We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy get-away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rocky Mountain Park Inn to your Saves list
Rocky Mountain Park Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South Saint Vrain Ave, PO Box 1468, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    119
    109
    25
    24
See reviews for
104
121
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

this used to be a holiday inn. i have stayed here almost every year since 1990. in 1990 it was like new. not sure why it's not a holiday inn anymore, were they kicked out, or left by choice? stayed there 03/15/2013 again. this place is great if you have small children. indoor pool, indoor hallways. i rented one of 4 suites this time. the mattress on the pull out sofa was original without a doubt. nothing but a sheet over hard coil springs. not trying to be critical just stating the facts. suites have a fridge, microwave, kitchen cabinets, sink, larger dining table. and no dishes, pans, glasses or utensils. huh???? i called the front desk and they said that is the way it is. i was shocked and told them. to their credit, 5 minutes later there was a knock at the door, and room service was there with 4 dishes, 4 bowls, 4 glasses, 4 napkins etc. i called the front desk and thanked them. in summary, the carpet, paint, furniture is old, but they really try and make up for it in their service. not the place for a romantic getaway, but great for a family on a budget and wanting safety.

Room Tip: get main room, not in the far away wing, do not stay in room facing pool - too noisy. get top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased you see the value in our hotel and location. Other full service properties in town are nearly twice our nightly rate. Our last full renovation was less than ten years ago, and more changes are on the way! Our service is top-notch and I'm glad you were able to have a great experience. Please visit our website for great specials and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The check in staff was pleasant. The room was clean with a spotless bathroom. The indoor pool looked inviting with a couple of kids having fun in the water with their parents. The restaurant was closed on this winter night in the middle of the week, but the bar was open and serving food. This hotel would be ideal for a family and was a good night's stay for a business traveler except for the four small pillows which were more like throw pillows. The special rate offered this night was excellent. The pillows - not so much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor to get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for noticing our terrific value and cleanliness! We are typically half the price of the other full-service hotels in town. We also offer two full breakfast buffets in our restauarant and 1pm checkout with direct website bookings. New pillows arrive this spring, but we also offer a Pillow Menu to upgrade to feather, neck, or firm pillows more to your liking. Please visit us again soon!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

In the middle of Estes Park, near restaurants, the walkway around the lake, swimming pool/hot tub -- what's not to like? A few shortcomings that my wife and I found relatively easy to overlook. What we got for the price was a king bed, clean and comfortable bedding, and pleasant surroundings for the Valentine's Day getaway. (The manager was kind to offer late-check out for no additional charge)

Room Tip: We suggest asking for an upper floor room to get a view (which may/may not overlook the rooftop HVAC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback and for calling us an all around good choice. We have a terrific location in the heart of the Estes Valley, and our staff are here to please! Late checkout's are granted to anyone who asks. We know our guests would always appreciate more time to enjoy our huge indoor pool and hot tub before heading home! Please visit again soon and enjoy all that Estes has to offer.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Went for a conference. Rooms were old and dated. Hotel is set up very strange. People with rooms facing pool got no sleep. Gym was shut for repairs, elevator broken during stay, just a mess. I agree the entrances and parking are secluded and a little scary. Would not go again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that both the fitness center and elevator were out of order during your stay. It is highly unusual that either is out of order, much less at the same time. Both were fixed and opened as soon as the service companies received needed parts. Our rooms have been recently updated with new mattresses, linen, and 32" LCD TV's. Our public areas have also just received upgrades including new carpet and paint. Our younger guests enjoy the pool quite a bit, but it does close at 11pm and we are happy to change rooms for guests at no cost at any time during their stay for any reason. Our entrance lights are fully operational.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Traveled through this area just for two nights and this was one of the best deals in the area, we ended up arriving late on the first night and they were very accomodating (some of the rooms were not accessible by elevator, etc. in the back portion, but we didn't mind) and they were very accomodating when we wanted to extend our stay the next day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. We're pleased to be the best value (by far!) among the three full-service hotels in Estes Park. Our staff is always willlng to please, and I'm glad that they were so accomodating. Please visit again soon and be sure to book direct with us where we throw in a daily $20 restauarant breakfast credit, 1pm checkout, and preferential room assignment. Hope to see you again soon!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with an amazing staff. Well worth the money. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly, and the pool was nice. Pool was a little cold and the food you should bypass, but great hotel just the same.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. Our staff is our number one asset and I'm pleased to see that you noticed. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to please each of our guests with a tidy room. We try to keep our pool between 82-86 degrees. Please visit again and be sure to book directly through our website where we include breakfast for two, 1pm check out, and preferential room assignments!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Mountain Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Address: 101 South Saint Vrain Ave, PO Box 1468, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Mountain Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocky Mountain Park Inn is a 100% nonsmoking hotel with everything under one roof! Enjoy free high speed wireless Internet access throughout our hotel and pets are welcome on our first floor with a $15 nightly fee. We are the only ISO 14001 (environmentally friendly) certified green hotel in Estes Park and have a recycling bin in every room. Located just 3 blocks from downtown & the riverwalk, and surrounded by two national treasures, Rocky Mountain Nat. Park. and Roosevelt Nat. Forest. With no mountain passes to cross, Estes Park's ideal location ensures an easy winter or summer 60-mile drive from metro Denver and Denver International Airport, yet we're only minutes from world-class hiking, biking, rock climbing, and fishing. Adjacent to the Estes Park Conference Center and directly across the street from the 4 mile long concrete trail surrounding Lake Estes, we offer amenities such as a large indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room, and LongZ - A Mountain Grill. Enjoy indoor climbing gyms, snow tubing, sledding, snowshoeing, cross country skiing, and plenty of nearby wildlife watching in the winter. Summer brings scooter, boat, & bike rentals, as well as National Park Tours, mini-golf/go-carts, aerial tramway, fishing and rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Rocky Mountain Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Park Hotel Estes Park
Holiday Inn Estes Park
Estes Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.