We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "3-star" dissapointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rocky Mountain Park Inn to your Saves list
Rocky Mountain Park Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South Saint Vrain Ave, PO Box 1468, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A "3-star" dissapointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place received 3-stars in AAA but should be a 2. The facility shows its age with interiors that definitely could use updating, especially the carpeting. The registration process was smooth and businesslike if not overly friendly. Breakfast is available in the attached restaurant but not free. The french toast was very good. Dinner there was OK. There are better eateries nearby.
Our room was OK but not well cleaned - there was a small toy left by the last guest, and a pair of jockey briefs greeted us in the hallway. We were in the back facility which is attached by corridors to the front and about 39 steps up from the front desk. ASK FOR A ROOM IN THE FRONT BUILDING IF YOU DON'T WANT TO CLIMB STEPS! There is a large indoor pool area, like a "Holidome", with a jacuzzi and lots of chairs. There is a laundry facility in the main building on the 3rd floor, where there is an elevator. There is no elevator in the back building, but if you are on the second floor there will be no steps to climb from the back entrance. Free coffee is available in the lobby in the morning. They also don't charge for it in the restauant in the morning.
The beds are a little soft and do sag in the middle. They need to get new mattrases.
If you want to stay at this place try to get a discount from the undeserved 3-star rating, but good luck with that. Estes Park is a really nice place with plenty of affluent tourists during the summer.
The restaurant will prepare you a box lunch if you are going to Rocky Mountain National Park for about $9.00 which was good. There are tables to eat on at the park, but not that many. There is a place to get lunch in the park if you don't mind eating at 11,400 feet, right next to the souvenier shop.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front building if you don't like climbing steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. Three stars actually refers to amenities offered. We offer room service, full restaurant and bar, large indoor pool and spa, fitness center, and large conference spaces. Two star and less hotels do not offer these amenities. Four star hotels offer more than these amenites. We have many new updates including new flat screen TV's, mattresses, and carpeting. More are coming this winter. If you're looking for more updates, two other three star hotels are available in town at twice our price, which is why many folks such as yourself choose us. It's unusual to have a complaint regarding staff being friendly. Breakfast is included with direct to hotel web bookings as well as a 1pm check out. We are happy to exchange one room for another at any point during your stay as long as you inform us of your wishes. I hope you enjoyed the free wine and beer reception during your stay, as well.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    125
    115
    30
    25
See reviews for
110
129
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mico, TX
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Being peak season all hotels, including this one, overcharge. The wifi is terrible but I will say that the hotel staff are friendly and to their credit, they allowed us to check in early. We stayed on the 4th floor so it was quiet-- so if you are a couple and prefer to stay away from the noise choose the top floor. The hallways are narrow, it's not what i would call "wheelchair accessible," and it's due to the fact that this place is old. Overall, for one overnight stay it was okay, not great.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. We're pleased to be half the price of the other two full service hotels in town that updated last year. We offer free lobby coffee each morning as well as a free afternoon wine and beer reception from 3:30-5pm daily in our lounge. A free breakfast credit of $20 per day and 1pm checkout comes standard with every direct online booking to our website. Wi-fi trouble is rare, but we have 24/7 helpline for guests that might need help. Our halls are nearly eight feet wide, quite average I expect.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

