual to have a complaint regarding staff being friendly. Breakfast is included with direct to hotel web bookings as well as a 1pm check out. We are happy to exchange one room for another at any point during your stay as long as you inform us of your wishes. I hope you enjoyed the free wine and beer reception during your stay, as well.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Mountain Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Address: 101 South Saint Vrain Ave, PO Box 1468, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Mountain Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocky Mountain Park Inn is a 100% nonsmoking hotel with everything under one roof! Enjoy free high speed wireless Internet access throughout our hotel and pets are welcome on our first floor with a $15 nightly fee. We are the only ISO 14001 (environmentally friendly) certified green hotel in Estes Park and have a recycling bin in every room. Located just 3 blocks from downtown & the riverwalk, and surrounded by two national treasures, Rocky Mountain Nat. Park. and Roosevelt Nat. Forest. With no mountain passes to cross, Estes Park's ideal location ensures an easy winter or summer 60-mile drive from metro Denver and Denver International Airport, yet we're only minutes from world-class hiking, biking, rock climbing, and fishing. Adjacent to the Estes Park Conference Center and directly across the street from the 4 mile long concrete trail surrounding Lake Estes, we offer amenities such as a large indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room, and LongZ - A Mountain Grill. Enjoy indoor climbing gyms, snow tubing, sledding, snowshoeing, cross country skiing, and plenty of nearby wildlife watching in the winter. Summer brings scooter, boat, & bike rentals, as well as National Park Tours, mini-golf/go-carts, aerial tramway, fishing and rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rocky Mountain Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Park Hotel Estes Park
Holiday Inn Estes Park
Estes Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.