In a three night stay my room was never cleaned by housekeeping. Furthermore, a room service platter full of dirty dishes remained in the hallway for at least 24 hours. Also, for a non-smoking hotel the hall smelt a lot like old cigarettes. The fan in the bathroom wasn't functional, and the toilet was on the verge of breaking. Finally, the vent in the bathroom acted as a speaker into the adjacent room, where a group was having a bothersome conversation late into the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. Our records indicate two days of "no service" request to your room which is only noted when a room attendant speaks with a guest. Housekeeping staff are otherwise here 7am to 11pm to correct anything you might need upon request, no need to suffer with no service! The bathroom exhaust fan is actually an industrial fan on the roof pulling the air out through your vent stack.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The room was expensive, over $100 per night. The beds were uncomfortable, they both sunk down in the middle and were very hard. Our room was on the third floor, right out our window was the roof to the convention center so we had to hear and smell the fumes from the unit on the roof. Our A/C was broken and made a very loud noise like it was about to blow up. The front desk sent maintenance to look at it, he shined it with a flashlight for 10 seconds and said he cant fix it and they wouldn't move us to a different room. We found a dirty pair of socks on the floor on check in, there was hair in the sink, and the room smelled like mold. The breakfast was free, but it was terrible. All the food was cold, the bacon wasn't cooked...at all. The muffins and break were hard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. $100 is a below average rate in Estes Park this time of year. Hotels with similar amenities to ours are twice as much. I respectfully disagree that a stay as poor as you describe warranted no hotel manager contact besides on online review, which is your first. You had a two night stay with no adjustments to your bill upon an early am check out by a front desk manager which tells me you said little during your stay. It is reasonable to expect that the average person would check out early, change rooms (we weren't full during your stay), or make further contact to ensure a pleasant experience and high value for your hard earned dollars.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Be prepared to pay over $100 for a hotel that is average. The rooms are clean, but don't offer much in amenities. We had an issue with the air conditioner in the room making a clicking noise when it was on so it couldn't be on at night or else it would keep us up. Also, the vending machine did not take coins or dollars, so we put a $5 bill in the machine and received $4 in dimes. We told the front desk and they said they would send down maintenance, which never came. Finally the elevators are very far removed from the lobby. This is a minor inconvenience, but poor planning on their part. The restaurant in the hotel is nothing special. Pay a little more to rent a place of your own.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. We think we're special! $100 is on quite the low end for any motel or hotel for Estes Park in summer. We have more amenites than any other EP property, with the exception of a spa at another full service hotel in town priced twice as high. Our maintenance man did meet you at the machine to help you and the vendor was promptly called to service their machine the next day. The hotel was built into the side of a hill some time ago, so no, we are are not the average rectangular hotel, but our differences are what make us uinique. Safe travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Estes for 2 nights at this hotel. My other family members rented houses that were very nice. I would definitely look into renting a house before staying at any hotel in Estes.

The location was right near a running path.

I did not like the power lines visible so close to the hotel, it tool a little away from the view of the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. We're in a terrific location in the Estes Valley near the riverwalk and downtown. Be sure to visit our website for specials upon your return to Estes.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Booked this hotel over the phone at a moderate rate. Desk staff at check in needs personality training. Room was clean and quiet with beautiful views of the mountains. There was no free breakfast included with the room rate. Great area, close to mountains and wildlife. Nice park right down the street along with a scenic lake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. We have a terrific location in Estes Park just outside downtown and across from Lake Estes. We include a $20 breakfast credit and 1pm checkout with every direct hotel website booking. Thank you for your business and we hope to see again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rocky Mountain Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Address: 101 South Saint Vrain Ave, PO Box 1468, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Mountain Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocky Mountain Park Inn is a 100% nonsmoking hotel with everything under one roof! Enjoy free high speed wireless Internet access throughout our hotel and pets are welcome on our first floor with a $15 nightly fee. We are the only ISO 14001 (environmentally friendly) certified green hotel in Estes Park and have a recycling bin in every room. Located just 3 blocks from downtown & the riverwalk, and surrounded by two national treasures, Rocky Mountain Nat. Park. and Roosevelt Nat. Forest. With no mountain passes to cross, Estes Park's ideal location ensures an easy winter or summer 60-mile drive from metro Denver and Denver International Airport, yet we're only minutes from world-class hiking, biking, rock climbing, and fishing. Adjacent to the Estes Park Conference Center and directly across the street from the 4 mile long concrete trail surrounding Lake Estes, we offer amenities such as a large indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room, and LongZ - A Mountain Grill. Enjoy indoor climbing gyms, snow tubing, sledding, snowshoeing, cross country skiing, and plenty of nearby wildlife watching in the winter. Summer brings scooter, boat, & bike rentals, as well as National Park Tours, mini-golf/go-carts, aerial tramway, fishing and rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rocky Mountain Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Park Hotel Estes Park
Holiday Inn Estes Park
Estes Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.